We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
1 review
“This place is a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were so happy to find this spot after finding the nearby Best Western sold out on our 2,500 mile motorcycle trek up the West Coast on Hwy 1. We were tired, hungry, and didn't want to get back on the bike to find some place to have dinner. Happily, this place had the nicest room with a great bed, great pillows and even an on-site restaurant where we had a delightful seafood dinner and enjoyed it again in the morning for the hot, complimentary breakfast.

We liked it so much, we made a point to stay there again on our way back down the coast and were just as happy again. After staying at many motels on this trip, this place was a stand-out. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms had the same décor but the single story building had the largest picture windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    198
    129
    72
    36
See reviews for
145
191
31
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
357 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bed was nice and curtains blocked out the light nicely. Quite and comfortable.
First impression - yuck, wasn't greeted as I entered and was practically ignored. Three people up front, one guy was playing on his tablet, one girl was eating with her back towards me, the other lady was looking busy and finally looked up at me.
Breakfast buffet was low budget, eggs and sausage were suspect looking so I stayed away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNA1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Many years ago, this was probably the classiest hotel and restaurant in town. Now.... it is adequate. I spent a few days there twice in the last year. Booking online at the Red Lion site is easy and gave better rates than Orbitz or Hotels.com. Interestingly, the last time I booked on line, the e-mail confirmation was actually lower than the price I booked -- OK with me, and they honored it with no problems. The rooms are fairly large, clean, and the beds are decent. It was nice to have a small frig and coffee maker. There are windows in the bathrooms, which is a mixed blessing -- helps air circulation, but on the most recent visit I had a first floor room where the bathroom had a not-so-great view of various scrap and junk, including rusted propane tanks, scrap metal, decrepit chain link fencing, etc. The discounted online rate does not include the breakfast, but it is available for only about $5 more, and was pretty good with eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit and so on. For the price and compared to other Coos Bay hotels, it was a good place to stay. The front desk folks were very helpful. The biggest problem was they cater to tour buses, which park right outside the rooms and start up very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room in the building furthest from the office, as the buses seemed to park toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

From reading previous reviews we were bracing for the worst - but truth to be told, it was not was bad. Agreed, the cleaners are very generous with their carpet perfumes - probably to hide pet smells or cigarette smoke, and the room was a little dark, but if you crash there for a night its alright. The breakfast was actually one of the better ones you get with a 100 dollar room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

i dont really know why anyone would go to coos bay not much there so if you do need a room i guess this place is about like the rest of the motels in this town old, smells, a throwback from the seventies including the mattress rooms were clean staff was nice rooms were big but old and rundown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time I stayed at Red Lion and it will be the last time. We stayed in a non-smoking king bed room. We got there very late night and couldn't find parking closer to the room. we asked if there was another room available but they said there was no more available room. It was a nice big room (seemed like they tried to remodel but still kept the old style popcorn ceiling), decently clean but the room was smelly like old dirty moldy carpet, made me headache all night -- Couldn't wait until next morning to get out. No more Red Lion.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aicontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the odor in your room.
We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coos Bay hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed on the second level. The room did not smell of pets or smoke. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. It is a rural Oregon convention center with hotel food. It is not a seaside resort. Having said that, the staff is very helpful, the pool and spa were clean and the location is close to some very beautiful coastlines and forests.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
1.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
4.4 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
22.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
21.5 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Property: Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Address: 1313 N Bayshore Dr, Coos Bay, OR 97420-3197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly on Highway 101, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay Oregon is the Bay Area's premier full-service hotel. Just six blocks north of Coos Bay City Center and 10 minutes from the airport via our complimentary hotel transportation, you'll find that ocean beaches, fishing charters, whale watching and shopping are all just minutes away.Our 144 spacious non-smoking guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect and more, including complimentary wi-fi, Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop bedding,digital satellite TV and complimentary HBO. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub or work away your stress in our fitness room. We can also help you find where to charter a fishing boat, play golf, go bowling or find the best beaches to walk on, and of course, your pets are welcome. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 6 and younger eat free with each adult. Our Brickstones Restaurant features Steaks, Chicken, and Seafood unique to the Pacific Northwest. With over 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay is also able to accommodate your next conference or special occasion for up to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Coos Bay
Coos Bay Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing