We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, welcoming, and beautiful!”
Review of Balch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, welcoming, and beautiful!”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My stay in the Balch Hotel was a perfect ending to unwind after a rather fast-paced 8-day trip. The hotel, run more like a B&B, is nestled in a small town 15 miles south of the beautiful Columbia Gorge. The setting is very relaxed and peaceful with lovely grounds, rolling fields of grains surrounding the hotel, a breathtaking view of Mt. Hood, and a tree-shaded patio to enjoy the fresh air and scenery. The hotel has been beautifully renovated, in keeping with its historic designation. The rooms are charming and comfortable. Our room had a shared bath and did not have air conditioning, but was comfortable despite the hot outdoor temperature -- nights are cool in that part of Oregon. The stairs and claw foot tubs will likely be a challenge for people with mobility problems. The three-course gourmet breakfast, included in the very reasonable room rate, was a real treat. The hostess, Samantha, was very gracious and welcoming and made us feel like guests in her home. Right next to the hotel is an interesting local museum focused on early life and farming in the valley. The area is great for cycling. Hiking trails and river paddling and fishing are not far away. Good dinner restaurants can be found in surrounding towns.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
139
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I found The Balch when looking for a quiet, reasonable alternative to lodging in The Dalles and Hood River. The property exceeded even my most hopeful expectations. Although billed as a Hotel, it is operated as a bed and breakfast. Hosts Samantha and Jeff and gracious, accommodating, innkeepers; breakfast was of gourmet quality; beds were comfy and housekeeping spotless. The Balch is located in Dufur, OR, a small farm community 13 miles south of The Dalles. The drive down from I-84 was pleasant and calming, and the absence of TV and phones at the hotel was a welcome respite (for those who can't bare to be out of touch, there is complimentary wi-fi and the cell signal is strong). My room had a stupendous view of Mt Hood and the grounds include a pleasant patio which had I stayed longer, I really would have enjoyed. Like all lodging in Oregon, The Balch is totally smoke free.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkabout71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

My husband and I along with a large group of bicyclists descended upon the Balch Hotel for three days of cycling in the glorious Columbia Gorge. The Balch hotel was a perfect base with an abundant breakfast that fueled our riding, a large outdoor stone patio where we congregated at the end of the day, and comfortable rooms with excellent beds for recuperation. The hotel has been restored but instead of being a museum, seems like someone's lovely home. We will be back!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank WeBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Say you are taking a scenic drive around Mt. Hood, and you want to stay overnight in a place that is scenic, quiet, tasteful and affordable - consider the Historic Balch Hotel. Its a recently restored 3-story brick hotel, on the National Historic Register. It is decorated with muted colors, high ceilings, antique furniture, and lots of old-growth wood trim. A tasty breakfast is included, and they honor special diets. All this for under $100/night.
Being and old hotel, it may not be for everyone (no in-room phones, TV, AC, elevator, and not all rooms have their own bath). And the town is tiny - there is only one bar/restaurant (across the street). If you can live with these old-time restraints, then you will be rewarded with a nice view of Mt Hood, a great breakfast, and possibly even fresh chocolate chip cookies and homemade ice cream when you check in (at least that's what we were offered on a Friday night in July). The owners are nice people who genuinely try to accomodate their guests.
If you prefer lots of choices for dinner, stop in Hood River or The Dalles before you make the half hour drive up the hill to Dufur.

  • Liked — Very quiet, calm and accommodating place (atmosphere)
  • Disliked — The bath was a little cramped feeling
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank motorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufur
18.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
27 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
10.8 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
268 reviews
10.7 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
555 reviews
20.9 mi away
Three Rivers Inn Biggs
Three Rivers Inn Biggs
#1 of 1 in Biggs Junction
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balch Hotel

Property: Balch Hotel
Address: 40 Heimrich St, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Dufur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel among rolling wheat fields. Relax. Reconnect. Rejuvenate. We hope to surprise you with this gem in the country. The Balch Hotel is an excellent spot for outdoor weddings, reunions, retreats, business meetings, bike trips, car clubs or a romantic getaway for two. Winter weddings, retreats, engagements and elopements are cozy and charming. Join us at a place that inspires personal re-connection and rejuvenation …. To help ensure a peaceful environment for our guests, we unfortunately do not allow small children or pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Balch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balch Hotel Dufur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing