We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in a Tiny Town”
Review of Balch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you travel from Bend OR to the Columbia Gorge, plan to spend at least one night in Dufur OR. The Balch Hotel has a lot of charm, breakfast is wonderful, and the owners and staff were warm and accommodating. We stayed in the suite (only room with a king bed) and enjoyed the jacuzzi too. From Dufur, we were able to go to Mt Hood, visited the historical Timberline Lodge, traveled the 'fruit loop', had dinner in The Dalles, and drove back to Dufur for a second night. We highly recommend this wonderful hotel that creates a great experience for their guests.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clifton Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

These are awesome people! Not to mention the hotel is beautiful and clean. From the hot chocolate chip cookies to the amazing breakfast, they cover it all. We will be back. Also, caught a shuttle for a very fair price to and from the Maryhill winery concert. So thankful we found this place. :) Aura

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auraskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Went here in May for a getaway and left feeling relaxed and refreshed. We were completely taken care of with excellent service and wonderful charm of the building. The beds were relaxing and we left feeling so refreshed. We work all the time and The Balch is just what we needed to get us through the summer. We are still thinking about how much we enjoyed it 5 months later. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingSasquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We traveled around Oregon, staying 10 days in 8 holels/motels. We liked our first night in the Balch so much we re-routed ourselves on the way back to stay again in the Balch Hotel again. Yes, it is a little off the beaten path (14 miles south of The Dalles on I 84) but so well worth it. The views, the grounds, the rooms and the breakfast were by far the best! Thank you Samanth and Wanda, you were the best too!! Anytime we are in Oregon again, we will be back to stay at the Balch...AND they now have a shuttle to one of our favorite winerys...The Maryhill Winery that has concerts on the Columbia River and great wine too!! You cannot go wrong staying at the Balch!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey90803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night and attended a concert at Maryhill Winery. The hotel had arranged a private shuttle at a reasonable price for guests going to the concert. The Hotel is beautifully decorated and has a beautiful view of Mt Hood from the front steps and balconys on the front. Terry and Frank were so very nice and helpful. There are homemade chocolate chips cookies when you arrive and check in and Terry took us up to the room and went over the basics. Our room did not have a private bath just a sink and it was fine. They have claw foot tubs with a shower. It is like being back in time. Very nice! Nice to not have a TV too! The breakfast the next morning was delicious!
We will be back - loved the hotel, and Terry and Frank are wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odieswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at The Balch Hotel many times over the past 3-4 years. It is off the beaten-path from the main parts of the Columbia River Gorge (30 minutes to Hood River) but is worth the trek for a quiet get-away.

What makes it special?
- The immediate curb appeal. It's a 100-yr old hotel that has been refurbished and has a beautifully maintained, large lawn and patio area (many weddings there)
- The owners could not be nicer and exemplify high customer service to their employees
- The rooms and bathrooms may be old but they're very clean. I'm usually not one to share bathrooms in a B&B style hotel, but at The Balch it doesn't bother me since everything is well-maintained. They also have rooms with en-suite baths for those who aren't into sharing a bath
- Breakfasts are always quite good -- usually a yogurt parfait, a muffin and a quiche. With lost of Hood River Roasters' coffee

So...drive off the beaten path through the rolling wheat fields and/or through the Mt Hood Natl Forest to Dufur, Oregon and spend a night or two at The Balch!

Room Tip: The Ladies' Sitting Room has a great view of Mt. Hood and its own sink (shared bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreamJobGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Three of us came for an overnight stay on a Saturday and loved it! Teri was incredibly helpful in making our visit great. She took good care of us and gave us perfect advice about what to while we were there. The breakfast was lovely and excellent! Thank you Balch Hotel - Jody, Peter and Mary :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyPeptides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufur
18.2 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
29 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
294 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
524 reviews
10.7 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
592 reviews
20.9 mi away
Three Rivers Inn Biggs
Three Rivers Inn Biggs
#1 of 1 in Biggs Junction
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balch Hotel

Address: 40 Heimrich St, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Dufur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Price Range: $76 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel among rolling wheat fields. Relax. Reconnect. Rejuvenate. We hope to surprise you with this gem in the country. The Balch Hotel is an excellent spot for outdoor weddings, reunions, retreats, business meetings, bike trips, car clubs or a romantic getaway for two. Winter weddings, retreats, engagements and elopements are cozy and charming. Join us at a place that inspires personal re-connection and rejuvenation …. To help ensure a peaceful environment for our guests, we unfortunately do not allow small children or pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Balch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balch Hotel Dufur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing