We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best place in wine country”
Review of Wine Country Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wine Country Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We planned 3 nights at the Wine Country Farm. One week before, I called as asked if 3 nights were too much, as we wanted to spend two days on the coast during those 3 nights. and we would have to drive to the coast and go back to the farm each night. Jessica, one of the employees insisted that we should stay in wine country and take it from there. We arrived at our suite, Oregon suite, which looked lovely. We had a great view of the valley. There were a few problems though. Our screen door would not slide whatsoever, and the owner told us in no uncertain terms to keep the door closed at all times. There was a cat belonging to the farm that hung out on our balcony, and we were not to let the cat in. We had to call to get the screen door sprayed. Why this was not done before hand, I have no clue. We also had lamps by our bed, each with four bulbs. Since we like to read, my husband had one working bulb and I had two. We needed to call to get bulbs. Also upon seeing the suite with the owner, I mentioned that we had no window covering whatsoever for our slider, so we would have total light in the room. My husband said it wouldn't be a problem but I said it would. At nightime, we basically had to take a blanket out of the closet and hang it between the two rods holding a folder sheer curtain. I had to stand on an ottomen each night to do this. There were also bees in top of the tree at our balcony, which basically led my husband away from the balcony, which was a shame, and he had to find other places to sit and read. The second day, after they came in and made the bed, which is all they did, I noticed we had a half roll of toilet paper. Unacceptable and surprising. As a matter of fact, I left a washcloth on the floor and noticed that they picked up the same washcloth and hung it back up. Each of the three or so times we went to talk to Joan, the owner about our planned day, there was always someone in front of us and someone behind us, As a matter of fact, she complained that day that she missed her assistant Jessica, as it was her day off. After reading some reviews, many people agreed that Joan needs more help. After paying 225 a night, concierge service is most important, and we always felt rushed while talking to her. As a matter of fact, when the phone rang a few times, she left during the conversating to answer the phone. We just planned everything to do on our own. By the third morning,we decided to check out. We told Joan the night before. She told us we could not get a refund, which we understood but she would try to rent our room. We checked out around 10:30 am. By 5 pm, we checked the website, and our room said "booked" for the night. I called Joan to see if our room was booked, and then we could get a refund. She seems flustered and said that the room was booked to us and paid by us. By not taking it off the website, no one could check online and see if our room was available for the night. She agued of course and insisted that no one would check the website and would call instead if they wanted to rent a room. Huh? No one travels anymore without blackberry etc and most people I know use the internet to book travel. also, at 5 pm, we got an email that our reservation was cancelled, after we had paid and checked out more than 6 hours before. As I told Joan, there were a few "missteps" here and we were unhappy with our stay. She insisted rules were rules. I don't like to write unsavory reviews on Trip but that's what the sight is for. We felt that for the service we received, we overpaid, and would have liked to check out one day early. It's not like booking a week and then trying to get out of an entire stay. We feel she should have been more gracious with her "rules".

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenNewJersey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wineDayton, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

At Wine Country Farm, we pride ourselves on three main values. Customer Service, Sustainability & Genuine Hospitality.

Always keeping green living in mind, extra toilet paper rolls are kept on hand in the restrooms and as a result, half rolls are never wasted. We love the land, live in harmony with it and make a conscious effort to keep our waste to a minimum. We also implement this with our linens and towels, stating to guests at check-in that fresh towels will be replaced only if placed in the tub during room changes or requested with our office.

With all of our wines being produced organically and priding ourselves on our pristine flowers, indigenous plants and manicured landscaping, bees tend to be a natural & welcomed addition to daily life in the country. Without their help in pollinating our plants, our grounds would not be in the condition they are.

More often than not, we have guests staying with us for upwards of 5 & 6 days, so when Miss Ellen called wanting to know if there was really enough to do in the wine country for the duration of their stay, our staff simply shared this with her. Even that day, we had 2 guests wanting to extend their visit for an extra night and luckily, we had just one extra room to accommodate them.

Although we treat all of our guests with courtesy & hospitality, every now and again, you get a set that just cannot be satisfied. We are terribly sorry that they did not enjoy their stay with us or here in Oregon. Unfortunately their early departure was not in line with our 7 day cancellation policy, to which they were advised and with a full house over that time, we were unable to make an exception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Wine Country Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 303 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

There is not enough I can say that would do justice to how amazing our wedding was here in August of this year. The view was breathtaking and the staff was courteous and helpful. We were able to have our entire bridal party stay in the nine rooms of this beautiful B&B the night of the wedding and they couldn't stop saying what a great time they had. My husband and I came back for breakfast the next morning and the food was fantastic! Crisp waffles with fresh berries and whipped cream, hot scrambled eggs and sausage, as well as fresh coffee and orange juice was the perfect start to our married lives and spend some time with the bridal party. If you're looking to have the most perfect outdoor wedding in Oregon's wine country, this is the place to do it!!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank MLomax813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapalomagirl, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We were so thrilled to help the two of you start your lives together!

Your decorations, guests and family all helped to make the event truly unforgettable and we can't thank you enough for choosing Wine Country Farm as your wedding destination.

We'd be thrilled to see you on your anniversaries for years and years to come!

Best wishes for a bright and blissful future - The Wine Country Farm Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This B & B is exceptional in every respect. It is surrounded by vineyards, stands on the top of a hill overlooking the surrounding country side, offers superior accomodations, has a full battery of guest services including massage and guided horseback riding to nearby winery tasting rooms, has very extensive grounds, has a tasting room on the premises, hot tub and sauna, offers a large and excellent breakfast, and has a hostess well acquainted with nearby attractions, restaurants and tourist facilities.
For accomodations while touring the northern Oregon wine country, this would be the location of choice. Within walking distance are five of the more noteworthy producers of pinot noir for which this region is justly well respected. Additionally, the spacious facilities lend themselves to group gatherings of as many as two to three hundred persons.
As to the horseback riding: the best stable horses and tack we have seen at any of the many guest ranches and riding operations we have used.
We were delighted. We will be back. You should give the Wine Country Farm first consideration if traveling to this part of Oregon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davide542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapalomagirl, Manager at Wine Country Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us, please be sure to let us know the next time you find yourself in Wine Country!

With Warmest Wishes- The Wine Country Farm Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We are so pleased with our stay at Joan Davenport's B & B. The grounds were absolutely amazing! Shortly after arriving, we enjoyed tasting the Armonea wines. Our room was one of the smallest but more than adequate and fairly priced. Clean room, great bed. The breakfasts were delicious and satisfying. If you are searching for gastronomic excellence, this may not be the place for you. However, we can't say enough good things about the grounds and the view. There are also at least 4 wineries in walking distance. If we have the fortune to return, we'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoosierfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our only regret is that we did not have more time at the Wine Country Farm. Next visit we will stay longer! The room was large and comfortable. The grounds were beautiful. The neighborhood walk was perfect. The breakfast was over the top. Joan is a gracious and generous host. Our new Oregon destination is Wine Country Farm!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Beautiful setting, great views, excellent rooms and breakfasts, and the owner and staff are delightful (as are the dogs and horses!). Lots to do or just relax on one of the lovely patios. Would always stay here when in the area.

Room Tip: Alll rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smthibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

What a great spot to spend the night after a day of wine tasting. The views were amazing, as well as Joan's hospitality, the cozy bed, and the yummy breakfast...everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurapoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
5.9 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
7.4 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
2.1 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
The Vintages Trailer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Farm

Address: 6855 NE Breyman Orchards Rd, Dayton, OR 97114-7220
Location: United States > Oregon > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wine Country Farm Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of the Oregon wine industry atop one of the most stunning vineyard covered hills in the Northwest. With uninterrupted views of the Willamette Valley, Cascade Mountains & all the way to Oregon's capital, Salem the views can simply not be beat! Perfect for a romantic retreat, girl's getaway or city escape, come enjoy all Wine Country Farm has to offer. With an onsite winery, you'll be welcomed at check-in with a complimentary wine tasting and glass of wine as you bask in afternoon light and stroll through our 9 acres of estate vineyards. Walking distance to 6 of our premier Wine Making Neighbors, enjoy tasting excursions car free. Horseback riding may be more your speed so feel free to reserve an Equestrian Wine Tour, travelling from Winery to Winery on a magnificent Tennesee Walking Horse.Onsite massage is also available to help you relax to the max. Take a dip in the hot tub or sit in the sauna. Perfect for a picnic or Provincial style dinner al fresco, we can recommend some great local shops, restaurants and sites you should be sure not to miss!Join us for an unforgettable Wine Country Experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wine Country Farm Dayton
Wine Country Farm Hotel Dayton
Wine Country Farm Oregon/Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing