We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRAVELING BEFORE I GO BACK TO ALASKA.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eugene Whiteaker Hostel
Coos Bay, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TRAVELING BEFORE I GO BACK TO ALASKA.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

the whiteaker hostel seemed to be a nice warm quiet place to relax. i had a great stay here i even got a bottom bunk next to a window,my favorite it's better to ask for one when you check in or call early. i alway's book with www.hostelbookers.com the staff do keep the place up to standards and it is clean to. they have free wifi and everything is walking distance. buses, restaurant's a good place to eat at is papa's soul food right around the corner great BBQ. it's even in a quiet neighborhood with tree lined street's it's perfect for a walk on a sunny day. i only stayed for 5 day's this time, it doesn't seem to be a party hostel either, so that's good. i will stay here again in my travel's.!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASONALLEN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
18
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is eclectic and fun, just like the city it's where it's located. Full of friendly people who are willing to help you out, the Whiteaker Hostel is clean, quirky and affordable. If you're looking for a casual, low-key place to crash for a night where you feel safe and comfortable plopping down on a couch to meet some new people and listen to them make music on one of the many instruments provided, this is the ideal location for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

No doubt, this is going to be different from your typical hostel expereince. Its more like staying at a friends house then it is a hostel. But this by far is my faviorte place to stay when I visit in Eugene. The staff is always willing to help you with anything you need. As a runner, I sometimes need a little more extra time in my room if an event is going to run up against the check out clock and they always take care of me.

It is always kept clean and the kitchen is full of stuff for you to use. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The back yard is all multi purpose with places to sit and eat, or places to have a bond fire, or to park your bike.

Room Tip: Masters Dorm is my faviorte
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We needed a last minute stay with all the surrounding hotels booked out for events going on over the weekend. The Whiteaker totally pulled through, booked us into a room upstairs last minute for a great price (considering we could have paid $175 a night). The staff were all very friendly and helpful...plus they made delicious coffee. We got directions to the beautiful rose garden and river for a run as well as to the Saturday Market.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in 'The Loft', so our experience will differ from most, but the lodgings were excellent for the price. We basically had our own apartment on the upper floor of the hostel's second building. It was quiet and comfortable with a private kitchen and bath, and would be a great place for an extended stay in Eugene. That being said, it's still a hostel and isn't like staying in a nice hotel or B&B, but the management was friendly and the location convenient. The loft bedroom could use a reading lamp that works and a little more room around the bed for access, and the bathroom and kitchen could use a little TLC, but we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcohen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After staying in the dorms at the University of Oregon with my son as he was going through Freshman orientation, we decided to take in some of the sights, sounds, drink, and food of the Whiteaker Neighborhood. We stayed in the Whiteaker Hostel for two nights and enjoyed every minute and have some memories that my son and I can share for the rest of our lives. The bedroom was well kept and clean, as was our private bathroom. We reserved the Captains Quarters online with no problems because it had the private bathroom. Staying at the Whiteaker Hostel was not anything like the Ritz, The Peninsula Hong Kong, the Betsy-South Beach or any other boutique hotel or brand. However, it has a lot of charm and character and is a must stay to experience Eugene and the Whiteaker Neighborhood. The Whiteaker Hostel is a brand of its own. The owner, his dog, hostel staff, neighbors, and people we met at the hostel all made us feel welcome. The first night we stayed was the "Art Walk" and the hostel had two live music performances and some tasty beer from Ninkasi Brewing Company which is a stones throw from the hostel. A number of the alternative artists from the Whiteaker Neighborhood opened up their studios for viewing. The musicians that performed at the hostel that night also happened to live next door to the hostel. One musician on each side of the hostel. We walked around the neighborhood on a number of occasions and took in some funky architecture, art, landscapes, and home decor among other sights. We also walked down to the Willamette River bike trail, and had the opportunity to try two great restaurants, Papa's Soul Food and Izakaya Meiji also a stones throw from the hostel. If you want to experience some Whiteaker Neighborhood culture and charm, book a room or bed and keep an open mind. If you want the service and amenities of a high end hotel, boutique hotel, or economy comfort stay (LOL) this is not the stay for you. Thanks for the memories Mac!

Room Tip: If you want some additional privacy, book the "Captains Quarters". Laundry facilities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I needed a place to sleep at night while out all day visiting with my son, and I got a whole lot more at the Whiteaker Hostel. The staff is so wonderfully kind, attentive, and accommodating. The hostel location is in walking and bike riding distance to anything that matters. Convenient on-site bike rental was an added treat. Opting to eat out, I declined the use of the kitchen but was impressed by the generous offer. A good cup of coffee was ready every morning. I stayed in the private room in the women's dorm. The private room had a bed and closet (bring your own hangers) and shares the bathroom with four other dorm occupants. Because everyone is so active and seldom in the dorm room, there was no waiting for bathroom use. Other guests in the hostel were respectful of space and quiet. I look forward to my next visit. Thank you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThistledownVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 37 in Eugene
1,080 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.9 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 37 in Eugene
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 37 in Eugene
704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
0.5 mi away
Downtown Inn
Downtown Inn
#13 of 37 in Eugene
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugene Whiteaker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugene Whiteaker Hostel

Property: Eugene Whiteaker Hostel
Address: 970 West 3rd Ave, Eugene, OR 97402-4994
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eugene Whiteaker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique, art-filled and friendly Hostel located in the Whiteaker, Eugene OR. Dormitory beds & private rooms available for travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eugene Whiteaker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing