We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Vista House
from $59.00
More Info
from $94.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveler rating
366
191
29
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
191
29
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the columbia river gorge gift shop crown point rest stop comfort station interesting building information desk scenic highway rest rooms view of the river multnomah falls views are amazing small museum great stop state park take pictures walk around
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 586 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2017

Have lovely views from the surrounding areas. But it's down winding roads from the Falls. You definitely want to watch your driving in the area. But it's worth the trip.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank JenniferLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

Breathtakingly beautiful. There are smaller areas to pull off the road before and after, but this stop is a must. Especially if you want to take photographs or stretch your legs.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank carin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I were making our way to visit the Mount Hood area. We were visitors to this area, had begun our day from Troutdale, OR (just east of Portland) and were presented with the choice to go a slower scenic route on the historic Columbia River Highway, or the faster route on I-84. We are so glad that we chose the scenic route.
We soon arrived at a magnificent point appropriately named the Vista House, high above the Columbia River.
It is staffed by Volunteers from Friends of the Vista House.
We were very fortunate to meet two of their best in Cheryl and Randy Fabian. Not only did they provide information on the Vista House, but they helped map out a complete day of stops at attractions and restaurants all around Mount Hood.
The choices were outstanding, easily managed within our timeframe, and afforded us one of the best days of our vacation. I hope they read this review and can realize what an impact they have in their volunteering!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Lessonlearned800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Vista House was dedicated in 1918, so it is almost 100 years old. It is a museum at Crown Point on historic highway 30, Oregon, that also serves as a memorial to Oregon pioneers and as a comfort station ( with a coffee shop) for travelers on the Historic Columbia River Highway. A historical area downstairs covers the construction of the Columbia Gorge Scenic Highway. It is octagonal is shape. With a dome interior. And marble throughout the building

If you visit the Columbia River gorge, this is a must stop. Well worth the time to take to get here to enjoy the view. The views of the Columbia River and Gorge are amazing. Some of the best views of the Gorge can be seen on clear day. Make sure to climb the stairs for the best view. Observation Balcony where you have a full 360 degree view of the area. So you can take your time. Relax. It is fun looking down to the modern freeway so far below.

The Vista House has plenty of parking on site. And there are coin-operated viewers that you can use for magnified views of the Columbia River Gorge.

Vista House Hours Of Operation: 9 AM to 6 PM daily. Admission is FREE.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank MKP5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

After an abortive attempt to visit Multnomah Falls (even mid-morning on a Thursday the parking lot at the falls was maxed out) we decided to drive back to the Portland area via the Historic Columbia River Highway Scenic Byway. We were very glad we did because it took us by Vista House, perched on top of the Columbia River Gorge at Crown Point. The site offers fantastic views of the gorge.

Vista House, although relatively small (44’ in diameter) by modern standards, is still an impressive structure. It is an octagonal domed rotunda 55’ high built of sandstone. Semi-circular staircases lead from the main viewing level up to an outside viewing platform at the base of the dome. The interior is finished extensively with marble and limestone, the upper windows (at the level of the outside viewing platform) are of opalescent art glass, and the interior of the dome is painted to mimic bronze. There are restrooms, a gift shop, snack bar, and interpretive exhibits in the basement.

The building is all the more impressive considering when and where it was built. Vista House sits atop Crown Point, a rocky promontory 733 feet above the Columbia River. Construction on the building began in 1916, only four years after work on the narrow, two-lane Columbia River Highway was begun. The building was completed two years later.

Vista house was completely restored between 2001 and 2006 and is well-maintained. It is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a National Historic Landmark. We had no problem finding a parking space and it is a great place for a rest stop. Uphill and across the road from Vista House is a grassy fenced area with several picnic tables—a lovely place to take a break and have a snack.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews