We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Crab Cocktail and Fish and Chip”
Review of Chowder Bowl

Chowder Bowl
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Depoe Bay
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Crab Cocktail and Fish and Chip”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had the best chowder and fish and chips there. The interior is nothing amazing, but the view is wonderful. The staff was friendly and it was probably the best cod fish and chips I have had in years.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    68
    41
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Food was good and very fresh. We had chowder (of course!) and a house salad. Both were delicious. The atmosphere was cozy and the service was terrific! And don't forget to check out their cool "West Coast Chowder" sweatshirts.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theleolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Flour Bowl”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I can't believe a food establishment would name their restaurant "Chowder Bowl" and then serve the worst chowder on the Oregon coast. I'm not talking about the Chowder Bowl location at Nye Beach in Newport. This is the Depoe Bay locale. My wife and I both ordered a bowl of chowder. It tasted like raw flour. Couldn't get more than three spoonfuls down. My guess is it was chowder from the previous day and when reheated it "broke". To fix it you can use a combination of flour & butter mixed together and then add a little at a time until thickens. If you don't know the technique and how to cook the raw flour taste out, you end up with chowder like we were served. You would think it might be a good idea to taste it before serving it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cusinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
171 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonable”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a great place with above average seafood. The main difference was the price. Not the typical tourist rip off prices so common on the Oregon coast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scio, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favorite chowder”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. It has my favorite chowder on the coast. Plenty of seating. Bring a coat though as its drafty especially by the windows. Laid back environment. Kid friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Bowl also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chowder Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing