We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husband likes, Wife doesn't”
Review of Mekala's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mekala's
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Husband likes, Wife doesn't”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is average. Husband has had good luck with noodle dishes. Wife could not even eat her last meal. The shrimp was slimy and bad tasting. OK if you are a big Thai food fan but if you are not, stay away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I used to frequent Mekala's for their fabulous buffet. They no longer offer that, and the manager-owner sometimes waits tables. She shouldn't.

Helpful?
Thank CoolandCloudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The food is absolutely delicious, one of my absolute favorite restaurants. But it's very disappointing when you happen upon their business during a Matt Knight Arena event and they only have their (very) limited menu. Will be returning again, definitely.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mieyuki02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food was okay”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came on a Sunday night to use a coupon, so wasn't quite sure what to expect. We sat at 2 different tables, the first of which was directly in line with a cooling vent, so we moved to a more out of the way spot. Both tables were sticky and the menus were placemat-style. Mine had spots on it where others had previously dripped liquids. The menu is rather limited, the food was okay, and I won't probably ever go back. I hate to say it because I like being a fair reviewer and I know how hard it is to run a restaurant, but if it's a choice between here and Sweet Basil, go to Sweet Basil. Basil has many more menu choices and prettier food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank urchie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK Thai”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was a little disappointed by Mekala's. Perhaps it was what I chose to order, basic Phad Thai, but it was quite bland and flavorless.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekala's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing