We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The breath of a whale...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whale Research EcoExcursions

Whale Research EcoExcursions
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Plover, WI
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The breath of a whale...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a great experience for my son and I! It was his first gray whale siting up close. So close we could smell it's breath! Whew! Not good, but amazing to be that close. We only saw one whale but we hung out with it for over an hour, watching it spout and dive. It was very close. I only wish we had Carrie because she knows alot more about the whales and can even name them. The weather was sunny and we were warm even without the blankets provided. And the sea was calm which I appreciated as I sometimes get seasick.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chicacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    15
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic whale watching experience in Depoe Bay Oregon. Zodiac trips accompanied by a wonderful marine biologist Carrie. And Kita, the dog, goes too!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time around, better than the first!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just went on our second Whale Research EcoExcursion. The first time was about a year ago. Both times we got to be in Carrie Newell's boat. There is nothing like feeling her passion for her whales, that she knows by name. Today we actually called out to Comet and she kept coming closer and closer. It was amazing. We also saw a lot of Blanco, the male gigolo, as well.

I did get a tad bit seasick this time around, but felt fine the first time. I would much rather ride on these Zodiacs than the larger boats that looked like they were rocking & rolling in the swells.

This is something we will try to do every year, as we have a timeshare here in Depoe Bay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BizTraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
328 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Bit Cheated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The real selling point of this particular whale watching tour is having a whale biologist guiding your tours. We didn't get that experience as our captain freely admitted to knowing nothing about whales...but plenty about birds. The only "interaction" with the biologist was the pre-trip video. Given that intro I suspect if she is along the ride is very interesting. Asking the captain, during June he said about 7 in 10 trips sees whales so your odds of seeing something are good but the odds of not aren't insubstantial. We didnt see whales but we saw seals and sea lions. The boat skipper did a good job of navigating the waves and the tours supplies hats and gloves along with waterproof blankets. The ride wasn't very wet in terms of spray from the boat but there were rain squalls and it was cold and windy. The hats and gloves help and you want a good jacket. The ride in the front 2 seats was a bit uncomfortable in terms of motion sickness but the seats closer to the captain apparently have less motion to the,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun, Interesting and Successful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

A week ago we went on a whale watching trip with Whale Research EcoExcursions, saw a juvenile whale off the coast and learned a LOT about whales. Our captain was hilarious and informative. The Whale Center was very interesting . all in all a very very very good way to go whale watching.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marymo362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Research EcoExcursions also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Whale Research EcoExcursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing