We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place for Crater Lake and Bend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodsman Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crescent
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cozy place for Crater Lake and Bend”
Reviewed October 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed for one night in August while visiting Crater Lake. We had gone to see the park on Sunday, but the weather was cold, rainy and the clouds prevented us from seeing the lake. The Woodsman Inn was a cozy little refuge form the weather. We stayed in the room with the kingsize bed, fireplace and double jacuzzi and it was worth every penny.
It is a little close to the busy highway, but the room was very quiet.
After checking in, we went to see the High Desert Museum in Bend and came back to our room for the night.
It was clean and comfortable, and the jacuzzi and the fireplace were very welcome, even in August. The only problem I had was that I am short and I had to literally climb up to get in the bed beacuse of it's size.
We were able to see Crater Lake the next day, as it was not too far to drive. The weather had cleared and we had a wonderful visit. We then drove back, and continued on to stay in Bend. We were able to do this all in one day because of the location.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The comforts of the jacuzzi, bed and fireplace.
  • Disliked — Could be friendlier
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    4
    1
    21
See reviews for
20
29
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

I stayed at this motel the day I visited Crater Lake. It's about 40 miles from the North entrance to the park. Unless you stay at the park, it's one of the first places you can stay within a reasonable distance from the park.

First, the property is well maintained and clean. It's an older property, one level, that has recently undergone a renovation. All the rooms have been redone in a woodsman theme. The furniture is made from logs, comfortable beds, fantastic water pressure, plenty of hot water. Bed linens and towels are above average. They have satellite TV and newspapers free of charge. There's a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

I only met Barbara (one of the owners), but she was helpful in making my reservation and friendly the next day in directions to get me on my way.

If you can't get a room at the park or a nearby state park , then this would be my first recommendation. Keep in mind anything within the park will cost at least double what you will pay here. I would definately suggest staying here versus driving to Medford or Kalamath Falls. I spent the first night in Medford after driving over from the coast...I wish I had stayed here both night.

Cresent is a SMALL town, so don't expect much in the way of fast food, grocery stores, etc. Go prepared and have a great time.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness...also no pets and no smoking
  • Disliked — Size of the rooms...a little small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vol_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We almost missed staying at this wonderful place. Glad we changed our minds. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever had at a motel. T he rooms are beautifully decorated in a woodsy motif down to the smallest detail. Nice leather love seat.
pine furniture, large tv.........very clean, very comfortable, very nice
BUT do not go to the Gilchrist restaurant down the street to eat. the food there is terrible..........go to the restaurant next door !!!

  • Liked — the room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRVELINGRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

I wasn't expecting much more than a run of the mill motel room for the price, but this place far exceeded my expectations. I decided to stay in a room with a Jacuzzi for $89 and it was worth it. The regular rooms are $59 a night. My room also had a huge sattelite TV, microwave, kitchenette and refrigerator. The room was twice the size of most motel rooms I've stayed at and at which I usually paid quite a bit more. The Western decor is very amusing and the bed, as mentioned by other reviewers, is great. This is an excellent base for your outdoor High Desert adventures. I think the very small town location saves a good deal of money. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank vatonorteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

What a great treat. I have never slept in such a comfy bed and the sheets were wonderful...not stiff like other hotels. I heard no noise from other rooms or the bar behind it. I slept like a baby! ( I can't even do that at home). The shower was delightful...great water pressure. I want to go back and try the spa room now!

  • Liked — Comfy Bed - pillow top
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sheri2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

I booked this motel because of all the rave reviews ... and wasn't disappointed! The motel is located about 45 minutes from Crater Lake Lodge and well worth the trip! The rooms were beyond clean and the decor was awesome! The rustic country theme was everywhere from the handmade, handhewn furniture (that had places below the drawers for your carry-on cases and shoes) to the bedspreads, shower curtains, towel holders, curtains, bathroom rugs...simply adorable! They also have laundry services within a few feet of your motel door and welcome you to fill up your coolers! Barbara (the owner) and her husband are to be commended for their place of lodging and friendliness! There are 2 restaurants which are very adequate located next door and about 1/4 mile away. Within 1/4 of the hotel is the scenic road that will take you to Bend - takes you longer than staying on the main highway but you won't want to miss the trip - the lakes along the way are spectacular.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Close to highway
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BARB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

stayed one night in July 06; room was very clean with 2 queen beds and was outfitted with new rustic wood furniture; is close to the highway but traffic dropped off at night and noise was not a problem. is an excellent value.

Helpful?
3 Thank MostlySunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent
17.5 mi away
Best Western Newberry Station
18.0 mi away
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Chemult
80 reviews
17.7 mi away
Dawson House Lodge
Dawson House Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chemult
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 3 in Crescent Lake
31 reviews
22.5 mi away
DiamondStone Guest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodsman Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodsman Country Lodge

Property: Woodsman Country Lodge
Address: 136740 Highway 97 N, Crescent, OR 97733-9703
Location: United States > Oregon > Crescent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crescent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodsman Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Woodsman Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodsman Country Hotel
Woodsman Country Lodge Crescent, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing