We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spouting Hospitality!!”
Review of Channel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channel House
Ranked #3 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

While whale watching with Cap'n Dan "Booner" of the Mariner and a visit to Gracie's for great food and music have always been attractions in Depoe Bay at the Oregon Coast, for us, there is only one place to stay...Channel House Inn! With front-seat views of the Ocean and even the famous spouting horns from some rooms, the experience is exceptional from reservation to saying good-bye. The rooms are lovely, well-appointed and even offer freshly baked cookies and property manager Sarah, welcomes guests as if in her own home. We have visited the property in both the summer and the winter, and have been equally impressed. Sarah even remembers her guests after a year's absence, and makes one feel as though they are coming home! Really an exceptional value and a not-to-miss when visiting the Oregon Coast!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl_beall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 417 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was my second visit to the Channel House. We stayed at the Cuckoo's Nest and were impressed with the facilities' cleanliness, view and amenities. More importantly, the helpfulness of the staff was what topped the trip since I had a small medical emergency and they were more than helpful in finding the right doctors within minutes to help. Not to mention recommendations for restaurants which were always spot on and other small things like DVDs they recommended. It was so enjoyable we didn't want to leave! Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is the second trip we've made to the Channel House, both staying in the Captains Quarters (Room #2 on the third floor). Our room did stay warm, but we rather enjoyed having the sliding door open a bit to hear the wind and rain and rolling surf. The view is spectacular, and we find the overall accomodations and experience a joy. The location is great for walking through town and a short drive to beaches and hiking. Sarah J. has been at the front desk both times we have visted, and she consistenly gives us great service, plus fantastic restaurant advise. This year, she told us about SideDoor Cafe near Gleneden Beach, and Local Ocean in Newport. We tried both, and had above average experiences at each. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms overlook the channel and offer excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaT503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have stayed here several times mainly due to the location overlooking the incredibly narrow harbor entrance to Depoe Bay. If you are fortunate enough to be there when one of the Coast Guard boats enters the ocean through this extremely narrow channel, it is amazing. The view from our room looked over the harbor opening and pounding surf. The rooms heat is managed by opening your deck door, the heat from the gas fireplace overwhelms the room and it becomes impossible to manage without cool outside air. Beyond the location there has always been something lacking for me here. Perhaps it is an air of take it or leave it by the staff. No one is outwardly rude, but there never has been a feeling of warmth. I feel more like a customer, and less like a guest, and for the price I need a little more from the staff. (and I am not needy) The rooms are adequate, tv small with poor sound, but you go there to sit on the deck and be embraced by the smell and sound of the ocean. Breakfast is fine, but they could use a little more protein for my taste. Loaded with carbs and some fruit, that's it, your protein is a hard boiled egg. This hotel wins due to its location and view, could be very special with upgrades and personal charm, caring, and genuine politeness.

Room Tip: Ask not to stay on ground level as you get noise from the breakfast area in the morning. Also, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1oldmanriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've stayed at the Channel House twice and overall enjoyed both experiences. Both rooms (Admiral's Suite and Cuckoo's Nest) had nice accommodations, a fantastic continental breakfast each morning, and beautiful views and location.

The only downside was the connecting room in the Cuckoo's Nest. It has an adjoining room that can be opened if there are multiple couples staying together. We were staying in just the Cuckoo's Nest and not sharing, but the door between the two suites is VERY thin, so we heard everything from snoring to ... well, things we didn't need to hear. So, until they get thicker, more sound-proof doors, we won't be staying in the Cuckoo's Nest again. We do love the Channel House though and would be happy to stay in the Admiral's Suite again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adub83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely inn, great location, but our room was 80 degrees with the heat off and the fireplace off. We had to sleep with both sliding doors wide open to get the room down to 71 degrees, and this was in late October. The location right near the ocean is amazing, but not so amazing when loud waves are crashing all night long and you have to choose between unbearably hot or unbearably loud. When I mentioned it to the front desk that the entire hotel seemed really warm, they simply said "yeah, it's hot today." It was 50 degrees outside. The rooms are nice, the staff is nice, and the inn does give you luxuries like whirlpool tubs and wine, and we saw seals and pelicans. Would recommend if they can do something about the overall temperature. No need to roast everyone in the fall/winter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

In the past 12 or so years we have stayed at the Channel House (same room, Admiral's Suite) four times. It never disappoints and we always look forward to return trips, even going out of our way when traveling to Oregon to assure it is on our itinerary. It is not the fanciest place we have ever stayed, but it is oh-so-comfortable. The view of the harbor entrance is spectacular and the sound of the surf is with you the entire time. We always leave the sliding door open to let in the sea breeze and sounds. No whales this time, but we have seen them before. The breakfast is also excellent -- and way more than what a "continental" usually offers. Everyone is friendly and the entire inn is sparkling clean. We will return.

Room Tip: We love #1, the Admiral's Suite. Can't speak to the others. No elevator, though, so be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLM1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
377 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
377 reviews
12.1 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,417 reviews
12.4 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House

Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range: $189 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing