We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unaccommodating, uncomfortable and overpriced cabin experience ever!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diamond Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diamond Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diamond Lake
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most unaccommodating, uncomfortable and overpriced cabin experience ever!”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

First off, when we arrived we were informed that "someone" had booked our cabin for the wrong weekend! We could have the cabin we wanted the first night but, had to move to another cabin the for the second night!
The cabin we moved to had a picnic table outside flipped upside down, we flipped it back and these are HEAVY tables. We went inside and immediately noticed the dirty floor, sat down on the couch and were met with a stench of an old worn out sofa that has seen better days. We turned on the TV and couldn't get a picture. The cabin was tacky and worn out. The cabin floor was slanted and the mattress kept slidding off the box spring. There was what we thought was a generator running for several hrs. right outside the bedroom window as well as traffic and noise all night long. Needless to say, we didn't get a wink of sleep!
When we complained the next morning we were met with an attitude at the front desk, they didn't care, oh well - too bad! All this for $189.00 per night!! We won't be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mez02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    73
    69
    54
    77
See reviews for
99
107
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, California
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We unfortunately booked late, so accepted a "vintage" cabin. What this means is old, dirty, with very hard mattresses sitting in the middle of a small patch of weeds surrounded by asphalt. Every activity - renting bikes, kayaks, small boats was both expensive and equipment was old/broken. Activities are "on your own" - despite the "resort" description there is no organization. The staff are generally rude, except our waitress in the coffee shop and our housekeeper delivering towels. If you want to bring items to cook, be sure to stop at a regular grocery store before you arrive. The "store" was impossible. The only thing I would recommend about the hotel was the location. Too bad the owners here just don't care. It could be quite wonderful. But until things are fixed, don't bother!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed another night. I think people are expecting the Ritz when they come here or they are too spoiled. When you stay here it is for recreation and the beauty that surrounds the resort. The rooms were clean and in a condition you expect with harsh winter conditions. They were just fine. We also brought our pets which was a plus. We hiked the trails in the snow and walked on the frozen lake.
They had wifi in the lodge which was nice to check on things. This is a place to get away from it all so having it just in the lodge was good with me. There is cell phone reception which was nice.
Food was on the expensive side but that is to be expected with its location to have supplies brought in I'm sure. We cooked on a BBQ outside of the room and bought from the cafe. The food was great!
For all you spoiled people who expect everything on a silver platter-this place is not for you. For all of you who want a good time with your family snowmobiling or sight-seeing then this is the place for you.
I still can't get over people complaining about TV and things like that. You are here to GET AWAY from it all! Remember that.
I truly had a great time and plan to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crabbychristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We spent the night here prior to going into Crater Lake NP. At only 6 miles from the North Entrance, you can't get much closer. The premises are older but comfortable. The onsite restaurant was surprisingly good, and the homemade desserts were outstanding. The walls are thin, but I had good neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willamette Valley, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Room was adequately clean. The bedding and carpet were clean, the room smelled clean. Motel does show it's age, and with a little attention to the little details would be vastly improved. Small items of complaint would be the repair of the bathroom floor, walls, etc. Housekeeping appears to be making an effort to keep things clean, yet maintenance is not organized, planned, or aesthetic. If everything was in good repair (and professionally done, not "patched") the price of a room would seem reasonable. As is it is approximately 20-25% high.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This resort is showing its age. Motel rooms are minimal. This place would be best for families with children to bike and swim and hike. If you're looking for high class, go somewhere else. Meals were also average, and the main dinner house was quite expensive. I suspect there are other resorts in this area that are more modern. For a mountain area, however, this was an acceptable stop.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therman1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Someone is making a mint off of this "resort" and not putting a penny back into its upkeep, housekeeping, or maintaining the historic nature of the Diamond Lake Resort. With the exception of 2 front desk greeters, everyone at the "resort" is ill-tempered and not hospitable. The food is awful and overpriced and the corner of the dining room I sat in smelled like mouse pee. Because of the isolation of the "resort", there is no where else to eat, so you are trapped. The room I stayed in (B31) was extremely old, did not have air conditioning, the tv reception was unbearable, and I wouldn't touch anything with my bare skin. The walls were so thin, I could hear everything that happened next door. The room didn't have a fridge, micro, phone,or anything that could help me avoid the awful dining and they make you beg for ice (no ice machine) from the crabby wait staff.
I've stayed in many isolated hotels in Oregon and Washington that don't have phones, tvs in the rooms, but this "resort" is on a completely different, awful level. I stayed at the "resort" for work, but would have turned right around when I saw the room and made them give my money back if I had been there for pleaure. They turn the Wi-fi off at night apparently to save money and it's only accessible from the lodge, not the rooms.
The Forest Service should be ashamed of themselves for granting a special use permit to this "resort" every year. The fact that the federal government has stepped in twice now to Rotenone the lake to get rid of native fish at the taxpayers expense is horrifying, especially since the "resort" owner is pocketing all of the money made at the lake and not reinvesting it at the "resort" or in its poorly paid staff.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HORRIBLE PLACE!
I've stayed in many

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalevala_Woffiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Lake
18.5 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
887 reviews
18.2 mi away
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
#2 of 2 in Chemult
68 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Union Creek Resort
Union Creek Resort
#1 of 4 in Prospect
491 reviews
18.1 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Chemult
42 reviews
18.2 mi away
Dawson House Lodge
Dawson House Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chemult
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lake Resort

Property: Diamond Lake Resort
Address: 350 Resort Dr, Diamond Lake, OR 97731-9710
Location: United States > Oregon > Diamond Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diamond Lake
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Diamond Lake Hotel Diamond Lake
Diamond Lake Resort Diamond Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing