We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise in Corvallis”
Review of Magenta Restaurant

Magenta Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 213 Restaurants in Corvallis
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: French, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Corvallis”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Tried this restaurant on recommendations from several friends. We were not disappointed. Since we weren't familiar with most offerings, we went with the dim sum menu. Figured $4 per plate wasn't that much of a risk. We each ordered three dishes as the waiter recommended, and it was just right for lunch. Everything was very tasty and interesting with some unique flavors, with the exception of the Yukon fries with sesame dip. On that one the fries were okay but ordinary and the dip was more like a thousand island dressing with no sesame flavor that we could detect. The tri tips, emu, coconut shrimp, goat cheese and shrimp on a roll, and Korean BBQ pork were all good.

Also, the restaurant has a very extensive wine list for the size of the place. We had a small carafe of sangria for $11 that was excellent.

Overall ambiance was nice with a pleasant fire going in a centrally-located fireplace and comfortable seating. We had a goodf experience with the service, although the waiter made both of us uneasy since he did not wriite down the order and there were a lot of items to remember. Hiowever, he did not miss a thing - pretty much a perfect lunch for us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dugfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
“Service problems”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our fourth time at Magenta. The food is always good and the service is always bad. It's like they haven't been trained or have ever worked in the service industry. They seem disinterested in their customers. Not attentive, not paying attention, no smiling, lots of walking by without eye contact, slow, no questions, no checking back, etc. Very weird for a restaurant. If the food quality ever slides, this place will close. We won't go back. I receive better service at the fast food places in town. We stiffed the waiter. First time EVER.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marknovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OREGON CITY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and great decor/atmosphere”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I visit often when I am in town and always impressed. If you haven't tried their breakfast yet it is delicous. Crab benny, Seafood, Bob and Salsa are some of my favorites. I also enjoy their happy hour menu..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosall81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It could be so much better...”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I love Dim Sum, and Magenta has the pieces to make it an amazing restaurant. Unfortunately the service can be rough at times, and our orders are consistently messed up. It's enough of an issue I usually go to Del Alma for Tapas instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toospirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Usually good”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I look forward to the lamb chops here, but tonight they just weren't that good. They were fatty and barely any meat. It was a disappointment. Funny thing is that we when go here the food is superb and the service is awful or the food is awful and the service is superb. It's hit or miss. I also have to take allergy medicine before I go here since they burn incense or something like it. I probably won't go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna97370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magenta Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Magenta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing