We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive website, little management, great gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Green Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Salem, OR
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deceptive website, little management, great gardens”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

As I browsed Moonstone's website for the Village Green I noticed that the description for a standard king room says "Signature Moonstone mattress" and "Triple sheeting." In the reservations/booking process (which you'll see if you click "Book a room or check availability") the photo shown of the standard king prominently features a new-looking bed with triple sheeting. Great: booked.

When we arrived we were given a room in the 200 building with an old, sunken-in mattress and old floral bedspread. No triple sheeting and no signature mattress. We went back to the desk thinking this was a mistake (the pet-friendly rooms have older beds), but apparently this room (in the 200 building) is considered to be of the same type as the new-mattress, triple-sheet "standard" rooms described on the website! They were out of rooms that actually resembled what we booked (the clerk told us that deluxe rooms all have the triple sheeting, but couldn't seem to assure us that standard rooms do also - this is obviously a problem they encounter regularly), so we were offered a queen/double room that had no private patio and was in a much less 'nice' part of the property (a pretty obvious downgrade). For me, the most important part of a hotel room is a clean bed and quality mattress, so that's the choice we made. The clerk discounted the room a tiny amount - front desk staff isn't authorized to do any more.

I was disappointed that the room we would have had was in no way like the room described and shown on the website. This is fraud, pure and simple.

The room we did stay in (300 building) had its share of issues, but I don't know what better to expect from Cottage Grove or from this obviously historic property. The carpet and paint were new and the furniture was funky yet practical, clean and mostly new. The bathroom needs a major overhaul - it's very 1940s, complete with old borax-type powder-soap dispensers (we were sort of disappointed that they were empty!). The environment-friendly pump dispenser for shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel contained unidentified products and the dispenser needed a thorough cleaning (yuck). There wasn't a grounded outlet for our laptops anywhere in the whole room, and cords for grounded devices like the coffeepot and TV had their grounds cut off so that they could be plugged in! Um...

The 'garden' side of the room opens onto a 'patio' that's just an undivided strip of pavement that runs along the back side of the building (think strip motel) and it was obvious people smoke out there right by the windows and doors despite the rooms being designated non-smoking. No patio furniture, but nothing to look at either - big lawn, blackberry brambles, and a side road.

The property is sprawling, with 6 functioning guestroom buildings (I think?) and two that are clearly not in use (one of them is gutted and standing empty with most of its exterior walls removed, a testament to the property being far too large for its location and management to support). The outdoor pool is situated in a tropical or oasis-like setting and we wished we'd brought swimsuits. The pool has adult-only hours after 9 pm and is beautiful after dark.

A hotel can't really be fully responsible for its guests, but as Village Green is listed on some LGBT resource websites as a gay-friendly property or a place for gay folks to wed, I have to include in this review these facts:
- Two guests of a (straight) wedding that took place on site must have overheard or were told by front desk staff about our room troubles, and were rude to us in the parking lot.
- We heard hate speech and bigoted remarks in the bar - I don't think they were targeted at us, but I wonder if they were for our benefit.
- In the morning, our car had been marked in removable paint with a rude four-letter word. We assume this was the wedding guests again (rather than disgruntled staff), given that they probably had removable paint to use on the newlyweds' car. The caretaker who lives on-site helped us get it cleaned off; she was very solicitous and sympathetic.

With classy clientele like that and apparently no security cameras, I wouldn't consider this a safe place for women traveling alone or LGBT people.

There is no management on site during the weekends and they apparently can't be called to resolve problems. I asked that the manager contact me Monday about the room, and the clerk said she'd leave a note. A manager called me Tuesday. She was professional and sympathetic and promised action regarding the harassment and vandalism. She also requested that if we visit again we let her know so she could make it up to us. As of November 2013 the deceptive photo on the reservations website has not changed and I haven't heard anything back about doing anything to prevent or address the terrible experiences we had there, so I'm reluctant to take her up on her offer.

Overall, it feels a little like Moonstone can't afford to properly maintain and manage this property. The staff, however pleasant they might be as people, are unable to address issues directly, and Moonstone doesn't seem inclined to do anything whatsoever.

Room Tip: Don't book standard rooms. If you do book a standard room, emphasize that it MUST be one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatchLimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    229
    98
    54
    34
See reviews for
147
331
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent two nights at Village Green last weekend through a Travel Zoo special and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent service, very fine room, very good dining at the resort.
We would go back for sure. The resort has put a lot of effort into restoring the facility and there are some very lovely gardens and local walks. They also had a special wine tasting coupons with about a dozen local wineries where we spent most of our two afternoons and picked up some fabulous wines.
The breakfast which was so-so was still adequate... quite... just not fancy. All the eggs had ham which is a no-no for us.

Our only negative is the wi-fi connection which was spotty other than in the main lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boneblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We bought a 2 night Travelzoo package and were pleased with the value for the price. Very nice on-site gardens. One comment we had read related to I-5 traffic; we were in the building closest to the office so may have been shielded by other buildings as we did not notice and I am a fairly light sleeper who often uses ear plugs in chain motels. Rooms are a bit dated, but more than adequate. Breakfast was a bit better than most chain deluxe breakfasts, with the décor being better as it was in the main restaurant. The House Wine was Chateau Lorane-had been there earlier in the day, so knew that the Merlot was the best of the offerings in the package-a very good house wine, but not as good as others in the area or many E Washington wineries. Wi-Fi, or lack thereof, was the only major shortcoming; Was never able to connect to the free Wi-Fi-was told by the office that it might be better in the lobby, but that it was common to have connection troubles. Enjoyed the area-toured the covered bridges by bike (Rainy Peaks bike shop rents) and would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
899 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,778 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This past Tues. night we stopped for a quick overnight stay at this hotel. This was our second stay here. The rooms that have been remodeled are really nice with comfortable beds, fireplace and a small patio in the back. Breakfast is included with your room in the hotel restaurant where we had dinner. The staff is friendly and the lobby always had the fireplace going since it was chilly out.

I highly recommend this hotel for time in the area. :)

Room Tip: Go for a remodeled room with a fireplace and patio! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

While driving down from Seattle to Southern California we stopped at the village green resort in Cottage Grove Oregon what a marvelous and delightful place the people were so friendly and a bargain of including the restaurant with a bottle of local wine was a real treat the upgrade was only around $30 and also included a lovely breakfast I couldn't think of a nicer place to stay it was just lovely with gardens to walk through and very pet friendly ah I would stay there again and again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 634maryH634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Rooms here were clean, and spacious. The staff were courteous, informative and quick to respond. This area of Oregon was a joy to tour around, the covered bridges, downtown area were
just amazing. The food in the restaurant was very well presented, and tasty. Nice to stay in a place with real small town feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont,CA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our 5th hotel on our driving tour of Oregon, and what a wonderful surprise! Wish we could have stayed here the whole trip! Stayed in the deluxe 2 Queen room for under $90.00(AAA rate). The grounds are beautiful, well kept and very quiet! Easy access on/off freeway and close to the covered bridges tour. Would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from Highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottage Grove
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Cottage Grove - Eugene South
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Creswell
18.5 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 36 in Eugene
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
16.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Eugene
Comfort Suites Eugene
#15 of 36 in Eugene
358 reviews
16.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Eugene Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Resort

Property: Village Green Resort
Address: 725 Row River Rd, Cottage Grove, OR 97424-9533
Location: United States > Oregon > Cottage Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Resort and Gardens include an onsite restaurant "Seasons at The Green" and the Fireside lounge with live entertainment each night! Beautiful cozy Guestrooms that offer private garden patios and 14 acres of themed gardens to enjoy. Village Green is within walking distance of the 14 mile paved Row River Trail that takes you around Dorena Lake by bicycle, horse or running! Here at the Village Green Resort we offer Tandem Bike Rentals to see the area and bike the Row River Trail. We also offer an on site Beauty Salon. Cottage Grove is well known for it historic Covered Bridges. There is so much beauty here you will want to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Village Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Green Hotel Cottage Grove
Village Green Cottage Grove
Village Green Hotel And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing