We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ocean setting, reasonable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
A TripAdvisor Member
322
Reviewed July 16, 2006

We spent one night mid-week here after reviewing other's comments. Absolutely there is no better view or value on the entire Oregon coast. Quiet, 2 story, clifftop setting with nice yard in front. Easy hike down to beach (not as easy back up!) to a phenomenal wave-beaten cove. Tide-pools to explore at low tide. The restaurant served ample portions of fresh seafood, extremely reasonable by any standards. The seafood omelette at $10.95 was a feast - more seafood than a lot of dinners would offer you buried in a light cheddar cheese-egg dish. Accompanied with pancakes it could easily be a breakfast for two. Week night dinner special was a great seafood value also - around $12.95. We have stayed and dined in much fancier settings around the world, but with one night (AAA rate) fireplace king room, dinner and breakfast for 2 weighing in at $180 total, you can't ask for much more. Only caveat I would offer is that the rooms are not air-conditioned, which generally is not a problem on the Oregon coast. We happened to arrive on a very warm day and the curtains had not been kept closed - took a while for the fan provided in the room to cool things down. Nice indoor pool was clean and well-equipped if not olympic sized. Close proximity to both Depoe-Bay and Lincoln City without the traffic to deal with. Private setting next to a State Park. The staff was friendly and efficent. We will definitely return.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 370 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2006

The Surfrider is outstanding. We spent 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The room was very large with a fireplace and an effeciency kitchen. We had a hugh window with the most awesome view of the ocean. We also had a balcony. The food was incredible. The prices are very resonable and you get plenty. The sunset from our table was georgous. We will definitely go back. This place should not be missed. If you like great food and the best view of the ocean then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mlymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oregon
15
Reviewed May 9, 2006

This hotel is a great value and it is conveniently located between Lincoln City and Depoe Bay. The rooms are comfy and clean and the view is absoloutely breathtaking. You really can fall asleep to the sound of the waves. Balconies are a great place for a morning cup of coffee. Great place for a romantic weekend getaway. You won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2006

My partner and I visited the resort the weekend before valentines day. The check in was quick and simple, the room we stayed in was marvolus and the pool area was the best relaxing time we've had in a while. Later that night my partner and I decided to eat at the restaurant, just let me say that the food was the best we have had in years. The Chef herself was so kind to come to our table and introduce herself. That was an experience I will never forget. Thank you for the excellent room, service and of course the 5 star chef you have there. We will for sure be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Boomer1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2006

This was my second stay at the Surfrider. In October 2005, my mother and I stayed here because she loved it so much that she wanted to introduce me to the Surfrider experience. After that, I just had to share this experience with my husband. We returned to the Surfrider in January 2006 and had a wonderful experience. Now my husband loves the Surfrider, too. The views from the room and the restaurant are spectacular. The kitchenette was stocked with dishes and utensils. The gas fireplace was warm and cozy. Room was clean. Beds were comfy. Nice secluded beach. Staff was friendly. Restaurant food and service were excellent. Sunset views from the panoramic windows in the restaurant are amazing! It doesn't get much better than this at the Oregon Coast. Only complaint - the spa was closed both times that I stayed there. Fix the spa and the Surfrider will be nearly perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PatfromKeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Albany, Oregon
110
Reviewed February 8, 2006

Breathtaking view, outstanding customer service, Exceptionally clean, incredible food!
We don't want to stay anywhere else! The prices are affordable, people are pleasant and everything is right there for a well relaxed, vacation.
Im sure you will enjoy your stay at Surfrider too!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights, check in was fast and efficent, the room was totally upgraded, and looked brand new. What a wonderful stay, with a gorgeous view of the ocean from up above the rocks. Restaurant has excellent food, the prime rib was just awesome. The pool complex is very nice, and I spent a lot of time there. The best stay I've ever had at any motel, at any time, and I've been around awhile! I'm looking forward to going back this coming January. The heater isn't noisy either, and keeps it nice and toasty. Nice big screen TV. The staff was very friendly. What more can I say? You can't go wrong at this great place.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Silverado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
3.8 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
374 reviews
14.3 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
406 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
375 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range: $87 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" famous for whale watching or reserve a trip for deep sea fishing. Visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, Ripley's Believe it or Not and the wax Museum. We are within a few miles of golfing, kayaking and waterfall hiking trails. There is no need to leave the Surfrider at all to simply watch the resident pod of whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean from the comfort of your room or the restaurant and bar. The beach access takes you down to search for agates, make a beach fire and watch the waves crash into the unique rocky outcropping. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 80 people and full catering available for weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing