We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wine bar”
Review of Ponzi Wine Bar

Ponzi Wine Bar
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Dundee
Restaurant details
San Juan Islands, Washington
Level Contributor
339 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Perfect wine bar”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

When you make a great Pinot Noir, it helps to have a well-stocked, beautiful wine tasting bar staffed by knowledgable folks. Ponzi makes some of the most tasty Pinot Noirs ever made - try to buy any of the Pinot Noir Reserves but be ready for the sticker price followed by divine wine - and shows them off well. This is a very well run and enjoyable place. Don't miss it - puts most of the others to shame.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
462 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ponzu is a very famous wine in the NW, they were one of the first family's to make the vino in Oregon.
I have several friends who just love there wines , I like the big reds better, if you would like to try Willamette Valley wines , stop here,

Mike

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Lunch at The Bistro”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent food...very different and unique. Presented well.

I tried one of their unique pizzas and my husband had their delicious hamburger.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlcusick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great spot in Dundee”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This store sells wines other than just Ponzi, has tastings, but for me the best thing was their large selection of half bottles. Large number of local vinyards represented. Also we had lunch there out in their back yard across from the Bistro, and they served us 2 fabulous lunches. I had the charcuterie; it was outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
415 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed the service! We were a large group and the staff accommodated us without hesitation. We were hopeful about the wines, especially after enjoying a Porto at the restaurant next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ponzi Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing