We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rexlaing Place”
Review of Inn at Arch Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Arch Rock
Ranked #3 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taylorsville, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rexlaing Place”
Reviewed February 27, 2008

As others have said, this is probably the best view and location in Deope Bay. Other inns and hotels are overlooking 101 or in the noisy harbor. I have also stayed at the Worldmark resort in the past as well, and actually enjoyed this equally, even without the full kitchen, much more romantic and cozy.

On this trip we were coming in from Crater Lakes in near the end of June by motorcycle. It rained on us all the way in along the coast for about 4 hours (hard) and we were drenched and cold. The staff was very accommodating and brought us extra towels without even asking once we were settled in.

Everyone at the inn was real nice, and made you feel at home. The vies are outstanding. We were in #7 and had a straight shot of the whole bay inlet area, a walk around indicated we had one of the better views, even over some of the larger units.

The only disappointing thing was it had a shower rather than a bath, which normally we don't care a whole lot, but would have been nice as we were a bit chilly from the ride to soak a bit.

Other than that, the location is great too, and quiet. In walking distance of town for some shopping and eats. All of the restaurants are great and the small town laid back charm is very pleasant and relaxing. No Walmarts here!, just a small block of businesses which all close early if the weather isn't perfect, so be prepared if shopping is your game. Not far from Lincoln City and Newport which have all those larger town creature comforts.

Depoe Bay in general is one of my favorite places to visit for some relaxation due to it's size and views.

Whale watching is a must while you are here, every time I have stayed I have been able to see whales FROM MY ROOM. but you really should take a charter out into the coastline for a real adventure and it only cost a few bones for an hour trip.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Not Much
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SafeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    69
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
52
164
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

It's all about the view. We stayed in room #3 on a Saturday night in January. This particular room, although it is on the ground floor, is bumped out farther than the rest of the inn. There is a corner window in the dining/kitchenette with a spectacular view of the bay and ocean. When we were there the tide was very high and the waves were really big crashing on the rocks below.
The kitchenette was tiny with about 2 sq ft of counterspace, but it did have all of the amenties. The bedrooms were small with a shared bathroom between them. Not luxurious, but the view made it worth it.

  • Liked — Amazing view
  • Disliked — worn and dated furnishings
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregonian4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

While planning our recent west coast trip, we noted Depoe Bay had their Annual Indian Style Salmon Bake planned for Sept 15th. So we decided to make a reservation to stay overnight in Depoe Bay and we chose The Inn at Arch Rock. It is very convenient to the shops and restaurants downtown and a short walk from the World's Smallest Harbor or the seawall. The best part however are the views from your room or the Inn's lawn.
Our room was nicely furnished however the bathroom was a bit small. Front desk personnel were attentive and personable despite having to handle multiple tasks at times. Nice contintental breakfast included

  • Liked — Whale watching and views
  • Disliked — Poor appearance of exterior room doors
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Caught a glimpse driving by and just had to check out the Inn at Arch Rock. Can't believe no-one else has written it up. Perched on a rock looking across the sweeping surf of Depoe Bay this was the highlight of my trip. The room was 20 feet from the cliff dropping down to the water and I slept to the sound of pounding surf. At $129 (reduced to $119) my room was a bit above the original budget but the charming staff wooed me with a half price 2nd night and I made the best judgement of the journey. Depoe Bay might be the best stop anyway for those seeking access to the center of the scenic coast and away from the big casino and surfshops centers. My room turned out to be a bedroom, a huge kitchen/sunroom looking out over the water and a decent if dated bathroom. Indeed the rooms are a tad out of date but it had everything one needed and was actually a bargain. The staff were superb..even down to allowing me to sneak on the office computer to check emails. And ...a full sized coffee pot with extra coffee provided. Now that's living!! Watch the whales and the surf, drinking plenty of coffee.

  • Liked — Fantastic setting and views...great helpful staff
  • Disliked — Older style bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

This inn was our best experience of a trip down the Oregon coast. We had a two-bedroom unit with a full kitchen and dining area, and it more than met expectations. Nicely maintained grounds; comfortable beds and furniture; good reading chairs/lamps; well-appointed kitchen; better than average breakfast; incomparable views from the cliffs outside and through huge windows (one wraparound, with binoculars!). Front desk and cleaning staff excellent. Quiet most of the time. One complaint: People with arthritis or any movement difficulties must navigate the front steps carefully. We will return; this was worth every penny of the higher-than-average price.

  • Liked — Comfort of rooms; the view
  • Disliked — Somewhat scary front steps
  • Tips/Secrets — This inn is worth stretching your budget.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodEdit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
2.1 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
356 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
12.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,015 reviews
8.0 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Arch Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Arch Rock

Property: Inn at Arch Rock
Address: 70 NW Sunset St, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-1971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Arch Rock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely inn located on Depoe Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Arch Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Arch Rock Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing