We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views!!!”
Review of Whale Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whale Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I could have just relaxed all day in the huge, beautiful suite and watched the waves crash into the cove. It really was one of the most amazing views I have ever witnessed! We loved the soaking tub on the deck. The shower and bed will spoil anyone! Breakfast was a nice added touch and we enjoyed it very much! We only wish we would have had more time to enjoy the room and views!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    24
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
291
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niwot, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've been driving by Whale Cove for forty years, always curious to see the cove. The best way is to stay at the Whale Cove Inn. I was not disappointed. The setting is magical, the room was outstanding and the staff was wonderful. I loved waking up to the sound of the surf outside our sliding glass doors. The price of our room was a stretch but worth every dollar. Staying at the Whale Cove Inn was on my bucket list. Now I smile as I check this wish off and know my husband and I will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Found the Whale Cove Inn on the internet and I'm happy I did. This is a luxury B&B with wonderful accomodations, views, and breakfast. Very secluded, and you can miss it on the road if you do not know where you are going. I would highly recommend this if you are traveling up the coast. It is worth, at least a one night stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have view of the cove, so I'm sure they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our suite was huge, the view of Whale Cove Harbor was magazine-ready, and the staff were lovely and helpful. (Read my review about the on-site restaurant Beck elsewhere.). We were so comfortable and relaxed here. Even when our whale watch cruise was cancelled because of rough seas, we didn't mind as we could stay in our suite and watch the Ryder Cup on a clear, HD TV, looking out at the waves and the harbor whenever we wanted.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the Whale Cove Harbor, but the larger rooms have huge balconies, hot tubs, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood Beach, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Whale Cove Inn back in August, the room was top notch as well as the view. Everyone we encountered was professional, friendly and accomodating. The food was so fresh and tasted amazing. This is the type of place you can't wait to go back to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Whale Cove Inn for just one night, and I wish I could have stayed longer! It felt like being at home - in a REALLY nice home! :) I went zipping by in my search for a room for the night, on a fast and furious road-trip and I slammed on the breaks, turned around and went back to see what this place had to offer. So it must have curb appeal! I was intrigued. Kind of a modern - meets - quaint type of feel. There was so much history to take in, with all of the retro photos of the original buildings adorning the walls, but the new Inn is fresh and clean and modern and comfortable. I also felt very safe here. The front doors automatically locked at night, and it gave me a feeling of being in a "Safe harbour" as it were. :)

When I walked inside, I was sold - immediately! The atmosphere was elegant but cozy, with comfy seating areas and fires burning. There were delicious aromas coming from the open dining area of Restaurant Beck, and the desk staff (just one girl, actually, and her name escapes me), was friendly and very comfortable to deal with. She showed me the room type and I checked in right away, looking forward to a relaxing evening after a long drive.

The list of "positives" about this property are waaaay too long to fit into a review, but I'll try to cover a few things.

The girl (wish I could remember her name) guided me through all aspects of the amenities that the room offered, quickly and efficiently. How to work the gas fireplace, the jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the bay, the kitchenette, the rain shower...

There were chocolates on my pillow, beautiful, luxurious, complimentary toiletries. If you forgot to pack anything - this is the place to stay! They spare no details in looking after their guests!

There were three bottles of wine on the counter of the wet bar, and I have to tell you that I really enjoyed the one that I chose. They were VERY reasonably priced, and I was so happy not to have to find a liquor store at that point in the day (I really wanted a glass of wine).

I watched two grey whales swim past the cove, seconds after I closed the door to my suite (and when I say suite, I really mean it - this is not just a room! A person could live there!) I also woke up to hundreds of seals sunning themselves on the rocks adjacent to the property, shore birds singing and swooping past my balcony, and a lovely sunrise painting the sky.

But I'm just getting to the good part! Breakfast! When you're on a road-trip, breakfast is critical, and I was well looked after in that department. Andrea (I bow at her feet) was just amazing. She made me such a lovely breakfast, and the service was impeccable and the presentation of the food was so pretty and EVERYTHING tasted wonderful! I ate every bite of everything she gave me! Didn't need lunch or dinner! I wanted to bring Andrea with me for the rest of my trip! She's an absolute delight and such an asset to this business. I am attaching photos of my "buffet" even though it wasn't even a buffet (well, there was a small fresh food buffet as well, now that I think of it... fresh berries, cottage cheese, yogurt, fresh granola and churned butter. "Fresh" is the key word here.

So. If you are passing through the Depoe Bay area, and will require accommodations for one or more nights, stay at the Whale Cove Inn (but make sure Andrea is scheduled to work while you're there, first). This property is top-drawer, but the human aspect of things is really key to a solo traveller. It was one of the times on my long journey, that I didn't feel alone. :)

Room Tip: With the location of the Inn, right on the cove, I can't imagine any of the rooms being less tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Whale Cove Inn. The room was beautiful. The view was incredible. The food was wonderful. We were actually there in connection with a business meeting, but what a pleasant surprise to find such beauty. My father recently died, and it was such a gift to enjoy the unbelievable ocean view and just walk the grounds of the Inn. A great place to BREATH.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette6505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
10.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
358 reviews
14.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
845 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
281 reviews
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Cove Inn

Property: Whale Cove Inn
Address: 2345 US-101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mile south of Depoe Bay Oregon on the winding, magical Coast Highway, a new refuge of romance on the rugged Oregon Coast has been born: The Whale Cove Inn, one of North America and Central Oregon Coast's most memorable and exclusive luxury boutique inns. Perched high above the serene expanse of Whale Cove, a pristine marine refuge, the Whale Cove Inn cocoons its guests in luxury - from king-sized Tempur-Pedic beds to outdoor Jacuzzis on private decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whale Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Cove Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing