We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view and rooms”
Review of Channel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channel House
Ranked #2 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and rooms”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time at The Channel House Inn. The view from the Captain's Quarters was outstanding. A view of the channel in and out of the harbor so we could watch the boats, There was a jaccuzi on a private deck (with it's own seagull). Nice amenities for the room. Very friendly staff for the welcome and things to do and places to see. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    69
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
10
318
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Channel House on July 31st, 2013. I had lived in Depoe Bay 3Oyrs earlier and knew it was a class act. It continues to impress me. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the detail they give to the rooms and their guests. I would highly recommend it to any couple or individual. It is a quiet place where time is forgotten. The continental breakfast is much more than they state. It is filled with many types of fresh fruit. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kit k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The major draw of this hotel (B&B?) is it's phenomenal location right on mouth of the Depoe Bay boat harbor and the open ocean. Views of the rugged coast are outstanding, there is lots of activity offshore (whale watching is good), but best of all its position on the channel generates a continual flow of boat traffic, which is more interesting than normal given the care each boat must make to successfully navigate out of the surf into the very narrow and turbulent waters. Most (all?) of the rooms have outdoor hot tubs. Ours was one of the less desirable rooms (#9 Spouting Horn Room), but was just fine (except for the bed post that it was near impossible not to run into). We had plenty of privacy to use the hot tub, the fire place worked great (still was necessary for while even in July given the cool ocean breeze), and the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was pretty fair (Continental - cereal, rolls, toast, juice, etc), and the folks that work there were warm, welcoming and nice to deal with. A bit pricey, but well worth it for the location.

Room Tip: Upper floor, right on corner of ocean front and channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Inn has a spectacular view and is situated on top of a truly hair raising harbor inlet. We had a nice outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the ocean from which we drank cold wine and soaked until we turned into prunes. This would be a five star spot except for the dated room interior.

An unexpected bonus was the piano bar down the block where Michael, the Thursday through Sunday performer, croons classic hits in his fantastic Polynesian accent. You can't make this stuff up.

Got to it.

Room Tip: #2, the Captian's Quarters (or something like that) was great. Spacious, fantastic view, seclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Pay the extra and get one of the upper rooms. You won't regret it! Outstanding views (yes you can see the light pole which holds up the channel lights - worse in one of the lower smaller rooms). Entertaining with boats coming and going, and whales hanging out in close to shore. One visited us during breakfast. The room (crows nest) was fantastic! Super clean, nice amenities, well maintained, excellent shower. The hot tub on the deck was brilliant, even in the cold night pacific wind. We left the sliding doors open all night and slept to the wonderful sound of waves crashing on the rocks below. The breakfast was really good for a continental type breakfast, and the staff was super friendly. The room was pricey, but I feel it was completely worth it. Everything about this place just made us happy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valkraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent a delightful weekend in Suite 3 which is closest to the channel leading from Depoe Bay to the Pacific. Watched the boats come and go and a pod of 3 whales in the bay. The breakfasts featured fresh baked pastries, ripe strawberries and blueberries, as well as a variety of cereals and other standard breakfast items, all enjoyed in a breakfast room with a front row seat on Depoe Bay. The staff was extremely helpful with dining reservations.. The rooms are bright, well stocked and immaculate. They have a Jaccuzzi tub on the deck. The only down- side are the boats heading out at 4AM. A great place to enjoy the Oregon coast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHSalem_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Briefly, the staff, Sara and Elliott, were amazing and took care of our every need, the room was lovely and perfect for us, the breakfast was homemade and plentiful, not your typical cereal in a cylinder and tiny pancakes but a wonderful variety of homemade items, our room, The Aft room was lush and beautiful. For more detailed information, read on...

First you are greeted by the friendly front office staff, Sara and Elliott. They were very willing to go out of there way to make our experience the best it could be. Great advice from Sara assured we didn't waste a moment of our vacation. The room was big and I noticed another review mentioned hitting their leg on the bed. That wasn't due to the size of the room and we solved it simply by tucking the comforter behind the footboard so we could see the post.
Our room was a partial ocean view but really we could see it quite well. There was a quaint dining area in the room with a refrigerator and coffee maker. The hotel was stocked with great movies and Direct TV, though we barely spent time in the room because we were out walking along the main shopping street and along the ocean. The one down side, which wasn't a fault of the hotel, was that I was unaware the Oregon coastline was mostly rocky with cliffs. We had to drive a bit to get to a shoreline that was accessible. There wasn't one down side to this vacation and Sara and Elliott made sure we had the time of our lives!

Room Tip: The Aft room was mid range pricing and offered a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceangrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
346 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,293 reviews
11.6 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
818 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House

Property: Channel House
Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing