We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, up close view of whales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dockside Charters

Dockside Charters
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: located on Depoe Bays waterfront right next to the boats just past the coastguard station. public restrooms and plenty of public parking,turn east at Depoe Bay 's only stop lite and follow bay street to the waterfront.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, up close view of whales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We picked Dockside Charters based on their good reviews and we weren't disappointed. We went out on the zodiak with Gary and another family of three (each of our kids was about 7 or 8) and enjoyed seeing two separate gray whales in their natural environment. We highly recommend the zodiak tours vs. the larger boat which can't maneuver as easily in the water to get the best view. Their prices are very reasonable. The only challenge in booking a tour is dealing with such changeable wind and weather conditions along the coast.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 3Magpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    27
    5
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MILWAUKIE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best trip yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Took my Daughter & SIL out for Salmon on the Samson with Capt. Lars today 9-1-12 for the open non-clipped season and he had all 13 of the guest with their limit in 3 hours including the 37LB Chinook my Daughter caught. They know what they are doing and try to make sure everyone has a great time. I know Salmon are hit and miss, but Capt. Lars knew just where to go to find them as the 1st limit only took 45 minutes and the next Two just over an hour.

If you have not tried them, give them a shot and you will not be sorry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dfcpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT CREW, STAFF AND FISHING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My nephew (13) and I went tuna fishing on the Affair today and it was great. our first trip was cancelled due to bad weater but the staff did eveything possible to get us on a trip a few days later and weather turned out great. Caught 22 fish total and divided it up between everyone. Only complaint was that the filleting afterwards is extra $5 per fish - kinda spendy after a $516 initial cost & noone mentioned it is cash only. all in all- we'll be back!!

Helpful?
4 Thank bigskycountrykalimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent bottom fishing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My father, my two sons (12 and 9) and I went for a bottom fishing trip with Lars on the Samson and we had a great time fishing for ling cod and rockfish. It was actually our second attempt because the first trip was cancelled due to very poor weather. Some people might have been upset about having their trip cancelled but we very much appreciated their caution. Winds were gusting to 25 knots and it was very cold with high seas. Although we had to rebook our hotel and try again another day, it was worth it because the second time the weather was absolutely perfect. Lars and his deckhand were very professional and helpful during the entire trip. We kept 25 fish between the four of us (including 3 ling cod, one vermillion rockfish, two quillbacks, and many blue rockfish), but that number did not include the 10+ other fish that we caught but had to release because they were protected fish (canary rockfish and yellow rockfish). All in all it was a great trip and would do it again in a heartbeat. Dockside Charters gave us a great time and we would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a deep sea fishing experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank xeriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“They know their business!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Chartered with this company for a one hour whale watching excursion.There were two adults and three children (2, 13, 17) in our party. Fabulous time. We saw four whales. The staff was fun and friendly. The boat was clean inside and out. They truly know their business and genuinely care about the safety of their clients. Many thanks Dockside Charters, looking forward to seeing You soon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JKDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Charters also viewed

 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Dockside Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing