We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable location, but aging hotel.”
Review of Hilton Eugene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Eugene
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable location, but aging hotel.”
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed here one night. The staff was very good. The room was not so great. The bathroom smelled and wall paper in the room was beginning to peel at places. The air conditioning kept making odd noises throughout the night and kept me from sleeping.

When checking out, we alerted the staff of these problems. They refunded about 50% of our stay without even asking a question. We were just mentioning it so that they would check the air conditioner before the next occupant. Very responsive staff.

Nice coffee maker and toiletteries. City of Eugene provides free wifi though Hilton does not.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    321
    208
    104
    39
See reviews for
268
216
73
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

I stayed here on Ocotber 2006 and August 2007. Both times, my experiences were not very good. I find this hotel to be below average, and not worthy of the Hilton brand name.

I am a Hilton Honors Gold Member, so I was given rooms on the "executive floor" (10 and 11)

Bad:
Only three very small elevators. The second time I stayed there, there was a huge beauty queen pageant/convention being held. The elevators were all crammed with young noisy girls and it took forever to actually board the elevator. The girls were cute though :)

The in-room bathrooms are tiny...closet sized. The toilets flush very slowly and weakly. The water took a very long time to drain in the bath tub

The entire room was sprayed with a very strong citrus scent...I am taking very strong, like it was meant to cover up somethng bad smelling.

There is a railroad track about 3 or 4 blocks away from the hotel. I heard loud frieght trains as late as 2am in the morning. It sounded like the train was in my room.

My room had no mini bar, no microwave, no fridge.

The "executive lounge" on the 11th floor was non-inspiring. And it closes after 8pm. The free breakfast there consists of some breads, juice, and fruits.

Good:
The breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant is good and on par with other full breakfast buffets at other Hilton hotels.

There is a nice sunset view if you have a room facing the front of the Hotel. Open your balcony window, and look to your left...you should see avery nice sunset especially if their are a few clouds...the red sunlight bounces off the clouds very beautifully. This last for only about 30 minutes...so don't forget.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RobsPicsCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed for an event being held there Aug 9-11. The hotel was not in the best shape although it is apparently in the process of being remodeled. We were told to book online and present my husband's military id when we arrived to get the significant discount. Not so! We were told it didn't apply. The bars across the street kept us up most of the night, along with the sirens and screaming when the partying got out of hand. The pool was tiny and seemed a bit dirty. The spa was in a cave of an outdoor area with WAY too much chlorine.
To make matters worse, a family friend who drove down to attend my daughter's event had money stolen out of her purse while in the lobby.
I cannot believe this is a HIlton! It was as bad as a Motel 6.
Don't stay here! Don't waste your money!

  • Liked — NOT A DAMN THING!
  • Disliked — Everything....
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 6Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

I was here for a conference in June 2006 and had an average experience. Rooms were fine, room service and food were okay. It was nice to be directly connected to the conference center. Please note, btw, that internet is provided via wireless only so you need the right equipment.

  • Liked — Next to convention center
  • Disliked — Average, nothing more, nothing less
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skywaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I would only recommend this hotel to an enemy, and I have none so, hm, okay, I would NEVER recommend it!! The location of this wretchedly expensive hotel is on a busy street and next to a railroad track, apparently. The windows/glass door are no sound barrier at all. It was almost as if we were outside, it was so loud. The tiny pool and hot tub are in a dungeon next to the parking garage. There is a nude-dance-club-thing across the street. The halls smelled, and the rooms were tiny. They charge way too much, and then charge $7 to park in their garage and $9.95 to use internet in your room, no refrigerator, and not even as much as a stale roll in the morning, you have to PAY FOR EVERYTHING. It was a Friday night, and the hotel was hardly booked. I can't imagine why!!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tojoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

ok, long story, will try to make it short...i first visited Eugene in 2003 for my nieces 18th birthday - she had just started classes at the college (ducks!) - i booked at the red lion, oh my gosh..get me out of here, i drove around and found the valley river inn, i thought that was heaven on earth, i checked out of red lion that same night - of course booked thru hotels.com, i had to pay the first night, but was not charged for 2nd night. i checked into the valley river inn - no view but a small balcony & it was clean & made me feel comfortable. Advance to 6/2007, i choose the valley river inn because of my last drama. Oh dear, either years make a difference or my upgrade from red lion to valley river inn (which is owned by same entity) was to me at that time a blessing!! In any case, i had a 1 bedroom suite overlooking the river - horrible, but i will save that for my review of valley river inn - i then left valley river and went to the Hilton, where I may say, the rest of my family were for now our visit was for my nieces graduation from college! what a difference a day makes...this was the best. everyone was so nice, the room was great, i had no noise, i did not face 6th, but frankly train noise if you never hear it to me is exciting! It is a different noise and really not that bad, go with the flow! Room was clean, service was great, front desk was great, restaurant service and the bar service was exceptional. thank you hilton, next stay is with you! (please keep up the good stuff & don't let me down like the valley river inn)

  • Liked — rooms were clean
  • Disliked — shower curtain, instead of shower door or having a u shaped shower curtain
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

This Hilton is run down and needs major renovations. Hot water goes in and out, pool is horrible, workout room horrible, rooms can sometimes be a little dirty, bathrooms need to be redone. But, the lobby, restaurants, staff and location can not be beat in Eugene.

Please beware this is not your standard nice upscale Hilton!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Horrible Internet speed, hot water, outdated
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BordaInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 35 in Eugene
851 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#5 of 35 in Eugene
670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.7 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.2 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#13 of 35 in Eugene
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Eugene

Property: Hilton Eugene
Address: 66 E 6th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Eugene
#4 Business Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Eugene 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Eugene stands in the heart of downtown Eugene, Oregon. Recent renovations transformed our guest rooms, lounge area, fitness center and exclusive Executive Level. Located just two blocks from the Amtrak station and offering complimentary airport shuttle transportation to the Eugene airport, the hotel is easily accessible. With proximity to the University of Oregon campus, Hilton Eugene is a great choice for hotels near Autzen Stadium, Hayward Field and Matthew Knight Arena. Situated in the city’s art and entertainment district, the hotel is close to many things to do in Eugene with ease such as shopping, dining and visiting local businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eugene And Conference Center
Hilton Eugene Hotel Eugene
Eugene Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing