We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people and great live band!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dexter Lake Club

Dexter Lake Club
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Dexter
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Dexter Lake Club first opened its doors in 1949. It established itself and as a popular cafe, bar and live music venue over the next decades. The large, bright neon sign that sits atop the high roof line is an iconic symbol along highway 58. In fact, the “roadhouse” persona of the Dexter Lake Club is so present, that it was used for filming in scenes of the popular movie Animal House in 1977. Weekly you'll find dedicated Animal House movie fans seeking out this famous landmark to take pictures and remember the movie.The atmosphere is warm and inviting throughout and the staff is friendly and attentive. The cooks prepare hearty meals made from scratch. We have excellent live music at least four nights a week. Visit our events page on our website for details.Come visit us, we'll be your new favorite place!
Springfield
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly people and great live band!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

What a great live band, you guys rock! The food is awesome (love the sweet potato fries) with generous proportions and the staff is very friendly. Can't beat a place that treats you like family. You guys have done a great job renovating the place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringfieldKMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was concerned about a long drive from W. Eugene,,,,,,Well Worth It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

A pleasant bartender, hot barmaids GREAT MUSIC, a nice place to go, even when it"s raining buckets. Mens room needs a urinal, I"m sure it"s on their list.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaneHeifner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Otis sent us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Last Sunday we decided we needed to make a "roadtrip" and headed to DLC for an early afternoon lunch. The bloody mary compared to none we'd ever had: spiced just right and in a tall glass so we definately felt we got our moneys worth. We had to order the sweet potato fries since neither of us had ever had them before - and, of course, you can't have fries without a burger. The cheeseburger was so big it was served with a steak knife stuck though it to keep it from falling apart - we had to squish it down so it would fit in our mouth. I can't even find the words to describe how delicious it was (especially the sweet, red onions) and I know we'll be enjoying more DLC cheeseburgers in the future. What a fun little place for lunch, and we're looking forward to making it out one evening to enjoy a jam session. Thank you for your hospitality and keep up the good work !

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly atmosphere with the best live music in the state”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Enjoyed the food, the view of the lake, and the waitress who took time to talk with us even though the place was full. After dinner went into the bar for cold drinks and super great live music, my husband and I want to come back every weekend and bring friends...kudos to the Stewarts keep up the good hard work.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness! The Dexter Lake Club is back and the Stewarts have got it right!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Dexter Lake Club had been a mainstay of the "night life" in the Dexter, Fall Creek, Lowell and Pleasant Hill area. Along the way and during the past 10 years, the Club had lost its sparkle and the owners/managers apparently had no idea how to effectively run a bar and restaurant. Thank Goodness, the DLC is back and running better than ever! The owners, Shannon and Greg Stewart have extensive food, beverage and music backgrounds. The renovation and decor offer a nod to "Animal House" with its zebra wall, memorabilia and the stage backdrop is definately sings "roadhouse". The result is a rocking, hopping good time for all! I have eaten there several times and the service was great and the food was awesome. Especially the prime rib dinner on NY Eve. The breakfast and burger menu is complete and with ample choices. I am assured the dinner menu will expand and be just as great. Greg is a talented musician and as such has many friends who are dedicated to the open jam sessions. The music is danceable and butt rockin! Dinner and dancing and drinkin Oh My! Not to mention the phenomenal view of Dexter Lake from the cafe!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ReneGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dexter Lake Club also viewed

Been to Dexter Lake Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing