We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sheets! Great breakfast!”
Review of Wine Country Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wine Country Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wonderful, charming spot! Nice hostess, great breakfast! Interesting other guests! Enjoyed the hot tub. The sheets were amazing, made in Oregon and you can order them from inn for your home. We just love sleeping on them, so comfortable.
Lots of common areas to relax in and access to grounds, barns, horses and dogs. Very beautiful and bucolic setting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrjaxfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wineDayton, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

If we didn't know any better it sounded like you were writing an ad for staying at a B&B instead of a hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We get many comments on the comfort of the sheets as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 308 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had never been to the Willamette Valley and decided to fly over for the weekend to Portland and stay a night at the Wine Country Farm. How I wish we had stayed here the whole weekend!
Don't get me wrong, Portland was fully of hustle and bustle - a lot of interesting people and places but the valley was very tranquil. If you want a relaxing time, wine country and beautiful outdoor sights I highly recommend this place. We hope to stay here again in the future.

We booked the Willamette room in mid-September and loved it. I has AMAZING views and is on the East side of the home with a separate entry and fairly private balcony. The windows have nice wooden plantation shutters inside so you can darken the room nicely for sleeping. It was quiet, the bed was VERY comfortable and we just enjoyed ourselves very much. We even used FaceTime to show our folks how nice it is - using the free WiFi.

The place was booked and all of the guests seemed to be thoroughly enjoying their stay, including the wedding party. We enjoyed visiting with another couple over breakfast which was very good, hearty stuff. All of it was very flavorful and fresh with generous servings available. If you are a vegetarian I would let them know in advance but growing up with a vegetarian parent I know that in a pinch you would have no problem eating what was available on the day we were there. The coffee was also good.

There are guided horseback tours but we did not have time to take one so we went to the barn and paddock to see the horses and had the privilege to see a mother with her foal out with the other horses for the very first time. It was really special. We were able to pet both of them and several other horses. If you want to feed the horses a carrot just ask the staff to show you how to do so safely and they will show you where to find them.

This location is very central to many of the best wineries in the valley and we even happened upon the place while we were out visiting wineries. It does appear on a good GPS unit so it isnt hard to locate. the staff gave us good tips on places to eat based on what we wanted and made us feel welcome. I noted that some reviewers felt they were not receiving undivided attention but having stayed at numerous B&Bs before it is good to realize they are often family operations and there may be periods where a lot is happening all at once. It was clear that the staff were doing everything possible to make us comfortable and all of the guests were having a lovely time.

This is a lovely old (probably historic) farm home turned B & B and we just simply enjoyed the atmosphere. We walked all through the vineyard, the barn, the gardens and so on. There was an afternoon wine tasting as well. Overall - Great place and hope to visit again in the future for more than one night!

Room Tip: We loved the Willamette Room. It is very private and has it's own patio overlooking the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USNLTwoHearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wineDayton, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Wine Country Farm for your first visit to the Willamette Valley. It sounds like you had a great time visiting with your fellow travelers! The Willamette room is a nice little "secret" here at the farm! We are always happy to hear that our friends had a great time, enjoyed their stay, and look forward for their return visit! Thank you for your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and enjoyed our stay. The location is a big selling point---right in the midst of vineyards at the top of one of the Dundee Hills. From the porch (and some of the rooms), the views of the Willamette Valley are fabulous. The farm is a small family winery with a tasting room, and inn guests get a free tasting. So you really get the whole wine country experience. It's not the most luxurious place, but more what you'd expect from a nice farm house (and this actually tends to enhance the experience). Overall, we found it to be a decent value considering the very high prices charged by some other B & B's in the wine country.

Our Cascade Room faced the back of the property, but was spacious and well furnished, with a king bed. It had a small bathroom and very basic stall shower. Note that the rooms do not have air conditioning, so in the summer this might be an issue, but it was pleasantly cool at night when we were there. Also, the bedside lighting was not very good (a problem in many B & B's we've stayed at). There's no in-room TV, but a large TV in a common area. Staff were friendly, especially at breakfast. Breakfast is served family style (everything gets passed around) with a multitude of offerings, and was very good. Also note that the proprietors live offsite (but close by), and are gone after 6:30 or so.

The B & B is only 5-10 minutes from several excellent restaurants like the Joel Palmer House.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley may be worth the extra price, as the views are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wineDayton, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We will look at the lighting situation in the Cascade room. We try to give everyone a good experience while they stay at Wine Country Farm. The owner lives off site, But there is actually 5 of us here that live on the property and work at the B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After a long day of wine tasting in Oregon’s Willamette Valley, we thought the perfect place to lay our head at night would be the Wine Country Farm. This B&B has an ideal location and beautiful, expansive views of the vineyards. The owner was professional and hospitable, offering us a free wine tasting.

We stayed in the Yamhill Room; a smaller room with King bed and view of the parking area. The room brought back memories of my Grandmother’s house; mismatched furniture and 1950s kitschy décor jammed into a petite sized room. There’s nothing wrong with that, however, the King size bed, plus all the furniture was a little tight in proportion to the size of the room. Otherwise, the room was pleasant and comfortable.

The attached bathroom could use some improvement. The showerhead needed repair or replacing. It was a bit challenging to shower with only 4 streams of water which squirt every direction except on your body. In addition, the drain was clogged and left us standing in an ankle deep pool of water. Some Drano and Lime Away might easily resolve these issues, or just spending a few dollars for a new showerhead and a plumber to fix the clogged drain. The vanity & lighting was beginning to show its age from years of use and is ready for a facelift or replacement.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty; much more ample than we expected. We didn’t leave hungry. The woman preparing the food was very friendly.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay, but I’m glad we didn’t book more than one night. In order for this B&B to live up to its reputation in the “1,000 Places To See Before You Die” book, the owners need to give the place a little TLC and do a few minor repairs, updates where necessary, and re-think room configurations & décor to bring this property back up to it's full potential.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the larger rooms with the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_DINKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wineDayton, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will take all of your comments under advisement. We are happy that you had an overall enjoyable experience at Wine Country Farm. Reviews help us to make the necessary changes to our facilities so that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I discovered Wine Country Farm several years ago. We would not stay any place else. The owners are wonderful and make our stay fabulous. The breakfast is so great with an incredible variety of items. The rooms ( I think we have been in all of them at one time or another) are very comfortable and have views of the vineyards and sunsets. A little bit of everything. Our trip this fall was perfect timing to watch the harvesting of some of the grapes. The location is central to many vineyards and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmajudy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wineDayton, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for the return visits and kind words. So glad you were able to see the harvest! Sometimes we harvest at the spur of the moment! Looking forward for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a very nice B and B located in the wine country of Oregon. The facilities were clean and very comfortable, the garden gorgeous and the location perfect for exploring the region. Perched on a hill, it overlooked rolliing vineyards. It offered wine tasting every afternoon as well as horse back rides to other vineyards in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wineDayton, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Perched on top of the hill gives everyone good views from this area. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay here. The horseback rides are a favorite for many guests. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at Wine Country Farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We found this b&b to be quite nice with wonderful views and a delicious hot breakfast. The rooms were comfortable with good amenities. We felt that the cost of the rooms were a bit pricey for this area but OK. We would definitely stay at this b&b again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wineDayton, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We can't take credit for the views! But, our staff tries to take care of all of our guests needs as much as we can. Our cooks follow recipes that have been delighting our guests for a long time! Thank you for your nice words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
7.4 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
332 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
5.8 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
22.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
17.6 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Farm

Address: 6855 NE Breyman Orchards Rd, Dayton, OR 97114-7220
Location: United States > Oregon > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wine Country Farm Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of the Oregon wine industry atop one of the most stunning vineyard covered hills in the Northwest. With uninterrupted views of the Willamette Valley, Cascade Mountains & all the way to Oregon's capital, Salem the views can simply not be beat! Perfect for a romantic retreat, girl's getaway or city escape, come enjoy all Wine Country Farm has to offer. With an onsite winery, you'll be welcomed at check-in with a complimentary wine tasting and glass of wine as you bask in afternoon light and stroll through our 9 acres of estate vineyards. Walking distance to 6 of our premier Wine Making Neighbors, enjoy tasting excursions car free. Horseback riding may be more your speed so feel free to reserve an Equestrian Wine Tour, travelling from Winery to Winery on a magnificent Tennesee Walking Horse.Onsite massage is also available to help you relax to the max. Take a dip in the hot tub or sit in the sauna. Perfect for a picnic or Provincial style dinner al fresco, we can recommend some great local shops, restaurants and sites you should be sure not to miss!Join us for an unforgettable Wine Country Experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wine Country Farm Dayton
Wine Country Farm Hotel Dayton
Wine Country Farm Oregon/Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing