We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy thai!”
Review of Thai Bay

Thai Bay
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just opened July 2011. Excellent food with a great view of the boats in the harbor.
US
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy thai!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food! Excellent cook, nice waitress. Decor very simple but food so great! Green curry excellent. The seafood coconut milk soup was out of this world. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    49
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've been twice, once for takeout and once to dine in. Great food with good flavor both times. Ordered fairly standard Thai - the lemongrass chicken pad thai, tom yum soup, pad mixed veggies, peanut sauce curry. I've had better Tom Yum elsewhere, but it also loses something to do as takeout than with the hot pot it usually comes in. Will definitely be my "go-to" thai in the area. Friendly staff, the waitress/ owner (?) even remembered me the second time I came in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurenkb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, get past the ambience, you won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a place you would walk right by, if you made your judgment from outside appearance. Even when you walk through the door, you might be tempted to turnaround, DON"T ! It is very clean, just lacks ambience if you make your judgment s on first impressions. This is some of the best Thai food you will have. It is FRESHLY made, good size portions, you will savor every bite. We had the Lemongrass chicken, peanut sauce was very tasty. Also had the Crying Tiger, tender, cooked to perfection and the hot sauce was just perfect. We will definitely return! Great choice! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoRoclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious Food. Beautiful View.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a restaurant to savor. If you want "fast food" go somewhere else. Each dish is made deliciously, to order. My friends and I had the Salad rolls, very fresh, bright flavors, crunchy and the chicken Satay. We then had Green curry with eggplant, medium hot, very tasty and rich. The peanut sauce is delicate and there is pepper jam on the table if you want to add heat. The person who served us was very friendly and nice. The view is to die for! You sit at a table and have sweeping views of Depoe Bay Harbor. Very nice. The salads are excellent and the sticky rice is truly addictive, so watch out! You can "add heat" to any of their dishes as per your taste. A nice place to take guests and friends. It's obvious that the chef takes great pride in his food. The tastes are delightful and complex.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waylonkalona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good, plus a view!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The window seats overlooking the harbor make this an unusual Thai experience. The food is very good, seems pretty authentic. We had fresh rolls, tom kah soup, mussamun chicken curry. All good. This is a great choice on the north central coast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank made_of_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Bay also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Thai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing