We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Balch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sequim, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice place to getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. The owners are very friendly and make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive. Rooms are small and simple which is part of the charm of staying at a historic hotel. We didn't experience the noise reported in other reviews but perhaps this was due to the fact that we were on the 3rd floor and the only guests those days on the top floor. Nicely landscaped grounds with patio. We had a 3rd floor shared bath room on the southwest corner with a nice view of Mt Hood. We aren't normally into shared baths but this didn't bother us because the hotel is exceptionally clean. They also have rooms with private baths. Breakfast was good and nicely presented. This is a sleepy town but its a short drive to a park with a waterfall, ghost towns and a loop drive to Mt Hood. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 150pounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
144
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We enjoyed this wonderful old place. The grounds were beautifully maintained, making this a great place to relax. The staff are very warm and friendly. A nice breakfast was included. Yum!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is lovely, grounds beautiful, beds comfortable and Samantha and her staff wonderful. My husband has disabilitites and it was difficult for him to get down stairs to the tastey breakfast so without even having to ask they made him up a tray on our first morning. And on our second morning they put together a "to go" box for him as we were checking out. Samantha gave excellent recommendations for places to eat and see in the area. Sitting in the parlor or lobby reading or playing cards or a game with a glass of wine/beer was a popular activity and everyone seemed to be having fun and enjoying themselves.

Definately would go back!

Room Tip: Most rooms are shared bath so plan accordingly. Rooms at the top of the staircase from the lobby ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. My wife and I stayed here one night in early June and found that the Balch Hotel is all the wonderful things you read in the reviews. We would come back again. The staff is welcoming. The hotel is beautiful. The view of Mount St. Helens, weather permitting, is beautiful. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The coffee very drinkable, and the company much fun to chat with. The building and the grounds are immaculate. It is a comfortable place in which to hang around and read quietly or chat with other guests. You will definitely enjoy your stay.

But, wait, there is more. In the room in which we stayed, we could easily hear people in adjacent rooms. It is curious that none of the other reviewers have mentioned this. It may be that the other wonderful things have pushed this inconvenience to the side. The couple in the room next door was having a quiet conversation (voices not raised, calm) and we could hear everything. At one point before we fell asleep, we could hear someone in an adjacent room (below us?) snoring. We sleep well, so once we were sleeping sound was no issue. On the whole, this was a minor inconvenience. The ease with which sound travels may be one of the reasons there are no televisions or other sound-making electronics in the rooms. But this is something for guests to keep in mind.

Also bear in mind that the dining choices in Dufur are very limited; The Dalles is 15 miles to the north. It is a beautiful drive through grain and fruit farms.

Despite the caveat above which guests should know, we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveler072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skirwin, Owner at Balch Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for the review!! One of the "charming" things about a historic building is that there are not modern sound proofing walls, etc. Being a light sleeper myself and living at the hotel, I understand the need for a restful night - especially when traveling. We want all our guests to leave refreshed. We've now made sure all rooms have a fan to give some white noise for sleepers. While that might not drown out a super loud snoring neighbor, we will also keep on hand earplugs to be available for guests to help even more. Thanks for visiting AND for writing the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is an anomaly in such a tiny town as Dufur (population just over 500, but seems smaller) but it is a welcome and most pleasant place to stay. The owners are very cordial and accommodating. The rooms are nice and quite charming. They even give you a choice of a bottle of champagne or wine, and a yummy raspberry-chocolate brownie - delicious! The grounds are immaculate and the lawn is lushly green and neatly mowed. It was very relaxing to walk around in the morning with a cup of coffee in hand as I strolled around the property. There is a classy breakfast served every morning, and it was very good. I might suggest to the owners that they serve a meat of some kind, either bacon, sausage or ham, and that would make for a complete and delicious meal. Be forewarned that there is no television, telephone and refrigerator (however, there is WI-FI) in the rooms, but that is part of the charm of The Balch. It's almost like a step back in time, and a breath of fresh air (literally and figuratively) to stay in such an out-of-the-way but worthwhile destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowhere_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I was visiting a friend in Portland and we came to the Balch Hotel as she needed to take photos in the area. The hotel has old world charm and is a nice mix of original features and modern amenities. The beds are so comfortable I didn't want to leave. The owners are two of the nicest people you could possibly meet and do everything to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The warm cookies in the evening were so good and there was even gluten free ones for my friend. Breakfast was also very good. We ended up going for a hike at the waterfall nearby. A couple at breakfast were there checking the place out for their upcoming wedding. It would be a great spot for a wedding, reunion or other event.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citymouse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you travel from Bend OR to the Columbia Gorge, plan to spend at least one night in Dufur OR. The Balch Hotel has a lot of charm, breakfast is wonderful, and the owners and staff were warm and accommodating. We stayed in the suite (only room with a king bed) and enjoyed the jacuzzi too. From Dufur, we were able to go to Mt Hood, visited the historical Timberline Lodge, traveled the 'fruit loop', had dinner in The Dalles, and drove back to Dufur for a second night. We highly recommend this wonderful hotel that creates a great experience for their guests.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifton Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufur
11.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
280 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
513 reviews
10.7 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
570 reviews
20.9 mi away
Three Rivers Inn Biggs
Three Rivers Inn Biggs
#1 of 1 in Biggs Junction
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balch Hotel

Property: Balch Hotel
Address: 40 Heimrich St, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Dufur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel among rolling wheat fields. Relax. Reconnect. Rejuvenate. We hope to surprise you with this gem in the country. The Balch Hotel is an excellent spot for outdoor weddings, reunions, retreats, business meetings, bike trips, car clubs or a romantic getaway for two. Winter weddings, retreats, engagements and elopements are cozy and charming. Join us at a place that inspires personal re-connection and rejuvenation …. To help ensure a peaceful environment for our guests, we unfortunately do not allow small children or pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balch Hotel Dufur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing