We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Place To Stay In Oregon Wine Country"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Third trip to Oregon wine country and after hearing accolades about this property, stayed there this trip.

View from hotel room was fantastic....Mt. Hood, vineyards, etc. Room was spacious and upscale with common area very nicely done.

Great resource for winery visits. Introduced me to a new winery that I was not aware of. Breakfast was excellent.

Only place I'll stay on future trips. Worth the extra money IMHO.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RMN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2008

We were meeting with two other couples for a weekend of wine tasting. One of the group recommended this wonderful inn. This is a piece of heaven up high in the hills. From our lovely little room, the Italia, in the Carriage House, we could see Mt Hood past the lovely yellows and reds of the autumn colors of the vineyard. At night we could see the town lights all the way to Salem from our private balcony. Our friends took the larger room in the Carriage House where they had a full sized refrigerator and a large comfy living room where we could socialize in the evening. There was a printed menu (du jour) at breakfast with mouth watering choices such as salmon scramble, home made corned beef hash, and greek frittata. Fresh cookies await you in the lobby after a long hard day of wine tasting nearby. Complementary water and soda is available in your room.

Well worth the splurge. Just do it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Adventure_Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed over the 4th July long weekend. Our room (the Classic) was exceptionally well appointed. Bottled water in the room and access to tea and coffee downstairs. We shared a common deck (although we were the only ones using it) with a view over the valley and the vineyards. We just sat and watched the evening envelop the valley. We were reluctant to move when the appointed time for our dinner reservation rolled around.

We found the staff very knowledgeable and helpful with dinner reservations, touring suggestions and knowledge of the wineries. They listened and were able to judge our level of (wine) knowledge and adjust accordingly.

The lounges and breakfast areas were spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast was of a standard well beyond what you would expect. It was stunning !

We couldn't fault the experience and would highly recommend the Black Walnut.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

After reading the reviews, we were very eager to enjoy our stay here. What everyone says is absolutely true - there are terrific views from the terraces and several (no doubt) of the rooms. The breakfast is delicious, plentiful and served by friendly staff. I'm picky about my coffee and was pleased to find it excellent.

However, we hit some glitches - and although this is the first review I've ever written, I thought others should be aware of them. First - the room selection. I had spoken with people at the inn and said that I really wanted a view. Fot the price, and given the location, this spot will feel incomplete without a view (note the review that describes sunrise over Mt. Hood from your bed)! Beware the Carriage House room - a suite with a separate sitting area, with the tiniest of bathrooms and absolutely not a view anywhere, unless you like looking back at the main building. Even the terrace off the door to the suite looks only to the courtyard, main building and parking lot. What a disappointment! and at what a high price! Fortunately, we traveled with friends who had the Vista room (at the same price), so we went to their terrace each afternoon to share wine and a beautiful view.

Next issue was that we did bring some fine wine to enjoy our first afternoon - and we had to fend for ourselves to locate any glasses. We knocked on the kitchen door but couldn't find anyone about for ice, glasses, corkscrew, etc. - much less the freshly baked cookies other reviewers speak of. I'm sure this was an off day for them and hope this is the exception, but we asked the next morning how to find what we need, so we could manage better on our own.

Aside from the disappearance of all staff from 4:30 - 7:00 when we departed for dinner, and the failure to warn about the complete lack of view from the Carriage House, the people at the Black Walnut Inn are lovely and helpful, especially Karen, the owner who was kind enough to help us with wine tours - she introduced us to the Anderson Family Vineyards and provided coupons for Domaine Serene tastings.

Over all, this has the potential to be a wonderful place to stay, but I suggest you select your room carefully. I wouldn't go back unless I was assured we'd have a room like the Vista.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank drivemecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We loved our 3 days at the Black Walnut Inn. The breakfast is unbelievable and the people are very nice and helpful. There were 5 of us and we had 3 rooms--Rapture, Old World and Italia. We enjoyed Rapture very much. Please note that the Old World room's view is really of the roof, not of vineyards. Italia had an amazing balcony with great views--big balcony, the room is a bit small though. Next time we will splurge on the Master Suite or Vista.

Karen, the inn keeper is amazing, helpful, wonderful etc. Make sure to speak with her.

I'm not sure it's air conditioned, so may get warm in the summer.

We've also stayed at Youngberg Inn which is also lovely, but the Black Walnut Inn is more convenient for the wine tasting we wanted to do, and more contemporary, which we liked. We will DEFINITELY return!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My husband and I were travelling with another couple from New York on a wine country tour through Washington, Oregon, Napa and Sonoma. The second leg of our journey led us to Dundee and brought us to The Black Walnut Inn.

We were in awe the moment we left the busy, bustling "highway" as we drove up the hill to the Inn. We couldn't wait to unload the luggage and enjoy a bottle of wine on one of the many terraces overlooking the vineyards.

As we pulled into the driveway, we were immediately greeted by the Concierge. He expertly guided us on a tour of our rooms and the Inn, and then led the way to the terrace. Shortly thereafter, he brought us a plate of bread and cheese to enjoy with the wine(which we supplied). Later on, we were drawn into the lobby by the smell of fresh baked cookies - which we enjoyed on the terrace with our second bottle of wine.

We didn't spend much time in our rooms, even though we found them to be comfortable, clean and quiet. We would have hoped for larger and more plush towels, in keeping with the "spa" atmosphere that we anticipated. We would also critique the number of towels provided - again, we anticipated a relaxing, spa environment.

We found breakfast to be very ordinary and would have hoped for a little more pizzaz to keep with the look and feel of the Inn, and in keeping with cost of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy_and_Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

This was our second visit to the Black Walnut. We absolutely love this place and hope to return again and again. I always feel as if i am in Europe whenever I gaze through the windows on the property. The rooms are beautiful, the food is exceptional and the owners will attempt to take care of any need that you might have. I cannot wait to return next year, if not sooner. It is worth every dollar that you spend.

Barb and Joe Barber
Woodbridge, CA

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gudava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
4.9 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
8.7 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
330 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country
2.0 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
The Vintages Trailer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard

Address: 9600 NE Worden Hill Rd, Dundee, OR 97115-9178
Location: United States > Oregon > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: $295 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid vineyards, orchards and acres of forest the Black Walnut Inn offers luxurious surroundings in the heart of Oregon's wine country. Newly constructed and reminiscent of Tuscan villas of old, the inn is filled with modern art and amenities blended expertly with beautiful antiques, old world details and the works of local artisans. Nine unique and inviting suites await your visit, each designed with a touch of European elegance. Luxurious linens, soaking tubs, king and queen size beds and breathtaking views are just a few of the comforts you'll enjoy during your visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Hotel Dundee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing