We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”
Review of Whale Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whale Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Nestled on Whale Cove, this modern, very stylish accomodation is easily the diamond of the Oregon Central Coast. Located between Lincoln City (Rt. 18) and Newport, you can expect fabulous views of both the bay and the ocean. Whales are often seen as well as a resident population of seals. The suites are first class, with a tub on the balcony. There are both one and two bedroom suites, ideal for families. To top things off, Restaurant Beck is located on the main level. So those staying get the best hotel accomodations and the finest restaurant on the coast. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mssrfoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 374 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at this fabulous place and would recommend it always!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stopped here driving by and would have stayed but they don't take pets. It is very thoughtfully done down to the private outdoor jacuzzi on the balcony to the Temperpedic kingsize beds. The restaurant is chef owned and compliments the accommodations perfectly. The view of Whale Cove is incredible. Though this is right on Hwy 101 you cannot hear the traffic inside. Sara was incredibly helpful. Had they accepted dogs. we would have been there!

Room Tip: any room would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneOak6496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at The Whale Cove Inn this past summer and my wife and I were very impressed. The building is very modern and hip and one can get the impression that the service might be "cold" in nature. The good folks at The Whale Cove Inn couldn't be nicer and more accommodating. The rooms were incredible and the food was even better. The Whale Cove Inn is a must stay on your journey down the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremydpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Wonderful inn with a wonderfule location. Resataurant was really good with inventive cuisine but menu did not change often enough. Sara, inn keeper, was really helpfull with all details from directions to dinner to help with choosing activities for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy78015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

There is no doubt that this setting is breathtaking! However, for this price of $500 per night, there should be at the very least a full breakfast, not just a croissant, juice and coffee. We also tried the restaurant for dinner, lovely food but then discovered we could not charge it to the room, had to return to the room for credit card. First four wines we ordered were unavailable, the waitress then brought us the list, we then only had two choices of the year we were interested in. We were told that the summer had been busy and they did not have time to update the list. We were there mid October! Select Registry should re-evaluate this property for inclusion in their guide. Definitely overpriced for what is offered to guests!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

On arriving at the whale cove inn, the location and scenery knocked your socks off.
The price we were paying was worth the view alone. We bought new socks.
The staff were personable (sarah) and friendly, with a hands-on attitude.
The room was more than confortable and spacious. The decor was endearing.
The view from the room lent itself to over 50 photos.
The accessories in the room provided all necessities in a hotel suite.
Access in and out of the hotel was easy and the surrounding communities had their own personalities.
Overall food availabilities were exceptional.
Everyone in the surrounds were exceptionally friendly.
Definitely the place to go to finish off the west coast of the USA.

Room Tip: all lagoon-view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toulouse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
10.6 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
10 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
921 reviews
10.1 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
7.5 mi away
Salishan Spa and Golf Resort
Salishan Spa and Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Gleneden Beach
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Cove Inn

Address: 2345 Us-101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range: $377 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mile south of Depoe Bay Oregon on the winding, magical Coast Highway, a new refuge of romance on the rugged Oregon Coast has been born: The Whale Cove Inn, one of North America and Central Oregon Coast's most memorable and exclusive luxury boutique inns. Perched high above the serene expanse of Whale Cove, a pristine marine refuge, the Whale Cove Inn cocoons its guests in luxury - from king-sized Tempur-Pedic beds to outdoor Jacuzzis on private decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whale Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Cove Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing