We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eugene Whiteaker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great for a Hostel”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in 'The Loft', so our experience will differ from most, but the lodgings were excellent for the price. We basically had our own apartment on the upper floor of the hostel's second building. It was quiet and comfortable with a private kitchen and bath, and would be a great place for an extended stay in Eugene. That being said, it's still a hostel and isn't like staying in a nice hotel or B&B, but the management was friendly and the location convenient. The loft bedroom could use a reading lamp that works and a little more room around the bed for access, and the bathroom and kitchen could use a little TLC, but we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcohen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
16
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After staying in the dorms at the University of Oregon with my son as he was going through Freshman orientation, we decided to take in some of the sights, sounds, drink, and food of the Whiteaker Neighborhood. We stayed in the Whiteaker Hostel for two nights and enjoyed every minute and have some memories that my son and I can share for the rest of our lives. The bedroom was well kept and clean, as was our private bathroom. We reserved the Captains Quarters online with no problems because it had the private bathroom. Staying at the Whiteaker Hostel was not anything like the Ritz, The Peninsula Hong Kong, the Betsy-South Beach or any other boutique hotel or brand. However, it has a lot of charm and character and is a must stay to experience Eugene and the Whiteaker Neighborhood. The Whiteaker Hostel is a brand of its own. The owner, his dog, hostel staff, neighbors, and people we met at the hostel all made us feel welcome. The first night we stayed was the "Art Walk" and the hostel had two live music performances and some tasty beer from Ninkasi Brewing Company which is a stones throw from the hostel. A number of the alternative artists from the Whiteaker Neighborhood opened up their studios for viewing. The musicians that performed at the hostel that night also happened to live next door to the hostel. One musician on each side of the hostel. We walked around the neighborhood on a number of occasions and took in some funky architecture, art, landscapes, and home decor among other sights. We also walked down to the Willamette River bike trail, and had the opportunity to try two great restaurants, Papa's Soul Food and Izakaya Meiji also a stones throw from the hostel. If you want to experience some Whiteaker Neighborhood culture and charm, book a room or bed and keep an open mind. If you want the service and amenities of a high end hotel, boutique hotel, or economy comfort stay (LOL) this is not the stay for you. Thanks for the memories Mac!

Room Tip: If you want some additional privacy, book the "Captains Quarters". Laundry facilities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I needed a place to sleep at night while out all day visiting with my son, and I got a whole lot more at the Whiteaker Hostel. The staff is so wonderfully kind, attentive, and accommodating. The hostel location is in walking and bike riding distance to anything that matters. Convenient on-site bike rental was an added treat. Opting to eat out, I declined the use of the kitchen but was impressed by the generous offer. A good cup of coffee was ready every morning. I stayed in the private room in the women's dorm. The private room had a bed and closet (bring your own hangers) and shares the bathroom with four other dorm occupants. Because everyone is so active and seldom in the dorm room, there was no waiting for bathroom use. Other guests in the hostel were respectful of space and quiet. I look forward to my next visit. Thank you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThistledownVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I came down for The Country Fair. I stayed 3 nights and I had a great time. I loved the Hostel, the location was very cool and arty. I highly recommend Poppas Soul Food restaurant just around the corner. You will also want to take some pictures of the houses on the block as they are all so unique, odd and cool. Everybody was friendly, place was clean, coffee was always hot and ready in the mornings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a great hostel! At the hostel I met the coolest people-ever!! The Whiteaker Hostel is a must see in the Oregon area. Great value, camraderie, and safety make this a definite stop on your Northwest destination. The Whiteaker neighborhood in of itself is worth the price of admission. Everyone at the hostel super friendly and helpful-at the end of my stay I felt like an old friend. There is shopping close by, and the local nightlife is accessible and affordable. Easily the best value for your hard earned dollar/euro, the hostel provides free coffee, breakfast, Sunday pot luck dinner's, and a welcoming attitude. Mac, the owner, is attentive to all the smallest details, from hemp soap in the bathroom to the fire pit outside. Also, the neighbors around the hostel are some of the coolest people I ever met. I would definitely recommend, and can't wait to go back!!
NY

Room Tip: Just call and talk to the friendly staff. You can't go wrong at the Whit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lovely hostel! I ended up staying for two weeks, and had a great time! The hostel has a very good atmosphere and a great and friendly owner and staff! I like the location in the Whiteaker neighbourhood, there's a grocery store very close, the river is nearby and downtown is a good walk. The rooms, kitchen and common area's are all good. The decoration and art give the hostel a cozy and awesome look. I can definitely recommend this place! I'm gonna miss it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hostel is in a great neighborhood and the staff is really helpful and friendly. They were very accommodating for us. When I come back to Eugene I will only ever stay there! The art and culture of the hostel and the neighborhood are a must see.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
2.0 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#14 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugene Whiteaker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugene Whiteaker Hostel

Property: Eugene Whiteaker Hostel
Address: 970 West 3rd Ave, Eugene, OR 97402-4994
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eugene Whiteaker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique, art-filled and friendly Hostel located in the Whiteaker, Eugene OR. Dormitory beds & private rooms available for travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Eugene Whiteaker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing