We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to disconnect in all of Oregon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Detroit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breitenbush Hot Springs
Shaniko, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best place to disconnect in all of Oregon”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

This is my once a summer complete cut off from the hetic world we all live in experience.
First off your cell phone doesn't work here. Cars are not allowed except in the large parking area away from everything. You walk to places, you talk to people, music when you hear it is live and un amplified, your meals are basic but filling, the hot springs are stunning, the sun shines and all is right with the world.
Some of the best conversations I have even been involved in have happened here while sitting in the dark wrapped a pool of hot spring water with the stars as a backdrop.

A warning this is not a disney style resort. You bring you own bedding, towels ect. A bathhouse is where you shower. The meals are buffet style and you clean up after yourself. If you have a problem with nudity then the hot springs are going to offend you.
if you are looking for a staff to pamper you then Bonnieville hot springs in Washington is most likely where you need to be and not here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OregonCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
22
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Breitenbush is a magical place, located near hot springs that you can bathe in. It is very clean, and the service is very good. The value is also very great, but the cabins are not very nice, but very authentic. It is conviently located close to Detroit, but is about 90 minutes out of Portland.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenandrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Breitenbush is one of my favorite places in the world. I've been there several times, and can't wait to go back. My fiance even proposed to me on a bridge over a rushing river on one of the hikes near Breitenbush! Yes, the cabins are bare bones, but you'll be spending most of your time soaking in the amazing hot springs, eating the delicious vegetarian food, taking a class, or hiking. Ok, so you'll probably be doing quite a bit of napping in your cabin, but you'll be asleep, so who cares that you don't have fancy amenities? However, when booking a cabin, ask for one of the 'A' row cabins, as many of them are a bit nicer.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botanicalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed at Brietenbush July 1 through July 6, 2007. We flew from L.A. to Portland and then drove the 3 hours to Breitenbush. Our cabin was bare bones. We had a sink and a toilet but one must go to "the bath house" for a shower. Many people camp there so having a cabin was a luxury. It is a very beautiful site with tall, tall trees the likes of which we don't see in L.A. Wonderful people work there - not exactly a commune - but many "workers" are also owners and most live in a separate area all to themselves. It looks to be a very successful co-op (hippie?) existence. That is, if you aren't in to TV, radio, internet, newspapers, phones or cell phones. Trust me, there will be no chocolate left on your pillow at night. You MUST bring a flashlight. Because we flew in, we were provided bedding at a nominal fee. People go to Breitenbush mainly for the fantastic hot mineral springs. There are about 7 pools to soak in. Really great soaking. We both got a massage and if you go to Breitenbush ask for Meisha - she's absolutely wonderful. Hiking is really great. No need to get in your car. You can catch any number of trailheads right on property. The three vegetarian meals a day are excellent, but get there early because food goes fast. Cell phone works 10 miles away in small town Detriot. Really liked the classes we took - can't even remember the names. Also you have GOT to go into the "sauna." It is an ancient structure that is guaranteed to liquify you, mentally, spriritually, physically. Take the scenic drive (closed in Winter) back to Portland. It is stunning.

Helpful?
8 Thank Blendedarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breitenbush Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breitenbush Hot Springs

Property: Breitenbush Hot Springs
Address: 53000 Breitenbush Road, Detroit, OR 97342-9703
Location: United States > Oregon > Detroit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Detroit
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 154-acre wooded resort is surrounded by the Willamette National Forest. Our hot springs have been used for thousands of years as a sanctuary and sacred healing center. Come relax in tranquility and take part in one of our many workshops and daily well-being programs. We offer many types of massage, yoga, dancing, singing and meditation. We also offer a variety of learning programs ranging from foraging and herbalism to tribalism and EDGU. Many of our guests stay in cabins though we also have tent camping and car camping. We offer three chef-made organic vegetarian meals per day. Enjoy miles of hiking in our ancient forests or spend an evening star gazing in our natural hot springs. Please call or visit our website for reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breitenbush Hot Springs Resort Cabins Hotel Detroit
Breitenbush Hot Springs Oregon/Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing