We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have found bliss!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Detroit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breitenbush Hot Springs
Portland,oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We have found bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Breitenbush is our most favorite place to stay. The hot springs sit on the side of a mountain and if you go during winter is normally covered in snow. The staff is constantly testing the hot springs and cleaning them throughout the days. The food is vegetation and most delicious, sometimes odd but perfect for cleansing your soul. There is no TVs and vest of all no cell reception. Breintenbush is our bliss. We've made it twice now and hope to make it a tradition to go every year.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portlandface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Breitenbush is a New Age spiritual retreat. The cabins are cedar shingle. We had two bedrooms with a toilet and sink. The cabin slept five. The beds are comfy and come with a sheet. You have to bring your own blanket and pillows. The organic, vegetarian food is plentiful, and tasty as well as nutritious. The woods are truly lovely, dark, and deep, especially the Emerald Forest. The river lends a silencing hush that makes hiking feel sacred. There are offerings such as yoga, kirtan (chanting), and edgu (in small, often octagonal, buildings). You can go or not; they are free. The only additional cost is for massage. The hot spring tubs were never crowded while we were there. Our day went pretty much like this: breakfast, soak, read, lunch, hike, soak, rest/read, dinner, event/library/more reading. The library is spacious, well stocked with books and magazines, and has amazingly comfortable furniture that makes you just want to curl up and linger there. We are already talking about next time. In fact, we met folks who go every year, some multiple times, and have been doing so for decades. It's a wonderful place for rest and renewal. By the way, it's okay to soak nude, although clothes are required in all other places.

Room Tip: There are a few lodge rooms, but the cabins are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was my first trip, but I have been to Esalen a few times to used to the 'au naturel' energy of it all. I rented a cabin with sink and toilet (there are cabins without these and also tent sites and tents you can rent) and it was perfectly rustic and cute. You bring your own bedding and towels and they supply the toilet paper and Dr. Bronner's natural soaps.

The food was pretty good, especially for vegetarian fare, but it was no where near as good as Esalen, which is amazing. Also wish they served tea and coffee but you can just bring your own. Construction going on right now but it didn't bother me. Also, even though the whole place was at capacity the pools were never full. The Bathhouse seemed a bit grimy to me, with some mold in the shower stalls...not a place I would go without flip flops. Everyone that worked there seemed super friendly and accommodating and there were some great, free, extra curricular activities too (although went to a yoga class and the teacher just didn't show up).

The only thing I think that is really lacking is a pool, since it's so smokin' hot there in the summer and the river is beyond freezing so it would be nice to have a cool dip somewhere. So I just drove back to Detroit Lake (10 miles) and went swimming at the public beach which was great.

I'll be back but will try Harbin next! Feel free to contact me with any questions.

Room Tip: I think the extra couple of dollars for a toilet and sink are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

It's all this AND MORE! I've been going for 10 years now and look forward to going back each and every time. It just keeps getting better and better. I've gone solo as well as coupled, As a solo traveler, if you want, it's easy to meet people! 

TIP FOR COFFEE DRINKERS: Bring your own supplies (ground coffee and Melitta-type filters, they have cones, no grinder) or else you'll be begging off those who did know to bring it.

Long live Breitenbush!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VGinParadise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

While everyone give this four or five stars, I think the stars are more for what Breitenbush is not, not for what it is. But you go here to get away from it all, rustic and very basic small cabins, off the grid living with three pretty good vegetarian meals a day. My tips are to make sure you check out the website first to make sure this place is for you, never pass up a massage ($90 for 90 minutes with gifted massage therapist), bring a flashlight, and if you like coffee, be sure to bring you own as they do not serve it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just returned back to Canada from my first trip to breightonbush. Enjoyed all it had to offer - off the grid, hot springs, hot tubs, steam sauna, various classes that were available if you are staying there, walks, chats with lots of people also visiting and took part in the inipi ceremony. Cabins were basic and clean and really just slept there, didn't spend any time there as was enjoying all the amenities. The meals, all vegetarian were ok, pretty basic. Homemade breads were good and creative tea blends daily. I will come back to this place. It is a bit of a journey from Canada. Josie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

If you like Harbin Hot Springs in California, this place is the place for you. Situated in the remote Oregon forest, a river runs right the property. I am not a vegetarian but enjyed the food. High points: the quiet, lack of cell service and technology, hot pools and rustic steam sauna, long and scenic hiking trails. Highly recommended! I am coming back again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
10 Thank DogenJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breitenbush Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breitenbush Hot Springs

Property: Breitenbush Hot Springs
Address: 53000 Breitenbush Road, Detroit, OR 97342-9703
Location: United States > Oregon > Detroit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Detroit
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 154-acre wooded resort is surrounded by the Willamette National Forest. Our hot springs have been used for thousands of years as a sanctuary and sacred healing center. Come relax in tranquility and take part in one of our many workshops and daily well-being programs. We offer many types of massage, yoga, dancing, singing and meditation. We also offer a variety of learning programs ranging from foraging and herbalism to tribalism and EDGU. Many of our guests stay in cabins though we also have tent camping and car camping. We offer three chef-made organic vegetarian meals per day. Enjoy miles of hiking in our ancient forests or spend an evening star gazing in our natural hot springs. Please call or visit our website for reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breitenbush Hot Springs Resort Cabins Hotel Detroit
Breitenbush Hot Springs Oregon/Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing