We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best truffle oil fries ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dundee Bistro

Dundee Bistro
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
washington,dc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best truffle oil fries ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

So start with the fries, no matter what else you're going to get - you won't be sorry. They are perfectly crispy and very, very tasty. The pate plate is nicely done; the "beignets" of corn and bacon were flavorful, although the aioli needed a little more garlic and salt; and while the mussels were perfectly cooked, the broth was heavy on thyme, and the dish is oddly served without bread - you have to order a side of bread if you want to soak up any of the juices. Pasta dishes were good, the pasta is fresh and it was nicely al dente, but it appeared that the water had been oversalted, as the pasta itself was salty, not the whole dish. The carbonara was not typical, what with zucchini, snap peas, and chanterelles, but tasty nonetheless, albeit salty, and would have expected more eggy creaminess. The papperdelle with lamb sugo was good, and the flavors of the kale and butternut squash were distinct - very nice, but again, the salty pasta detracted somewhat. Desserts were delicious, and the wine list is not too extensive, but nicely priced and there's a good selection of wines by the glass. Service for the most part, was very good. All in all, a good value for the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caseysneice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    139
    43
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
596 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Another find in Dundee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and another couple were in the Oregon wine country for a few days testing and tasting and visiting great restaurants in-between. The Dundee Bistro was one of the best. We were there right at dusk and the view out of the back windows and in and around the dining area was nice and relaxing. Our server knew his business and, obviously, knew his wine selection. He'd better since this is the heart of the famous Oregon wine country. Our appetizers and food were all great, not fancy by any means but well-presented and perfectly prepared. The wine list is extensive with mostly local selections, or, the good ones were local.. not that I'm biased.. The prices here were right on, enough to make sure that the best ingredients were being used but not so much to drive all but the posh crowd away. It fit the bill exactly the way it should have, everything was perfect here. I'd go here again in a heartbeat, and plan to in the future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good food, good wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Food was good, and the wine list was extensive. Looked like a place the locals go, which we liked. Service ran a little slow at the end of the meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal AND great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

After reading other reviews, I was worried about the potential for poor service. The wait staff could not have been quicker, more attentive, and more friendly! They really enhanced the experience. The food was excellent - lots of local ingredients, beautifully prepared. The wine list has over 300 local wines ( it's Oregon, after all) and some interesting European and American choices. A wonderful evening! You should try it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trixnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Struggled with service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had reservations for over six months. We got the worst table in the restaurant. Pulling the curtains to hide the kitchen didn't help. We asked for another table. They accommodated us. However, our waiter was arrogant and didn't do his job. He never explained the menu, just asked if we had questions. We heard so much from waiter around us. Ours never asked if our food was ok after it had been served. We have never experienced that! The food was ok. Maybe another waiter would have resulted in another experience. This Bistro banks on its reputation but isn't living up to it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBandDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dundee Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Dundee Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing