We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT THRILLED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Sandy, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT THRILLED”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had arrived Sunday, Sept.29,2013 and left Wednesday Oct. 2, 2013. The room had tears in the carpet in front of the bar, the caulking around the tub was not together in many spots, the shower head ring was away from the wall to leave the hole exposed,@ 1pm the first day, we had to call to request to have the maid clean our room. The second day, she came and asked us what we needed done We asked for an arm chair to sit in as they have a loveseat as it is hard to get up and down from because it is too soft. The cleaning lady had called the office while in our room to see about getting this chair for us. After the call, she told us that they would bring us a chair after the man got off of his lunch. 2 and a half hours later,we called the office regarding and were told they wouldn't be bringing one. They didn't have the courtesy to call us. We decided to use the hottub and went across the lot in swim gear only to find it empty because it was needing parts. We use the Surfrider when we go to the beach, but it seems to be a continual problem for them to keep the swimming pool and hottub running..either one or the other isn't working. We were not informed of the hotub problem when we confirmed our reservation. Tell us upfront aout things not working so that we can schedule other things ahead of time instead of wasting our time waiting for a chair or pool or hottub not working. Although the room has a microwave, they no longer have plates or silverware in the rooms. They say it is a healt issue.. I say it is a CHEAP problem

Room Tip: check the nearby establishments..we should have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    123
    42
    34
    20
See reviews for
69
192
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Sc
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great view with fireplace, mini kitchen, incredible view and plenty of room. Incredible value for less than $100 a night. Heated pool, sauna and hot tub in glass building as well. No breakfast included but resturant on grounds.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same view. Your only choice is whether you want a garden tub or a fireplace. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
187 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked this place blind. Very pleased, to say the least!

Great views, exceptional value for the off season rates. Quiet, too!

Wonderful views from the decks, short walks nearby, a quick drive to lots of attractions. And a nice pool, too.

Perfect place for the money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have been coming to Surfrider for about 20 years. Am sad to say I will not be coming any more. I have always loved it here but the change of ownership has done it no favors. Upon checking in on Sept. 24, 2013, we were informed that we will no longer be able to request the room we have always stayed in. It is special to us as we brought our Mom over every year and we lost her 3 years ago and we continued to come in her memory. We got settled in, sat down to relax...no internet, called front desk, gentleman there said, give me 5 minutes and I will go reset the service. Still no internet, we called for over an hour and a half with no answer from front desk, we walked down there and suddenly we were a huge problem to the staff. The manager was called in to "deal" with us. Staff person thought we wanted "excessive services" and was very rude to us. We were told how the internet had been spotty lately and if was currently being worked on and the entire central coast was having the same problem. Funny, that's the same story we were told at this same time last year. At this point, we decided to move and that was a great choice for us. We are about 1/2 mile from the Surfrider and gee, haven't had one problem with internet and the staff was delighted to have us stay with them. At the Surfrider it was suggested that our computer's were the problem. I am sad that a wonderful memory of many years has become one that I do not wish to remember any longer. Bye Bye Surfrider!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We returned here after a stay some years ago and were not disappointed. The rooms open out onto either a terrace or balcony above a secluded beach and fantastic views out over the Pacific. The rooms themselves are very spacious and have basic kitchenettes, although the equipment for these is very limited. The rooms are very comfortable and have a feature fireplace for colder nights. Friendly staff were happy to help with any query. Any requests were dealt with promptly. The onsite restaurant has a limited menu but is good value for those who don't want to drive in the evening, since Depoe Bay is a couple of miles away. The food was surprisingly good with some interesting wines. The complex is showing its age and is not cheap, however the rooms are very clean and the location is simply a wow-factor.

Room Tip: Rooms at the further end of the complex have less foot traffic past them and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have looked at this place for many years and thought We'd like to stay there someday. That day finally came and it was No disappointment, with the minor exception that the rooms are starting to show their age the views and the staff make up for it. Very friendly, helpful staff, extremely clean and well groomed grounds, these people take great pride in the property they manage. Look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Building #3 Second floor big room, king sized bed, private deck, and a great sunset the first day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Surfrider Resort for one night. The outside of the hotel looks a little run-down, but our room was recently renovated (except for the bathroom, which was small). The room itself was beautiful, and the view from our Building 3 balcony was nothing short of amazing. The walk to the beach is longer than we would have liked, but reasonable. The pool was fairly large, and had a deep end. The hot tub was not very hot, however, and the jets didn't work well. The front desk's service was great. This hotel was recently bought out by Clarion, so the hotel is being renovated. Overall, this was a nice hotel to stay at with a beautiful location!

Room Tip: Request Building 3, the closest to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niknolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
3.9 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
347 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
344 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 36 in Lincoln City
656 reviews
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing