We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Channel House covers every need”
Review of Channel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channel House
Ranked #2 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, WA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Channel House covers every need”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at the Channel House. We decided on staying at the top in the Admirals suite. It was beautiful. The views were spectacular, the tub on the deck was very enjoyable too. Everything we could have wanted was there, wine glasses, romantic music on when we entered the room, great ammenities and very peaceful! We had dinner at Tidal Raves and I would recommend that you consider it. Be sure to make a reservation well ahead of your time in Depoe Bay. What a perfect evening we had! The breakfast was more wonderful than last time and the scenery from the breakfast room was beyond compare. We'll be heading back sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgeorgeVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    71
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
10
324
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

After a sleepless night due to some inconsiderate guests, Sarah volunteered the Bridge Suite to make our remaining two nights as comfortable as possible and boy were they. The room, the fireplace, tub, the breakfast, and the view. Don't forget the view. The binoculars helped spot the whale spouts and the waves crashing on the jetty were soothing. Depoe Bay is a great little town and a perfect location to explore Oregon's dramatic and endlessly beautiful central coast. The weekend was a birthday surprise from my wife and thanks to Sarah, perfect.

Room Tip: The Crows Nest was tiny but totally suitable (and affordable) for us since we like to be out and abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a return visit for my wife and I and we again were most pleased with our stay--the views--the breakfast--our walk out to Fogarty Beach.--One new experience was from a room on the second we were startled by white foam flying by the window. The weather did not warrant flying foam from the sea and then we realized that the guests above us were just having a great bubble bath in the hot tub and the foam was flying!!---Good evidence that your guests very much enjoy your hot tub experience-DOC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

OK, I am biased. You need to know this straight up. We love the Channel House. We have been visiting this B&B/Small Hotel since we drove VW bugs and it took us six months to pay the bill. But it was worth it. Romantic, scenery second to none, and a cozy feeling of privacy that is really comforting. We have stayed in The Bridge, Whale Watch, The Admiral's suite, and the Captain's Quarters previously. The Whale Watch is a long time favorite as the view when you wake up is so cool. But now on to our recent trip to the Cuckoo's Nest for the first time. The unit is #5 and is one of the most expensive topping out over 600.00 for a two night stay (Thurs-Friday). Was it worth it? Yes. Was it incredible? No. The room is fine, but the Channel House is needing some useful input. So, the positive is first:

Breakfast? Fantastic buffet breakfast. One of the best and I am in hotels every week all over the US. Really good job here.
The Room? Really a nice room........but (see below)
The View? Fantastic. Probably tough to beat it.
The Staff? Couldn't be any better. These folks are nice, and leave you to your privacy.

So why do I have to do the negative? Because at over 600.00 for two nights I would expect some attention to detail. It is all pretty minor, but someone has to say it. Here's the simple gripe list:
1. Bedroom: Bed is small, but nice. View from the bed is nice as well. But it could use a new model and topper.
2. Bedroom: The TV doesn't have it's own cable box or remote selection. Really? Seriously? Go into the living room to adjust a bedroom TV? After hot tub, darkness, wine......who cares? But we do wake up in the AM and coffee and lounging in bed watching the surf is pretty cool, but not when you can't even change a channel. Ridiculous for this kind of money.
3. Bedroom: Tried to close the slatted blinds. One of the slats was busted in half. Housekeeping didn't see this?
4. Bathroom: Kind of cute sink, but make up vanity in the closet is strange, and the washbasin is kind of "in the bedroom". Maybe a little redesign in the future?
5. Bathroom: Try hanging up a bathrobe? No hook, anywhere in toilet/shower area. Towel rack almost falling off wall. Remember this is over 600.00 for two nights.
6. Bathroom Shower: Two heads, one faucet. Interesting. Kind of works, but would be better if you could do a shower for two if you were so inclined with separate adjustment.
7. Bathroom Shower: Needs a toiletries shelf or two. Huge shower space, but you put your stuff on the floor?
8. Living Room: Pretty crappy electrician. Try hiring a pro who knows what they are doing and expand the outlets in the living room so you don't have to unplug the IPhone dock to use a PC. Need to dress up the Wiremold work, and expand out the convenience receptacles by the couch and dining room table.

Ok all done with the negatives. I am not disappointed in the #5 Cuckoo's Nest. But we noticed on our previous trip our old favorite place to be is showing some age, and probably because of the economy, it looks like the maintenance work is falling behind. To stay really cool, and really cute, you have to do the details. And that includes proper maintenance and conveniences at these kind of prices. Will we go again? Sure. We love it. But I had to write this because the owners need to fix some of what's wrong and keep it cool, or it might not be there in ours, and other's futures. That would be a tragedy in Depoe Bay and for all of us who don't ever want to see it disappear.

So, try it. Right now, we're going with the recommendation of Suite #1 and Suite #3 as favorites.

Room Tip: The Admiral's Suite and Whale Watch are still our favorites. Also, for a better economic deal, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What an awesome, awesome place. I can't wait to go back! The hot tub on the deck was the best ever, fresh water & no chlorine! The view from our room and the breakfast room were incredible. The breakfast was above my expectation. The only down side is the price. It is quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfschultz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight in the Admiral's Suite last night. Don't judge this book by its cover. I have never stayed in Depoe Bay and was certainly not expecting this hotel to be so gorgeous. Sarah at the front desk is a natural beauty and also really funny and hospitable. The suite is gorgeous but the kicker, the piece de resistance is the view. I don't know where else on the Oregon Coast there are rooms that seem to hover right over the ocean (sure it wouldn't be the place to be during a tsunami but I'm not gonna plan for that). The big jacuzzi tub on the deck was relaxing and romantic. The linens are lovely, great pillows and Temperpedic mattresses which are not my thing but still a good mattress (can you tell I have a bad back?)

I heartily recommend this little escape to anyone looking for a relaxing private time without the kids. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The Admiral's Suite is gorgeous and on the top floor. I loved the view and the roar of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our family visited from London September 2012 during a US road trip through Oregon and California. Depoe Bay was a delight, we had two rooms with breathtaking views that were equally clean and spacious. We were so comfortable and well looked after, and left reluctantly. We didn't see whales from the deck but never mind....We were given fabulous insider tips as to where to visit on our route through and couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indietraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
375 reviews
12.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
845 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House

Property: Channel House
Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing