We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best whale visit ever!”

Whale Research EcoExcursions
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Gleneden Beach, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best whale visit ever!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Carey is a scientist studying the local grey whales and has become friends with all of them. Her museum explains a lot, and trips in her zodiac are always joy-filled. Her love for and wisdom about these great beings are life-changing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank coastal-rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    16
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our tour with Carrie and her dog Kida. It's a small boat, but not scary. Carrie is very knowledgeable, and Kida is just plain fun. She barks every time she sees a whale spout, and hangs over the edge of the boat until you're afraid she'll fall out. We saw California and Stellar Sea Lions, a Sunfish (funny looking thing) and several whales - pretty close, too! I would recommend this tour to anyone - it was just great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dogdazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Carrie was an awesome guide, incredibly knowledgeable about whales and extremely personable. We were able to see 5 whales and other wildlife. I highly recommend this to anyone, it's something you won't forget!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful trip”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Carrie is a fabulous teacher and committed to her work--and that her passengers have a great time, that they are informed and that they are safe and enjoy themselves. I went out twice and saw whales both times, the second time being the most extraordinary with two whales crossing in front of us. I understand that people are disappointed if they can't go out because of weather or if they don't see whales but both things are out of Carrie's control---safety comes first and she does what she can to help you see all that you can in the time you have. You should go prepared knowing that---and you get the opportunity to learn so much from her films, books and talk before you go. She cares that you are informed and that you understand what you are seeing. I loved the experience and so appreciate the care she puts into everything, including her research.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We came to Depoe Bay from Illinois in the hope of seeing whales and we were not disappointed. We went out with Carrie 4 times in 5 days and saw whales every time. She knows the resident whales so well that she recognizes and has named them. She never chases them, but brings the boat near areas where they are known to feed and often they will swim toward the boat. Carrie's preliminary talk and on going comments were very informative. In all our years of traveling, we truly believe this is the best money we have ever spent. Tom & Sue

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Research EcoExcursions also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Whale Research EcoExcursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing