We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and under cooked.”
Review of Excelsior Inn

Excelsior Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Excelsior Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 613 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Over priced and under cooked.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The Excelsior is in a beautiful building downtown. It has an old-school restaurant feel and vibe, complete with white tablecloths. Our server was attentive when at our table, he just wasn't there quite often enough.

The food was spotty at best. The soup of the day was Ribollita. The beans were dreadfully undercooked to the point that they practically crunched when bitten into. The Chef had dropped a huge portion of mirepoix into the cup which made the "soup" a sticky glob of undercooked beans and vegetable mash. I ordered Osso Bucco that was bland and undercooked, served with over-seasoned risotto and more undercooked beans. My girlfriend ordered the Pork Chop and it was very tasty but she also got a generous serving of the ever-present undercooked beans. Overall this was a disappointing meal, particularly for the price. I likely won't go back to the Excelsior anytime soon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rlpack1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food service needs improving.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner reservation for dining room waitress tried to seat us in bar (restaurant was pretty empty). Wine vintage did not match what was on menu (younger vintage). Food was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tbeugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Just a couple little improvements would make this a four star”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile


Its Victorian in ambiance not my favorite but thats me, Nice dining room, bar area ,private room,and outdoor seating.
Started with the Antipasto Plate enough for four people. Good selection of salami,coppa prosciutto, Gorgonzola, Romano and chèvre cheeses, smoked salmon pate, olives . My only criticism: gorgonzola tasted like refrigerator and should have been imported Gorgonzola Dolce Latte , and there were pickles on the platter. Pickles? i don't think so on Antipasto. Very nice presentation on all dishes.
Next was Caesar Salad not bad a 3 star.. Entrees Crab Ravioli in a light cream sauce.
You can tell it was house made pasta and the cream sauce just barley covered the ravioli instead of swimming in it. Ling cod Puttanesca, cooked perfectly, with a garden fresh tomato puttanesca relish type sauce , it was good but needed more anchovy i did not taste any.
Desserts are really good and displayed as you walk into restaurant. There really isn't to much wrong with this place. Service was good as well. One thing was that there wasn't a good selection of wines by the glass which I personally like in a good restaurant. What we did have was good though a chianti and a Italian white.
One other comment The Bread needs improvement. it would be nice to see that crusty European bread on the table. I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Value for good food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Inn and just by looking at the restaurant we could sense that this restaurant cares for good food, and we were not disappointed. We chose to sit outside in the lovely garden on this warm evening. We had the soup of the day, rabbit and pacific salmon, and both the soup and the mains tasted well. For dessert we chose a homemade sorbet, which was a perfect final for this dinner. The Oregon wines that we drank were superb and absolutely priceworth. Try the Pinot Grigio by the glass!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A sure fire pleasure. A place you can count on for quality and service!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had Thanksgiving dinner there, and it was lovely and full of healthy choices. I made an early reservation, but they gave us a poor little table in a crowded corner, which they corrected when I complained. Don't shove two women in a corner! Despite this, I will go back again for great, honest food without pretension.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheilafresser23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excelsior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing