We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in a small, Willamette Valley city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dallas Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stay at this hotel annually when we visit my elderly parents in Dallas, OR. Rather than bothering them, we choose this hotel as there are not a lot of options in the area without driving over 20 miles, but we are never disappointed.

The rooms are large and there is a jacuzzi to relax in. The buffet breakfast is typical for a budget family motel but you never walk away hungry - waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal, eggs, fruit and coffee, tea and juices.

The managers maintain the facilities well and they are spotless. Thankfully, they enforce a no smoking rule where they apply it.

There is no elevator so ask for a bottom floor room if you have difficulty transiting stairs; they are steep, particularly if you have a lot of luggage!

If you need to pick something up, there is a shopping center across the street with plenty of choices including a name brand supermarket and drug store. As well, there is a Wal-mart and a number of restaurants within walking distance ranging from hamburgers and pizzas to steak and salmon dinners.

Dallas is a vibrant little town and there is something going on just about every summer weekend: classic car show, concert in the park, etc. I might add that Dallas is on a major highway between the Oregon coast and the valley and it is only a 30 minute, scenic drive to Lincoln City and less than an hour to Newport. If you are planning a day or two at the coast and are having difficulty finding accommodations, consider the Best Western in Dallas.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble negotiating stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 244 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

One Word. Horrible.

These people are awful, unconsionable, immoral clods.

The staff refused to honor a request to move from a smoking room to a non-smoking room. I purchased my room through Priceline, which does not give an option to indicate smoking or non-smoking rooms. It does indicate that I should call the hotel to notify them of that preference.

When I called the hotel, they stated that they could not offer a non-smoking room to me without charging me full rack rate for the room. Why? They state that they offer the smoking rooms at a lower price than the non-smoking rooms; therefore, I would be in a higher category room, although it is the same basic size/style of room.

I truly dislike businesses that make offers through Priceline and do this old bait-and-switch. This business lures people in via Priceline at an inexpensive rate, only to charge them an additional $40 + to get into a room that does not have a thorough coating of ash, tar, and stench.

At that base rate provided by Priceline, I have already been additional charged taxes and fees which Priceline needs to make their money. To top it off, DALLAS Best Western wants potential customers to pay the difference in the base price quoted by Priceline, PLUS additional taxes and fees. Outrageous. What a ripoff!

Only after serious complaints to Priceline, and much wasted time on the phone with Best Western, it looks like the charges will be reversed. I am incredibly disappointed in the level of customer care from Best Western in Dallas. They demonstrate their miserly disdain for customer safety and comfort in their thoughtless insistence upon charging the customers shockingly higher rates than previously bargained.

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS HOTEL.

HORRIBLE!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holomolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey S, Manager at Best Western Dallas Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We apologize for your experience through the third party booking site. We understand the frustration involved in these types of situations. It is our goal to provide superior customer care!

Our hotel is more than happy to switch a smoking room to a non smoking room when the such room type is available. Unfortunately, if there are no non- smoking rooms available for the evening, we have options available to upgrade the to a different room type. There is a significant price difference between different room types and the hotel management is obligated to claim the difference in the price. We sincerely apologize for your experience & urge you to contact management for any further clarification.

We will be happy to have you come back & stay with us again and would be delighted to make your reservation personally.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western while we visited the nearby vineyards. The hotel is centered in the wine country. It is also 20 minutes from Sprit Mountain Casino. We chose the upgraded mini suite. Room was extra clean. One day we left and forgot glasses and came back 30 minutes later. The room was already made up. When we arrive they always greet us by name. Desk staff and housekeeping are very knowledgeable of the surround area. Breakfast is excellent and well stocked with fresh fruit and pastries. Best hotel in the Salem area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckshemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I'm seldom pleased with the cleanliness of hotel rooms, but found this location to be far above average! It was comfortable, and meticulously maintained. I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

My wife and I along with another couple stayed here on our way to the Oregon Coast (only a 40 minute drive to the coast). It's much less expensive than similar lodging on the coast. We paid $70 which included all taxes. This facility is very clean and the rooms are quite spacious with all the needed conveniences. It's located close to restaurants and right next door to a Safeway store with a Starbucks inside along with a fuel station outside. The continental breakfast was your basic waffle, toast, cereal, boiled eggs, fruit, etc. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating, i.e. offering directions restaurant recommendations, etc. We definitely stay here again if/when in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

here's my review for this cost hotel ($89 plus tax) in order.

ABOVE AVE: cleanliness, tv, bed, parking, towels, shower, all working appliances, parking, hot tub, exercise room, close to a lot (in dallas)

AVE: toiletries, staff, cont breakfast, AC/heater, public printer, toilet paper, kleenix, safety

BELOW AVE: horrid internet (worst at any hotel i've been too) - did not work for 2 days, whereas the internet worked great at starbucks 2 blocks away, door closings were loud & shook the room!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justforfunornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

This motel is quite new looking, set back off the main road in a semi-residential area. The desk clerk (McKenzie) was exceptionally friendly and pleasant.

We had booked a larger room with couch, easy chair, fridge and microwave for about $10 more than a standard room. It was good sized and very clean. However, the design is a little odd, as they have the TV situated where you can only watch it from the bed - you cannot see it when sitting on the couch or extra chair.

The standard rooms have no fridge or micro, and a table with chairs instead of couch and easy chair. All rooms have a desk, and free fast wi-fi is available in all rooms.

The motel is just a three minute walk from a Safeway grocery store, and we bought our dinner from their deli. The motel does serve a continental breakfast, but since we had our own breakfast supplies, we did not go downstairs to eat.

Just a couple of odd notes here. The microwave was not plugged in, so we had to wrestle it and the refrigerator cabinet to move it over close enough to plug it in. Also, the hair dryer was the *loudest* I have ever heard! It was bearable on the "style" setting, but actually hurt my ears on the higher setting. I'm quite sure it could be heard far down the hall!

But overall, our stay was comfortable and the $90 price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dallas
6.9 mi away
College Inn
College Inn
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
60 reviews
15.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
13.8 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
18.8 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dallas Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dallas Inn & Suites

Address: 250 Orchard Dr, Dallas, OR 97338-1148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: $98 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dallas Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dallas Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dallas Inn & Suites Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing