We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My dog and I were so spoiled.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trollers Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Depoe Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trollers Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Depoe Bay, Oregon
2 reviews
“My dog and I were so spoiled.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Traveling alone with a dog can be challenging. Trollers made me feel so welcome. Samantha their dog had cookies for my dog, Sami. and we were given a cover so Sami could sit next to me on the couch. The rooms are small but i have never been in a place that is cleaner. The furnishings and especially many of the coverings and decorations are hand made and are so very charming. You can walk from there to any place downtown and you are off the highway so you get a good nights sleep. I will go back and tell everybody about it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
22
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Grande, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

I frequent numerous vacation destinations and this is one of the biggest rip-offs I've encountered. My wife made reservations for ourselves and our mother in mid-may for August 12th to the 15th. Due to illness of our mother we had to cancel and did so on June 29th. 43 days prior to our reservation!. We were told we had to forfiet our entire 200.00 deposit to cancel and that we were told we had only 4 days after booking to cancel and receive our deposit back. My wife claims she was never told this. If this is thier policy, so be it. However it is just plain wrong! Any other "seasonally depemdent" lodge or motel has always allowed me a 30 day prior cancellation policy with a small fee, usually 10%-15%. Not only will we never consider this place again but will share this information with every rating web-site we can find.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank outaportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeggyLeoni, Owner at Trollers Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
We are not "thieves". We did not steal anything. This person ignored our cancellation policy. She even changed the reservation once without penalty. If there was a legitimate complaint she would have taken it up with her credit card company.
Our policy has been in place for several years. It is on our website and is explained at the time of every reservation. Our policy: "The deposit is equal to the service charge for cancelling. If you cancel, we keep it. Otherwise it is applied to your balance at check-in." It could not be more clear than that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Trollers Lodge is an older facility but it has been very well maintained. We stayed in #12, a 1 bedroom unit with a full kitchen. It is on the end, with views of the ocean through the front window. As other travelers have pointed out, the rooms are very small, almost like staying in a doll house, but they are also very cozy and comfortable and cutely furnished. They could feel claustrophobic if you are planning on hanging out in the room all day long, but if you're looking for a place to sleep and eat while you explore the Oregon coast, then this place is perfect. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, cookware and utensils, but only one person can fit in there at a time. The shower stall is tiny, but the water pressure is good and there's plenty of hot water. The bed was a little soft for my taste, but not too bad. We pulled the sleeper sofa out one night to watch TV, and I'm glad I didn't have to sleep on it all night long - it was very lumpy. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuckyMama12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

There are no bath tubs and the shower is exactly 2'X2'. The bathroom itself is so small you can wash your hands while you're on the toilet. The bathroom is so damp in nature that the towels don't dry. Then when you ask for more the male host in the front office gave my husband a horrible time bickering and arguing and wouldn't give him dry towels-finally he gave in but not before 1 last snide remark, "Didn't know you guys were taking 2 showers a day!" And, this is not a pet friendly motel... it appears that way at first and once you are there-their sharp tongues attack every move. Very 2-faced like! This cost us over $125.00 night to be treated this way in an overstuffed closet of a motel! BE WARNED!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maliabend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeggyLeoni, Owner at Trollers Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
They saw how small the room was when they arrived. If it was too small they could have said so and would have been accommodated with a refund or a larger unit..
This is an older property, not a big modern high-rise.
None of our motel rooms cost $125/night -that must have been for TWO nights.

Sorry if they thought the office staff was rude. They could have asked for extra towels when the housekeeper serviced their room or when they checked in.
They should stick to the big chain hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Just love Troller's Lodge. Stay there at least once a year. Nice people. Excellent home like accommodations. A wonderful overall experience. Wonderful view and the only noise you will hear is the surf.

Very comfy bed. Plush. Homemade quilts.

They have a friendly dog.

Would definitely return. February is best month to visit. Great places to watch the storms.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveDepoeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

This was our third stay at Troller's Lodge, and we continue to be impressed with the service, value and comfort. Our favorite room is a light , cozy, corner apartment, with a partial view of the ocean. The full kitchen is completely furnished with dishes and good quality cooking utensils, and the living room is comfortably equipped with a sofa-bed, easy chair, dinette and TV with a DVD/VCR player. An excellent selection of DVD's and videos is available at no charge in the front office. The separate bedroom and bath are both very tiny, but clean and adequate. There are excellent reading lights in both bedroom and living room. The grounds are well cared for, with picnic tables and BBQ's with crab cooking rings available upon request, and the owners and staff are uniformly cheerful and helpful.

All of the rooms we have seen at the Lodge meet the same standards of comfort and cleanliness, although some are so tiny they resemble doll houses. Troller's Lodge is a genuine gem on the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Opera_lover054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

I surprised my husband with a trip to the beach with his brothers and I. The 5 of us enjoyed it immensely. It was like a miniature apartment with all the ammenities! As we were on a budget it was perfect for us. We spent time at the beach and cooked dinner/breakfast in the room. There is even an area to barbeque if we wanted to do that, but we chose to cook dinner inside.

If you want a clean, comfortable, home like place, this is perfect. If you don't want to cook there, it's still great as you can make midnight snacks or keep leftovers/drinks cold. The price is ideal and a great value for what you get.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, and great value
  • Disliked — No beach access
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NativeOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.6 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Channel House
Channel House
#2 of 7 in Depoe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trollers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trollers Lodge

Property: Trollers Lodge
Address: 355 SW Highway 101, W side of 101 At Graham St., Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9634
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel, owner occupied and operated. We also manage several oceanfront homes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing