We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare bones room...great food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diamond Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diamond Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diamond Lake
Chevy Chase
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bare bones room...great food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was booked here by the National Park Service as an alternative to the nearby Crater Lake Lodge. The rooms in the motel section are bare bones...tvs work, shower ok, bed fine, no wifi, but hell, you are in the woods and the lake is lovely and only the sounds of some motorcycles disturb the quiet. The main building is functional and you can get wifi in the lobby. The fishing is fine, though there is presently an algae bloom keeping people out of the lake itself. The outstanding feature of Diamond Lake Resort is the food. The Mt. Bailey Grill has outdoor seating and fine cuisine...that's right, cuisine! Excellent dining. The breakfasts served in the Cafe are huge and satisfying. I had corned beef hash and eggs that rivaled any in New York..seriously. If you stay there, don't expect the Ritz...but you will love the food.

Room Tip: Try to go for the cabin rentals...they also have a cabin with 7 bedrooms and a kitchen that can feed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neumanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    71
    55
    79
See reviews for
105
110
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel and it was clean except for a few stains on the carpet. The sheets looked brand new. Shower had been redone. Very basic place to stay and I didn't expect much for 59 dollars. No phone or hair dryer in rooms. Stay here if you need a cheap mostly clean room. Also walls are thin so you can hear your neighbor. The air conditioner fan helped block the noise. Dinner was good at restaurant but pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you can't get in to the Lodge at Crater Lake , there are not many options which is the only explanation for why this "resort" is on the NPS web site. It is extremely dated and below the standards of today's hotels but, in contrast to many of the reviews on TripAdvisor, our room was clean and adequate for one night in transit. Food on site was fair.

Room Tip: No soundproofing so if you are a light sleeper, upstairs might be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was on three day motorcycle trip, prior to going I searched for places to stay on my trip. Have camped at Diamond lake numerous times, saw they had a special of 59.00 for a motel room, normally around 100.00. Well it was worth the 59.00 barely, but never the regular rate. The bare minimums. Thank goodness it was only a place to sleep. Did enjoy the lodge, where they had wifi and the outside patio for dinner was great, right on the lake, beautiful views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Margare... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sargans, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We (a couple and one child) had booked 2 nights in a cabin, even though it was over $100.00 but hoped it would be fine. But unfortunately this was the worst place we've stayed in a long, long time. The furniture was filthy, the door had a hole and had been broken into, the kitchen was dirty and the beds looked old and worn. We checked out after one night as we could not stand the filthiness of this place. Also, the chairs had holes and the windows had not been cleaned in months. They claim to have internet at the lodge which did not work most of the time. The staff was not friendly and did not care about their customers. Honestly, nobody should be allowed to rip people off like that. We'll never go back and rather sleep in the car!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiriDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Earlier this summer we spent the night in one of the cabins right on the lake. A beautiful setting. However, the accommodations need to be updated. The twin bed I slept in was very uncomfortable and the furnishings were on the verge of shabiness. The location is great but next time I will either camp or plan earlier and stay at Crater Lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Dirty,insecure, floor covered with bugs!!!We left! This place is outdated, using interier doors for out side entry. Not secure at all. When we entered floor was covered with bugs, clerks comment, oh they must be hatching again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Lake
69.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Medford
10.3 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
59 reviews
24.2 mi away
Union Creek Resort
Union Creek Resort
#1 of 4 in Prospect
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Chemult
80 reviews
18.2 mi away
Dawson House Lodge
Dawson House Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chemult
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lake Resort

Property: Diamond Lake Resort
Address: 350 Resort Dr, Diamond Lake, OR 97731-9710
Location: United States > Oregon > Diamond Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diamond Lake
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Diamond Lake Hotel Diamond Lake
Diamond Lake Resort Diamond Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing