We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great price”
Review of Gracie's Sea Hag

Gracie's Sea Hag
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Depoe Bay
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Auburn, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, great price”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

After driving all day, we ate at the Sea Hag with another couple. The place is not fancy but was perfect for our situation. Split an order of garden salad (unusual with the addition of pickled beets & fresh peas), corn chowder (thick with a mild flavor of bacon) & 2-piece order of halibut fish & chips (halibut was OK) with my husband. Finished it off with some delicious Marionberry tart. We were stuffed afterward & our bill came out to $33!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkdqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    384
    156
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Having looked at he reviews we were slightly dubious about going there. We we were pleasantly surprised at the frienddly staff and good quality of food at a reasonable price. No problems!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent pub style food!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have extensive food allergies, so was stuck with eating dessert only, but it was delicious! Freshly made marionberry tart with local ice cream. Absolutely delicious! Those I was with enjoyed the sea food (clam chowder, shrimp salad, fish and chips, and the salad bar) and raved about it, particularly the clam chowder! Definitely a place we will go to again next time we're in Depoe Bay!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Declining Ratings!!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

On our visit here last year our rating was 5 stars, and would have been higher if allowed. What a difference a year makes!!!
This review is based solely on our visit the 2nd week of May 2013. However, I should mention we have discussed our experience with several other tourists and locals and the concurrent opinion is that the Sea Hag is fading fast.
Our group was excited to visit Gracie's after such great food on our visit last year. My wife raved about the fried clams to everyone she met for an entire year. This time, SO disappointing!! The clams were small and spongy with hardly a trace of taste, and the portions were sparse. 3 of us had the clams and all were truly disappointed. The battered cod was passable, but nothing to be ordered again. Lots of fries on the fish plate, and those we good and almost enough to balance the bland cod.
We visited right before dinner, and although 3 waiters available no one greeted us for a few minutes, and while our waitress gave us adequate service, we certainly expected more. She was busy talking to friends instead of checking on our table.
This place is not inexpensive, but one would go and take friends for the great food, service and atmosphere of a long established food destination. Dont know if new owners, new management or just a tired and aging establishment. I do know we won't be going back, and recommend our friends and readers of this review to stay away!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank largebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eating Out”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Dingy and musty. Expensive and not as great as advertised. Looked like it had not had a good cleaning for a long time. Waitress was very abrupt and was insulted when we asked what made this place such a hit. Imagine that. how about bragging it up??

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lorie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gracie's Sea Hag also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Gracie's Sea Hag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing