We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grest plsce for a family hike.”

Baskett Slough National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Dallas
Attraction details
Dallas, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grest plsce for a family hike.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is always new having something to see in all seasons. It is a hike that small children can do as well as adults. A quite walk will give you all sorts of birds, deer, and other small wild animals. This is not a place available to the family pooch, so leave her at home. I have done this many times, and have never been disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Super duper hike to the top of the hill.
I enjoy interpretive trails so this fit the bill.
The path wasn’t too tough, workout that didn’t kill
Didn’t even have to take a pain pill!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marymo362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mostly Geese”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

To be fair, I've never stopped there but have driven by a few hundred times and I can see most of the Slough as I go by. canadian geese stay here when they migrate. I've seen nutra. If you're lucky you may spot some deer. But it's free and easy access on and off Hwy 22.

Helpful?
Thank rickertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful beauty”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We pass this area always on our way to the coast. We even have an oil paintint of the area. No matter the time ofthe year this area has ever changing rolling hills, an abundance of wildlife and sometimes even Mt. Hood.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan and Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view point”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Baskett Slough is a gathering place for Canadian Geese visiting for the winter and really year around. When traveling west of Salem, stop and enjoy the view and try to pick out as many wildlife as you can identify. Spend a quiet moment to admire nature.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gunny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baskett Slough National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Baskett Slough National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing