We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, WA
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Special Place!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a special place because of the beautiful location and the hospitality of the owners and their son. The location in the Dundee HIlls wine country on the last couple days of winter was impressive and I can only imagine what it would like like with leaves on the trees and the vines full of grapes later in the spring and summer months. The owners are terrific in all respects and our room (Master Suite) was huge, but very comfortable for the most part. The views from this room are to the East, where on a clear day you can see Mt. Hood and to the South overlooking beautiful vineyards.

The location is tremendous in a very rural area about three miles North of "downtown" Dundee, OR. It was very peaceful and quiet except for the winter storm that blew through the area on our second night with perhaps 50 mph gusts. However the building is pretty well insulated and I was only awakened due to the wind blowing over a chain on our deck area. So without a storm I don't think you would hardly hear a sound except for birds during the day.

The bathroom of our room was enormous, with dual sinks and a large shower with very adequate water pressure. Everything was up to date and functioned properly and the room was very clean. There was also a large jetted tub with a view of their vineyard, however we did not use it. The king bed did leave something to be desired in the comfort area and in our opinion the mattress needs to be replaced.

The breakfast food was very good and the service provided by the owners son was excellent. He was also great about assisting with our luggage upon our departure. The owners are very personable and I'm certain would assist any of their guests regarding any issue during their stay at the Inn.

The Black Walnut Inn is a first class place in all respects. I have stayed at nearly 100 small inns and B&B's over the years and this place is right up there with the best I have experienced. If you want a great spot to stay while wine tasting in the Dundee Hills, I would stay here and if we return to this area again the Black Walnut will be our first choice.

One last thing to note is that the Inn has a very long, curvy and steep driveway from the main access road. It's paved, but basically one lane, so an error in judgement from tasting too much wine could result in your stay being ruined. Please be careful on the driveway!

Room Tip: The Master Suite has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We always take guests concerns to heart and were surprised to hear and see that sleep quality was not good for you. We had just replaced the mattress within the last six months from the date of this review. We have learned as innkeepers that mattresses are such an individual preference. We try to get a firmness that meets everyone's needs but sometimes it just is not a good fit. We hope you can visit again and find a mattress here that sooths you to sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    23
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
155
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I couldn't have been happier. Before you even get out of your car to register the beauty of the Inn makes you say "I could live here.". And it just keeps getting better from there. A warm and friendly staff/owners/winemaker blended with the comfort and extra amenities of the lounge and dinning area make you feel at home, while the view out the window reminds you that you are in a very special spot. After exploring some of the great places that your hosts Karen and Neal have pointed out for you, you return to a room that rejuvenates with comfortable seating areas, a spa like bathroom, and the finest sheets on your bed. And if you're lucky, you get to do it all over again the next day that is after you have eaten one of the great breakfasts they serve here.

Room Tip: The rooms can be seen on the website. All are comfortable, the differences would be the direction of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
You have mentioned all kinds of lovely things about the inn and we wish to say thank you for your kind words to others as they read your review. We are hopeful you will get to come and share our piece of the world again when you are on holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We discovered the Black Walnut Inn in a pamphlet for a group called Unique Inns and are glad we did. Driving up the hills to the top we entered a lil' bit of Tuscany in Dundee.

The Inn is two buildings, a carriage house and the main Inn with most rooms looking out over the vineyard. If a view is important be sure to choose such a room but if "in room" comfort is your priority all the rooms we saw were delightful.

We met both the owners, Karen & Neal, and they were truly friendly. Karen runs the inn while Neal's baby is the vineyard. We enjoyed learning about vines while Neal and crew tended to the spring pruning. His Pinot's were all excellent and priced far below the area average so if you like Pinot's be sure to add some Black Walnut to your cellar.

The common areas in the main inn building are wonderful. The large breakfast room has an amazing fireplace and views that go on...

Breakfast was good with several choices each day. Highlights included the breakfast skillet (watch the hot skillet!) and the "smoked pork chop" that accompanied light pancakes with sauteed apples. Karen's chocolate chip scone was warm and melty-good!

In addition to great rooms, wonderful hospitality and yummy food we appreciated the extra help in planning the most of our day and dinner suggestions.

As a cat person the added bonus of the cutest lil' vineyard cat wandering the grounds made me smile. Lastly the "frequent stay" coupon for the Unique Inns group was appreciated and will come in handy as this resource has paid off in trip planning.

Room Tip: The non view rooms are great value but if you can splurge the Master is wonderful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and we are so pleased you mentioned our Unique Inn affiliation. It is a wonderful west coast group of properties and we are proud to be a part of them. Use their site for planning your trips. We sure hope you are able to return to Black Walnut when you travel our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband decided to reserve a weekend at the Black Walnut Inn for us so we could have a much needed getaway. We stayed in the Old World room and it was small but very nice and cozy. The entire place was wonderful and very quiet. Breakfast was especially quiet which most people probably appreciate, but I found it a bit uncomfortable. I felt I had to whisper when talking to my husband, and I noticed the other people in the room where doing the same. Some music would have been nice. We had heard great things about the breakfast at the Inn and I was very excited to try it. The first morning neither of us enjoyed our breakfast. My poached eggs were overcooked and my toast was as hard as a rock, but the second morning the breakfast was really good. We do plan on returning to the Black Walnut some day and would suggest others give it a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellakitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are pleased you are coming back. Sometimes the kitchen just doesn't know if you are the guests who what the eggs hard or the guests who want the eggs soft but we are always happy to redo your breakfast it it is not to your liking...just have to let us know. Hope to see you again and we will try to have the eggs the way you like them as we hate to see you leave and not be satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend celebrating my birthday and Valentine's Day. The place is absolutely welcoming and beautiful. It's a great country retreat that reminds us of Tuscany, Italy. The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated with thoughtful touch. We stayed at the "Old World" room and loved it! At night, the room pillows even smell of lightly scented lavender. Not to mention the home-made breakfast in the morning with the stunning view of the Dundee Hills. The hotel common area is nice and homey. The two beautiful antique armor/ buffet cabinets were a great little treat for me to admire. We'll definitely come back!

Room Tip: The "Old World" room balcony faces the roof top of the adjacent 1st floor room. I'd pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We hope we can host your next birthday and Valentine's Day. Looking forward to providing you with a great holiday. Thank you for noticing the detail and fine antiques as we put our heart into both those touches..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The owners are gracious and friendly. We arrived for a 4-day anniversary weekend and immediately Karen told us she wanted to switch our rooms. We ended up in the Vista room, with amazing views of Mt Hood, the winery and the valley. The room was outstanding. The service was impeccable - Karen made dinner arrangements for us every night. She knows everyone - restaurant owners, tasting room managers, you name it. We will be back to willamette and won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Vista room is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exlawyer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Don't we love to make your day and upgrade you if we can! We always love to "pay it forward" and hope that our guests really enjoy the special treatment. Thanks for the compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Do yourself a favor and don't walk but run to the nearest car, boat or train and make your way to the beautiful Dundee Hills set in Oregon's Willamette Valley. It is wine country at its finest! We stayed for a weekend at the beautiful Black Walnut Inn...the property is taken right out of the Chianti Region in Italy. The Inn keepers, the rooms, the amenities, the breakfasts....first class all the way! They can't do enough for you there...you are truly a valued guest.

The only disappointment...that we had to leave. Do yourself a favor and spend some time there with someone you love! We look forward to going back sometime soon. Thank you Karen and everyone else for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the end of the hall on the first floor....large, spacious, comfortable, bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We can't wait to make your second time with us just as memorable. See you soon in the Red Hills of Dundee and thanks for the very kind words about our property and our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 2 in McMinnville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard

Property: Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard
Address: 9600 NE Worden Hill Rd, Dundee, OR 97115-9178
Location: United States > Oregon > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid vineyards, orchards and acres of forest the Black Walnut Inn offers luxurious surroundings in the heart of Oregon's wine country. Newly constructed and reminiscent of Tuscan villas of old, the inn is filled with modern art and amenities blended expertly with beautiful antiques, old world details and the works of local artisans. Nine unique and inviting suites await your visit, each designed with a touch of European elegance. Luxurious linens, soaking tubs, king and queen size beds and breathtaking views are just a few of the comforts you'll enjoy during your visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Hotel Dundee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing