We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Reviewed May 29, 2007

My Mom hadn't been back to the Oregon Coast for over 15 years, so we headed off on a 12 day trip. Our first 5 nights were at the Surfrider Resort and we were very pleased with the easy check-in and the cleanliness and comfort of our two queen- bedded room. It had everything we needed: microwave, fridge, and full-size coffeemaker, gas fireplace, really comfortable beds, and a great view from the deck. Our stay would have been perfect if there were rooms with two beds on the second floor. Four out of five nights we had neighbors upstairs and had to listen to footsteps, furniture sliding around, and running water in sinks and toilets. Also, it was odd that the lovely deck had chairs, but absolutely no small table to put drinks or snacks while enjoying the view. The view from inside the room (when it is raining and cold) would be greatly improved with higher chairs and table, as the window configuration is such that currently at eye level the view is blocked by wood. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and we had a couple of excellent meals at their restaurant. The soups especially were very good. We enjoyed the small beach at the property, but would recommend Beverly Beach for long walks, great rock hunting, and nice restrooms. I look forward to returning to the Surfrider, but only when an upstairs room is available.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2007

You go to a hotel hoping for a clean, comfortable room for a fair price. If you can get some perks, okay. I myself love hot tubs and choose places that have them. So I knew I'd be happy no matter what since it had my tub. What I didn't expect was a STUNNING view, super-clean and minimalist room with lots of floor space (I could have done my yoga if I'd brought my mat) and free use of the computer, lovely, helpful and knowledgeable staff, and WHALES - there is a resident whale population around Depoe Bay and it was them or some late Alaskan travelers as it's May and they are usually done by now. PLUS, there's more, they have a semi-private beach with beautiful sand and rocks to poke around in. It was peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. AND THEY HAVE A POOL, A SAUNA AND A HOT TUB - indoors! and the PRICE - oh my gosh we paid only a meager hundred a night. And they have a good restaurant on the premises where locals go! It doesn't get much better than this unless they were to have a masseuse come in and give you a going over. Oh blessed stay at the Surfrider - I want to come back for a week and I will, soon. Three days was just not enough. Thank you if you read this, staff. And to those of you traveling the Oregon Coast, book a stay at Surfrider and tell them the Trumps sent you - Richard and Jennifer. Maybe we'll see you there!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank OldLaughingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

We are frequent visitors to the Oregon Coast and our family of 4 has stayed at the Surfrider twice in the last few years, most recently in April 2007.

Both times we had a great experience staying in a one-bedroom suite, which have great ocean views. This is a modest, well-kept, older hotel that offers a comfortable weekend getaway at reasonable prices. Don't expect luxury here.

The hotel is situated in a terrific location, not in a town, but just above the small but spectacular beach at Fogerty Creek State Park. Beach access is down a long staircase or a 5-minute drive down to the state park. The beach has a lot of scenic and interesting natural features to explore at low tide.

The hotel is a short drive to the quaint tourist village of Depoe Bay ("world's smallest harbor") and about a 30 to 40-minute drive to the larger tourist towns of Lincoln City and Newport. Depoe Bay is a prime location for whale watching and browsing its shops, restaurants and coffeehouses.

The hotel has a small indoor pool and jacuzzi, which is good for the kids if the weather doesn't cooperate for beach combing. We ate at the restaurant for several meals. Like the hotel itself, the restaurant was family friendly, reasonably priced (for a hotel restaurant) with great views but nothing especially fancy. Food and service were above average but nothing special.

We certainly intend to return to the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLK_Zot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We love coming to the Surfrider. We love the views, the rooms are clean, the food is good, the pool is bright and clean.
We saw whale spouts from our room this visit and later as we hiked by Boiler Bay, we witnessed two juvenile bald eagles squabble over a squirrel, which one had clutched in it's talons. Such a display of aerobatics!
We will continue to come back.
Annette from Kent WA

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank AJHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Great Stay!!! Great Hotel for only 100 dollars a night we got a Whirlpool King Room with Kitchen. We had a great time even though it rained the whole weekend! Gas Fireplace was nice. The maids were awesome and the rooms were very clean.

Great value!! Thanks Surfrider Resort we will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SaRIBeaRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2006

Can't say how many times we've stayed at Surfrider - our favorite on the north/central coast of Oregon. Staff is the best - rooms are the cleanest and well appointed - restaurant has BEST breakfast and fine other meals - close to both Lincoln City and Newport - and many galaries, etc. Lots to do and see - plus the eagles that traditionally nest in the trees to the south of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

This is a great hotel. Comfortable rooms with Jaccuzi tubs and fireplaces. Super ocean views with seals on the rocks below. Super restaurant. Almost hate to reccommend this place because there might not be a vacancy for me next time I want to go back. Staff was super also.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank danww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
400 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
371 reviews
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
9.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,812 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range: $83 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" famous for whale watching or reserve a trip for deep sea fishing. Visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, Ripley's Believe it or Not and the wax Museum. We are within a few miles of golfing, kayaking and waterfall hiking trails. There is no need to leave the Surfrider at all to simply watch the resident pod of whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean from the comfort of your room or the restaurant and bar. The beach access takes you down to search for agates, make a beach fire and watch the waves crash into the unique rocky outcropping. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 80 people and full catering available for weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Groupon, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing