We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Another wonderful stay at Surfrider. We stayed in building #4 room 78. We love coming in the winter and watching the waves into the night - the light above our room needs to be shielded from shining on the deck as it washes out the view..
The breakfast was one of our favorites parts of our day, great omelets, view and service. Wednesday and Sundays offer Prime Rib and it was excellent.
The views from the resort are some of the best on the Oregon coast. you can watch seals, pelicans, seagulls and whales when they migrate. Fishing Rock to the north is within walking distance and has great views to the south - Boiler Bay and the surfers and Lincoln Beach to the north.

Room Tip: Rooms 74-77 and 79-81 excellent. Watch out for spot light on 78 in evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RL4P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    121
    42
    33
    20
See reviews for
67
191
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable room with fireplace and deck overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Could view the beautiful Oregon Coast. Walked down to beach. Enjoyed hearing the surf all night. The one real downside was I could hear people walking in the room above me periodically throughout the night. Get a top floor room. Overall a nice place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_Sarasota_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

As stated by other travelers this "resort" is no more then a motel with a great location. We stayed here over 3 days. I had tried to surprise my boyfriend with their romance package (bottle of champagne, two surfrider champagne glasses that you can take with you, box of chocolates and a $40 gift card to their restaurant ) the surprise didn't work out and they can't give you the bottle of champagne in your room (which no one mentioned) everything was sorted out the next day due to great customer service. Do NOT eat at the restaurant though. Worst food we have ever had. Ordered the crap cocktail and I'm pretty sure if was fake crab. Tasted off and just horrible. Neither of us enjoyed our pasta either. Very disappointed in the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingychels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent just one night at Surfrider Resort while descending the Oregon Coast. Even if they call themselves a “Resort” this place is actually nothing more than a motel with standard motel services.
What is spectacular is the location. Nestled on the cliffs and facing the ocean westwards it offers dramatic views and terrific sunsets. Each room, as far as I have seen, have a small private balcony with table and chairs for sitting outside so you can enjoy what is for sure their main attraction: sunsets over the pacific ocean. If you feel chilly, you can watch it from the inside of your room as they offer a little corner with table and armchair also inside and a very big window from which you can see everything anyway.
Besides this it all boils down to an average motel facility. It is not new as the room was quite outdated and common areas sometimes smelled moldy as well as looked a little worn.
Staff is anyway helpful and attentive. They have a spa area in the middle of the parking lot and a small terrible gym downstairs in the main building which I strongly discourage to use as the equipment they have is so old and outdated not to be safe anymore to use.
They do not provide breakfast but do provide you with a working WI-FI connection.
The “resort” is not downtown. It is more or less 2,5 miles from downtown Depoe Bay.
Bed was clean, bathroom was clean, I guess it is a good stopover location for one night anyway. We were charged 140 USD more or less for a one night stay. They give you a coupon for discount at their restaurant if you want. We didn’t use it, but considering the poor choice you have among local places to eat probably we should have given it a try. If you choose to go somewhere downtown be sure you go before 7,30 pm as they shut down early.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I moved to the Portland area in January 2012 to cohabitate with my partner and we have stayed at this property twice since February. (My partner has stayed here several times prior.) Staff is always friendly, the rooms are clean, the views are amazing, and we both love how private the beach below is. The rooms have not been updated in a while, but everything else about this property more than makes up for it. We will always stay here.

Room Tip: We love their fireplace rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights during a one week span with my father and two sons, ages 12 and 9. We stayed on a Monday night but our deep sea fishing trip was cancelled, so we also stayed on a Thursday night. The hotel is definitely dated (the rooms looked like they had last been updated in 1982) and is a little on the run-down side, but our overall experience was fine and we really didn't have too many complaints. We had a two bedroom suite each time (but not the same room) and they were basically the same. They had a kitchenette, two rooms with beds and a hide-a-bed in the couch. The layout is a little funky, but it worked for us. I think eventually they will have to remodel the hotel at some point. If you are very picky about your accomodations and you like everything to be brand new and sparkling then this isn't the place for you. If you are just looking for somewhere to sleep and you don't mind old school, outdated furnishings (some furniture looks like it came from a yard sale) then this hotel is fine. The view is outstanding and the path from the hotel leads to a nice beach area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xeriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We love this place. We have stayed at this resort so many times and every time we are going there we feel right at home. My husband needs extra care, as he is in a wheelchair and the accommodations were just perfect. If we needed something extra we only had to ask for it. Everyone at the resort is very friendly and go out of their way to help you. The view of course is great, ever changing and watching the wildlife is an extra bonus. The restaurant is great, the food is great and reasonable prices. We will definitely go back there next year.

Room Tip: Always tell the staff when you make your reservations what your special needs are. They will advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
3.9 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing