We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whale Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whale Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Salem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Whale Cove is a beautiful place to stay. The view is one of the best on the Oregon Coast. The rooms are very nice as well. Would I return, yes, but for the price I would certainly consider other rentals as well, but its worth spending time here at least once. The negatives, room 103 has virtually no privacy on the deck, so if you choose to use the soaking tub, you can waive to everyone that comes out on the public deck. We asked to be moved, since we stayed for 3 nights, but they said that was not possible. However, later that evening when I was in the lobby they offered a $795 suite for $395 to a late arriving couple just dropping by. Granted, it may have only been available one night, I am not sure, but they could have offered it to us. We only went to breakfast at the Inn one day, our second day, breakfast is served from 8:00 am to 9:30 am, we arrived at 9:00 am, they were already out of their main course. Another guest mentioned to the staff "It's only 9:00 am and you are already out?", I agree with her, for the price of staying there and the limited number of rooms and guest, they should not run out of their main course. The good news is they offered to scramble some eggs, which we appreciated. The staff overall was very friendly. The things I mention are little things, with the exception of no privacy on the deck, but they really can'f fix it. Again, would I return, absolutely!

Room Tip: Don't choose the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    23
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
278
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent two nights at Whale Cove Inn. Unbelievable experience. The staff was superb, the service was impeccable, and the room was first class. And the hot tub on the deck was amazing. At night as the sunset over the ocean, and then again as the sun rose the next morning, our stay could not have been better. And don't miss the breakfast, and dinner at Justin's!

This is a definitely one of those bucket list items!

We look forward to our next return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great view, top-notch room, super-comfortable bed, incredible outdoor hot tub, terrific service. Great home-like feel. Very quiet. Superb breakfast included. Beautiful area. Not to be missed if you're ever in the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place was very large, with an amazing view and a large terrace. The bathroom was large with beautiful granite countertops and a shower with rain head, and showerheads that spray in all directions! Made us laugh….The bed was a Tempurpedic and was very comfortable. They had DVDs to borrow. Internet was spotty in the rooms. And there was a Keurig coffeemaker too! (They only had the dark roast, so bring some others if you want it). The front desk people bent over backwards to be helpful and offer good suggestions for dining and seeing the local area. We were very comfortable there immediately.
They offer a "continental breakfast" but its way more than that, and its served from 8am to 9:30am (ouch). It was really good. There is no lunch onsite, and the restaurant onsite for dinner is Beck's, highly rated, yet…..see my review of that. We were sorely disappointed.
All in all, it was an awesome place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel on our 28th anniversary, like many guests before us come to this expensive Hotel expecting five star service for $400.00 per night. When we arrived to the Hotel we waited for five minutes at the front desk with no one there, finally I called attention to a person in the kitchen asking if someone was available to help us, finally she called the hostess who was helping another couple find their way to their room. We wore greeted to a room that was hot and muggy, we wore told that there was no air condition so we should keep the doors to the patio open to help circulate air. Outside temperature was close to 80F. The view is breathtaking from the balcony!! but that's where the excitement ends. My wife could not fall asleep till 2am due to lack of air condition, I turned on two bathroom fans and kept them running all night to help circulate air. On the deck the lower cable was missing (code violation) not safe if you had a child with you, could easily slip on wet tile and fall down from third floor. I tried using hot tub on the deck but the water was luke warm coming out of loose spout, sitting in the cold tub I could not help but notice the spider webs on the balcony railing. This room has a fridge with 2 bottles of Costco water. In the morning I took a shower in a 8'x8' room with rain shower that was clogged up from hard water and was spraying sideways, the other control valve had a handle fall off as I was trying to adjust temperature. Toilet door was painted by someone who was too lazy to mask the glass door or hinges, sloppy painting reminded me of a chip hotel in Cabos. I never write reviews to Hotels but decided to do it this time, I don't know who gives five stars to this hotel besides the people that work there, don't stay there unless you can get a room for $80.00.

Room Tip: Keep driving past this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GRB52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Superb cozy location, lovely spacious and clean accommodations, and a delightfully charming host - Sarah. We had an exceedingly pleasant stay! However, beyond the plastic plants in the room, the coastal entropy seems to be gaining the upper hand. Water dripped from our porch light fixture onto the patio. In the public areas there are various paint bubbles, skewed cable guides, broken safety cable, cracked cement, rusted gates, dying plants, and so forth. Oh, and an embossed envelope on our bedside table with a solicitation for a gratuity for housekeeping wasn't so nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredbo, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Staying at various locations all around the south coast, this was by far my best experience. Both Terry and Peter are incredibly gracious hosts and offer 5 star service. Terry invited me to join him for dinner and cooked up an incredible meal and we chatted like old mates. The B&B beats any hotel with beautiful decor and surrounds. Can't wait to make my next booking.

Room Tip: Both rooms are wonderful - the business travel doesn't need the spa bath perhaps :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
10.1 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
14.1 mi away
Beachfront Manor Hotel
Beachfront Manor Hotel
#20 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Cove Inn

Property: Whale Cove Inn
Address: 2345 US-101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mile south of Depoe Bay Oregon on the winding, magical Coast Highway, a new refuge of romance on the rugged Oregon Coast has been born: The Whale Cove Inn, one of North America and Central Oregon Coast's most memorable and exclusive luxury boutique inns. Perched high above the serene expanse of Whale Cove, a pristine marine refuge, the Whale Cove Inn cocoons its guests in luxury - from king-sized Tempur-Pedic beds to outdoor Jacuzzis on private decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Whale Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Cove Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing