We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Old House for Thanksgiving, Cascades Snow and Icy Lake View”
Review of Odell Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Odell Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crescent Lake
San Cristobal de las Casas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This Old House for Thanksgiving, Cascades Snow and Icy Lake View”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent two nights at this isolated mountain lake with a rustic, but well serviced lodge, a beautiful 75 mile drive from Eugene on Highway 58..A busy skiing highway to Williamette Pass during prime ski season, for Thanksgiving, traffic was light and we could appreciate our climb to the Cascades and Crescent Peak in the distance, beyond frozen meadows.

The hotel team was very friendly and responsive, price was very reasonable, the beer and wine good and the hotel cooked us a great Thanksgiving dinner. Bigfoot showed up, the weather was cold and it was fun looking out at the iced lake from our warm haven. There were about 30 or 40 people there from all over Oregon and we met a couple who are our new friends. After dinner we all relaxed in the lodge room among pictures and other memorabilia in front of a roaring fire. Hot toddies in order! The rooms were small but everything worked and was clean as a pin. Think, staying at Grandma's house for the holidays 50 years ago. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickginnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    6
    9
    32
See reviews for
50
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We only could stay for one night but wanted to stay longer!! We Had a great day out on the lake fishing!!
Wonderful weather ,,,,after fishing we were ready to relax, and decided to check out the resort patio, overlooking the lake watching the the sun set with a nice bottle of wine, delicious appetizers and a cozy fire!!! Perfect !!!
We stayed in the lodge because cabins were all taken . The lodge has a very nice fireside room for guests to watch tv , read , play games. Next time we want to be able to get a cabin. We would recommend Odell Lake Lodge!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spent a wonderful few days at the Lake Odell Lodge this past summer with my girlfriend. I’ve been to the Lake and Resort before, but had never stayed there. The accommodations were great- rustic, cozy clean and well maintained. I really wonder what some of the negative review on this site are talking about, although many of them seem a few years ago. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. I was also lucky enough to have the owner, Jon, take us out as our fishing guide. My girl friend had no idea that 30+ inch trout even existed, and was certainly surprised when she reeled one in. The best part of the stay was just sitting on the deck of the Lodge, taking in the view with a morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. I totally enjoyed my stay and will come back next summer for sure. I also am looking forward to getting a change to check in out during the winter months.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikedubbleU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My brother and I stayed in one of the cabins in June. I had been there twice before. The cabin stunk, probably from a dead animal under it, It was dirty inside. Don't think the sheets were laundered. The cabins are overpriced. Contacted the staff about the smell. He didn't give a damn. Left a day early because of a motor malfunction. Owner is an AH and wouldn't refund any money Won't go there again. Fishing has been poor the last 3 or so years The lake is collapsing like Crescent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Politi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crescent Lake hotels

London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We are used to staying in cabins and don't expect The Ritz but this one confirmed our suspicion that 'rustic' can be a cover-up for something far below the level that one might expect. These cabins are not cheap but this one had been neglected. The floors were filthy and the sofa grubby. Everything worked after a fashion but one of the electric points was broken and very dangerous. The curtains were grubby and too thin to allow any privacy. The microwave struggled. Lake Odell is a beautiful place but the experience of staying there was somewhat marred by the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poetryeuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This lodge and "resort" on the shores of pristine Odell Lake is our choice of stay in the area. There are 14 different cabins capable of accommodating a range of from a couple to as many as 12 guests. In the main lodge building there are also a few individual rooms. While not luxurious, the rustic cabins are fully equipped with kitchens, utensils etc., and are suitable for families who wish to do their own cooking. The lodge restaurant serves good food and they will also cook up your own catch of the day. Fishing, hiking, canoeing are the main activities and the peaceful surroundings are ideal for relaxing and reading and dreaming. While somewhat on the rustic side and not the place to stop if you are looking for deluxe accommodations, Odell Lake Lodge has solitude, charm and a welcoming host.

Room Tip: Cabin #12 is one of the quietest and do note that the restaurant dinner service is over at 7PM. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We and a group of friends rented 3 cabins. It's true this isn't a hotel, but "rustic" doesn't mean "filthy." While the woodland setting and rustic character of the cabins was wonderful, the cabins themselves were filthy. The bedspreads were covered with various stains and disgusting; the floors would leave bare feet black, and the overall condition of the cottages and the grounds was worse than run-down. The kicker is that the rates were not cheap by any means. We did go to the office twice for supplies missing from the furnished cabin---the second time I mentioned that we only had about 1/2 the supplies listed on the "kitchen supplies" list. The guy at the check in counter laughed and said "if you got half of it, you're lucky." It would have been funny if he would have given half the money back ($200 night). After that we gave up trying to get issues resolved. It's so sad; it could be such a beautiful historic resort. Instead it's nasty dirty cabins, window sills full of dead flies, and the grounds are covered with litter and derelict boats, snow cats, 4 runners, etc. There is absolutely no attention to details or cleaning. You rent a fully furnished cabin with a kitchen and they charge extra for salt and pepper! What a shame. Go to Shelter Cove at the other end of the lake (near Willamette Pass). We stopped on our way home to check it out. The rates are the same and the grounds and cabins are impeccable. Odell Lake Lodge is worth a stop to see--it is historic--but the current operators don't care about the place. The treasure is the lake. I rated service as "average" but only because they were friendly enough. The grounds and the cabins actually detract from the beauty of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Native64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent Lake
14.7 mi away
Woodsman Country Lodge
Woodsman Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crescent
83 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Newberry Station
5.2 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 3 in Crescent Lake
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
56 reviews
24.8 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Chemult
43 reviews
24.8 mi away
Dawson House Lodge
Dawson House Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chemult
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odell Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odell Lake Lodge

Property: Odell Lake Lodge
Address: 21501 E Odell Rd, Crescent Lake, OR 97733-7131
Location: United States > Oregon > Crescent Lake
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crescent Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Odell Lake Hotel Crescent Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing