We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough to stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here last summer and chose to stay again, because we liked it so much. The restaurant is still lacking a little, a tad expensive and not the greatest quality. but we did only eat breakfast and can't judge lunch or dinner. But the room was clean and spacious and we could watch the ocean from our balcony. We could walk right down to the tidepools. We also had more family staying in the two bedroom suite and it had a living room large enough to fit us all for games and hot cocoa. The stairs to the beach would be tricky for kids and my 87 year old parents couldn't use them.

Room Tip: all of the rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canarycream1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 367 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We first came to the Surfrider 24 years ago and were immediately captivated by the view from our room of the endless Pacific Ocean and the perfect sunset. Our room was large with doors opening upon a balcony above the cliffs and was extremely well equipped. 24 years later much has changed, the hotel is larger, the rooms not quite so generous but the view and the sunset were as stunning as ever. Now we had to share our balcony with the room next door and it could only be accessed via strange double door which could lead to privacy issues. 24 years ago the restaurant was excellent, now it is the hotel's weak spot. The menu was limited and unimaginative and the service rather slow. The male reception staff were particular friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is now owned by Clarion. Right on the beach. Sea lions sunbathe on the rocks behind the hotel. Great views. The gas fireplace was nice since it was cold & rainy. The staff was very nice. The restaurant was great for lunch. You get a 10% discount if you show your room key. Overall it was a great location, a nice, not real luxurious, room with a frig & micro wave. A large jaquzzi tub in the bathroom. They have an enclosed outdoor pool but you have to walk outside to get there.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our family loves this place. We have been coming to this place for the past twenty years plus; stayed here on our honeymoon and bring our whole family here every time we stay on the Oregon Coast - so many treasured memories. The resort is rustic but very clean. A family feeling not like the other resorts on the Oregon Coast where they are more interested in the bottom line than the feel of the costal experience. With all the various room accommodations, we always have the perfect conditions for whatever situation we need during our stay. The prices are more than reasonable. The staff is professional and friendly. The restaurant is excellent with great service, wonderful staff and great fresh-prepared local ingredients; seafood dishes are amazing. In addition, since it is located away from the many commercial resorts, it is as if it has private beach access. We have seen Bald Eagles, sea lions, starfish, whales; collected several agates and shells, and even saw a blue crab on the beach. We have spent many memorable times on the beach watching beautiful sunsets roasting marshmallows over a fire on the sandy beach directly below the resort. There is a State park just south of the resort, but we have never felt over-crowed on the beach. Location is perfect - just north of Depot Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport - only minutes away from the most wonderful places to visit on the Oregon Coast. This is the only place we will stay in this area.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a hard review to do. The location is 5 stars. The views from the rooms are stunning views of the Pacific -- I really recommend a second floor room for this. There is great access to the beach from the hotel property down some admittedly steep stairs. The rooms are of a good size and are clean and well maintained. The staff was helpful and efficient. The pool is nice the hot tub might seat two people but barely. The problem is that while everything in the rooms is well maintained it is also very old and out of date. I would not be shocked to find out this was an old 1970s apartment building converted to a hotel based on decor and floor plans. The cabinets, doors, carpets and built in night stands have that sort of feel. The sofa bed in our suite is also nightmarish. Our 10 year old roughed it out but. A bigger child or an adult would be miserable. The hotel is being changed over to a Clarion Property - the folks who own comfort inn and Econo lodges which doesn't speak well for future improvement- as we speak ( the sign changed the second day we were here from Surfrider to Clairion).

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank CraigF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The accommodations get 4 stars....I loved the king-sized bed, fabulous view from our room in the adult building (I can't even tell you how many times I giggled over that nomenclature) but being child-free it was great to have no kids around us. (sleep=important!) Sarah at the check in desk was so helpful!!!!
Now, I am going to try to write a restaurant review...... let's just say not a 4 star experience.
Argh! I cannot write a separate review. so. the star rating goes down to 2 stars. I had the surf and turf, sent the over-well done steak back only to receive a tough "top sirloin" replacement from hell. I hesitated to say anything but due to the price of the dinner, I did. I was told "the chef must be in a bad mood"...... and that was that. wow.... the veggies were blah, the baked potato was fine. My husband's chicken fettuccine was more like a soup. He rarely complains about food, and he was sad.
the quality does NOT MEET THE PRICING.
Breakfast was OK...seafood omelet rocks---but both those plates were lukewarm.
Dinner the previous night was OK but again my husband's salmon was lukewarm. My dungeness fettuccine was fine, soupy but tasted OK.
Our servers all three meals were really nice, that's not the concern. The views are STELLAR---can't be beat.
but don't don't don't waste your money on the top sirloin and seafood plate. and don't bother airing your concerns, they fall on deaf ears and to me that means that these wonderful servers do not have the support of the management and owners.
FOUR STARS for the Accommodations
1/2 Star for the food,
sadly, that averages out to a total of two stars, doing math my way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymo362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

we thought the location was great however for $175.00 a night I would have like a little more updating rather than 1970 era The location is right on the coast line and the view is great ... Our room had a gas fireplace which added character Also keep room warm.... clean
We were on the lower level and could hear upstairs neighbors

Room Tip: ask for upper level lower level is noisy needs soundproofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank togo4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
400 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
371 reviews
14.3 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
863 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,816 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range: $83 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" famous for whale watching or reserve a trip for deep sea fishing. Visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, Ripley's Believe it or Not and the wax Museum. We are within a few miles of golfing, kayaking and waterfall hiking trails. There is no need to leave the Surfrider at all to simply watch the resident pod of whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean from the comfort of your room or the restaurant and bar. The beach access takes you down to search for agates, make a beach fire and watch the waves crash into the unique rocky outcropping. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 80 people and full catering available for weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing