We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One could travel the world and have no better time.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enterprise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barking Mad Farm & Country B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Enterprise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“One could travel the world and have no better time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

Let me start right off with the down side: Leaving is very hard, even our dog was depressed. It is just one of those places where time stands still and the rest of ones life drifts off into some remote and near forgotten place. We booked five nights at Barking Mad for our anniversary. After driving for ten hours we began to question our sanity in making such a decision. However, after enjoying the pleasures and wonders of our vacation, every hour getting here paid off in rewards unimaginable. We did not anticipate a vacation this outstanding. We travel the world extensively and can honestly say that time spent in this outdoor wonderland is as good as it gets. The hiking is stupendous and the diversity of landscape intriguing; we felt as though we had traveled from the Alps to the Andes in the course of hours. To top it all off was Hunter and Diana: funny, charming, kind, and hospitable to the max. My favorite part was letting them plan everything! Wake up, don't think about breakfast because more food than you can handle will be waiting for you, then let Hunter and Diana plan your day. No thinking, no maps, no hours pouring through hiking books, just fun. They sent us on a new adventure everyday, complete with dinner reservations. Now that's the life. And to top off this magnificent adventure, they arranged a guided rafting trip complete with lunch. We saw magnificent wildlife and scenery. We highly recommend taking the time to float down this remarkable country. Just ask Diana and Hunter. They seem to make all your wishes come true!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bramble07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

With just a few days to 'get away and relax,' we had no idea how refreshing our weekend at the Barking Mad Farm would be! My husband and I were welcomed like old friends, but had complete privacy in a gorgeous room with skylights over the bed, and views of the fields and mountains surrounding every side. Diana's amazing breakfasts and Hunter's hilarious patter were just what we needed. The area around this B&B is beautiful in itself but Hunter sent us on some "field trips" and mapped out the most scenic drives and places to eat. Everything was just so easy, so friendly, so relaxing, so breathtakingly beautiful.....

We highly recommend driving up into the Hell's Canyon Recreational Area, but make sure you have a car that doesn't mind a dirt road (bumpy at times). Be prepared for cattle, horses, deer, buffalo, and whatever else is out there!

Usually we subscribe to the "never go to the same place twice" philosophy, but 4 days in this area BARELY scratched the surface. We'll be back soon, and we will definitely be staying at the Barking Mad Farm!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_OK_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

Accommodations were first rate, and the hosts were very personable, helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfasts. All their dining and other recommendations were spot-on. On top of that, Barking Mad B&B is located in an absolutely beautiful part of the country.

One important note: the Seven Devils suite which we were in does have a long and fairly steep outside staircase which might not be suitable for people or dogs with mobility limitations. The owners did make us aware of this when we contacted them for reservations.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NW_Happy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Barking Mad Farm is a great place for a relaxing vacation. The rooms were comfortable, well-furnished and immaculate, even with frequent 4-legged visitors. Breakfast was unique and delicious each morning. We enjoyed leisurely breakfasts and evenings on the porch visiting with our wonderful hosts and the other guests. We stayed for a week and plan to go back as soon as we can for another visit. Highly recommended, whether or not you are not traveling with a dog. The setting is peaceful and views from the porch are breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

Diana and Hunter have created a very special place that is one of the nicest properties I've ever visited. They are lovely people first and foremost and their hospitality is "just right"....not too little and not too much. I visited with my mother and her Boston Terrier Gracie and they were as welcoming to Gracie as they were to us two leggeds. I plan to visit as often as I can because it's truly a lovely home away from home. Well done Hunter's!

  • Liked — peace and quiet-great rooms-delicious breakfast
  • Disliked — the weather was uncooperative but it didn't our spirits
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tlnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

What a relaxing and rejuvenative stay. It’s cliché and totally unoriginal to say this, but we honestly felt as comfortable here as we do at home – and so did our dog.

Breakfast was gourmet, hearty and delicious. Accommodations were upscale but not pretentious, and the interior of the farmhouse is beautiful, with gleaming dark wood floors. We will be back. In fact, if it weren’t a seven-hour drive from where we live, we would be back next weekend!

If you drive to Enterprise from Central Oregon, skip the interstate and take the scenic route through the Painted Hills and Dayville and Ukiah. You won’t regret it.

  • Liked — Everything -- spacious suite with unbeatable views
  • Disliked — No complaints, only compliments
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

We have stayed at Barking Mad Farms at least a dozen times in the past few years and think it is one of the best B&B's in the US. Our favorite room has its own access with views of the fields and mountains. We have stayed there in the summer and winter and found the room to be completely cozy with a super comfortable bed (with down pillows and comforter). I have recommended the place to many of my friends and associates. There is no better place to stay with dogs; there is a lovely field outside where they can run and the area offers numerous hiking trails and a lake for swimming after a hot day on the trails. In addition, the winter cross country skiing is fantastic and we are always welcomed with a roaring fire and tea upon our return. In the summer, they have a great deck for sipping a glass of wine and watching the sun set.

Diana and Hunter take a great interest in their guests. From my experience, many are repeat customers. The breakfasts are always great with homemade breads, scones, waffles, and other treats. We always groan about the quantity of food but eat all of it anyhow.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — eating too much good food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ProfLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enterprise
1.2 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Enterprise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
10.5 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mingo Motel
Mingo Motel
#1 of 1 in Wallowa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 mi away
RimRock Inn
RimRock Inn
#3 of 5 in Enterprise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barking Mad Farm & Country B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barking Mad Farm & Country B&B

Property: Barking Mad Farm & Country B&B
Address: 65156 Powers Rd, Enterprise, OR 97828-3070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Enterprise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Enterprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There isn't a better place to disappear for a while than in one of our comfortable suites, reclining on our wrap around porch, or viewing the neighboring buffalo with the Wallowa Mountains as a backdrop during a gourmet breakfast. We are is a small, pet-friendly and peaceful farm with some of the best views in Oregon. Our tranquil and charming 100 year old farm house with big red barn offer the perfect escape. Wake each morning with a delicious cup of coffee or tea and enjoy a gourmet breakfast featuring local, farm fresh, and organic ingredients while soaking in the mountain views on the porch or in our dining room. All suites include luxury linens, a scrumptious breakfast, warm hospitality, and stunning views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing