We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, bit rundown property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Many years ago, this was probably the classiest hotel and restaurant in town. Now.... it is adequate. I spent a few days there twice in the last year. Booking online at the Red Lion site is easy and gave better rates than Orbitz or Hotels.com. Interestingly, the last time I booked on line, the e-mail confirmation was actually lower than the price I booked -- OK with me, and they honored it with no problems. The rooms are fairly large, clean, and the beds are decent. It was nice to have a small frig and coffee maker. There are windows in the bathrooms, which is a mixed blessing -- helps air circulation, but on the most recent visit I had a first floor room where the bathroom had a not-so-great view of various scrap and junk, including rusted propane tanks, scrap metal, decrepit chain link fencing, etc. The discounted online rate does not include the breakfast, but it is available for only about $5 more, and was pretty good with eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit and so on. For the price and compared to other Coos Bay hotels, it was a good place to stay. The front desk folks were very helpful. The biggest problem was they cater to tour buses, which park right outside the rooms and start up very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room in the building furthest from the office, as the buses seemed to park toward...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 593 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

From reading previous reviews we were bracing for the worst - but truth to be told, it was not was bad. Agreed, the cleaners are very generous with their carpet perfumes - probably to hide pet smells or cigarette smoke, and the room was a little dark, but if you crash there for a night its alright. The breakfast was actually one of the better ones you get with a 100 dollar room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

i dont really know why anyone would go to coos bay not much there so if you do need a room i guess this place is about like the rest of the motels in this town old, smells, a throwback from the seventies including the mattress rooms were clean staff was nice rooms were big but old and rundown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time I stayed at Red Lion and it will be the last time. We stayed in a non-smoking king bed room. We got there very late night and couldn't find parking closer to the room. we asked if there was another room available but they said there was no more available room. It was a nice big room (seemed like they tried to remodel but still kept the old style popcorn ceiling), decently clean but the room was smelly like old dirty moldy carpet, made me headache all night -- Couldn't wait until next morning to get out. No more Red Lion.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aicontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the odor in your room.
We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed on the second level. The room did not smell of pets or smoke. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. It is a rural Oregon convention center with hotel food. It is not a seaside resort. Having said that, the staff is very helpful, the pool and spa were clean and the location is close to some very beautiful coastlines and forests.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank NatureGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice Hotel but I could not get the cheaper AAA rate, had to settle for a "newly renovated" room. It was supposed to have a wired network but not on our room.
The room was very spacious and clean, the linens were very good and the hot breakfast a nice break from the dreary "continental" breakfasts at other places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capun1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was a little taken aback by some of the reviews. We found this property to be very comfortable. The room was great except for some carpet stains, it did appear to need a cleaning. Otherwise it was good, the bed comfortable, lots of pillows, nice size thick towels/washcloths, double mirror/sink areas for getting ready which I consider a real plus. We found the breakfast to be tasty though we did only eat there one morning. We thereafter found a Chinese Restaurant (Tai's Dynasty) that serves breakfast all day with a huge selection to choose from so we ate there the remainder of our stay at breakfast time. The eggs, did taste like real eggs to me - I noted someone said they "weren't real". The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room wasn't super bright but we didn't find it to be too dark for our needs. The bathroom lights start out dim but brighten the longer they are on. As far as no elevator and having to use stairs I think that is something a person should consider initially when registering for a hotel, if they don't want to haul luggage upstairs they should request to be placed downstairs. We will definitely stay here again in the future as we have in the past. We have always found Red Lion properties to be one of the better hotels for our price range. We didn't find the air conditioning noise to be a problem, it actually helps drown out other noises that might come in from the outside.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be upstairs make that request when booking. If you don't want someone...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
1.3 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
22.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
4.4 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Address: 1313 N Bayshore Dr, Coos Bay, OR 97420-3197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range: $106 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly on Highway 101, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay Oregon is the Bay Area's premier full-service hotel. Just six blocks north of Coos Bay City Center and 10 minutes from the airport via our complimentary hotel transportation, you'll find that ocean beaches, fishing charters, whale watching and shopping are all just minutes away.Our 144 spacious non-smoking guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect and more, including complimentary wi-fi, Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop bedding,digital satellite TV and complimentary HBO. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub or work away your stress in our fitness room. We can also help you find where to charter a fishing boat, play golf, go bowling or find the best beaches to walk on, and of course, your pets are welcome. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 6 and younger eat free with each adult. Our Brickstones Restaurant features Steaks, Chicken, and Seafood unique to the Pacific Northwest. With over 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay is also able to accommodate your next conference or special occasion for up to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Coos Bay
Coos Bay Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing