We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay, Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights over the Memorial Day weekend. We found a great rate by going to redlion.com directly and choosing the AAA rate. (Actually, the rates by going directly to their website were the lowest I found, vs. Priceline or Expedia, etc.)

The room was clean, quite, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Will stay there again when in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208pickytravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 593 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We travel a lot and this is a very nice stop. Clean and quiet rooms. We also love the attached restaurant, it means no more driving. We don't do casinos but we saw lots of people hopping on the shuttle bus. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingpjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

There are not a lot of choices to stay in coos bay that are reasonable priced and not scary looking, so we picked the Red Lion. From the outside it is dated, but the room was large and very nice, and the beds were comfortable. There was a cigarette butt in the toilet the first day and a few water spiders in the shower but otherwise the room was clean, and quiet. The location is easy to find and the price was reasonable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Red Lion Coos Bay was one of our stops for one night as we drove from Seattle to LA. I just chose it as a stopping point, so we did not drive more than 4-5 hours a day. I think it's safe to say we should have stopped earlier or kept driving!! It's a motel style, mostly single story, pretty basic accommodations. There was a horrible stench from the drains in the parking lot! I know the hotel can't control that, but it was really off-putting. The room was spacious, we had 2 queen beds. My husband found hairs on his pillow (extremely gross!), so they in fact discounted the room (it was very cheap to begin with), sent someone to remake the bed and gave us breakfast the next day. The town is pretty small, not much to see or do. Restaurant choices, minimal, so we ended up with fast food for dinner & lunch. The hotel does have a small guest laundry, which we utilized. The staff was friendly, but I think the hotel could use some sprucing up, in general.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leftyonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked our room on price line. The lady who checked us in was great and even upgraded us for free. Rooms were super clean. The restaurant was not so great but its decent hotel food. The shower has a great shower head and water is nice and hot!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morales0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went there for an anniversary trip. We picked this hotel because it advertised having a hot tub (no mention was made of it being seasonal) so it was quite disappointing that the hot tub was closed. But then other things kept adding up.....there was a poster of activities in town in the lobby. Being from out of town, we don't know about happenings there and neither did the staff. When we asked about the activities on the poster in the lobby, the receptionists had no clue. And worst of all, when we checked in we were told that breakfast came with our room. We were very pleasantly surprised and were told to just write down our name and room number on the breakfast tab and we wouldn't actually be charged for it. So, because if it coming with the room, we ate breakfast there both mornings but then when we checked out, we were charged for all the breakfast meals. When we asked why, the receptionist said it was because we booked through a third party. I said that yes we had, but that was known when we checked into the hotel and the girl who was on duty then said that breakfast came complimentary with our room. Had we known we were going to be charged for the meals after all, we would have eaten somewhere else. We liked the location of the hotel, but because of all these short-comings, we will not be coming back nor recommending.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything more than a bed to sleep in.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coosbaygm, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I would sincerely like to apologize for the problem you experienced regarding the tall ship’s information and breakfast. I have refunded the cost of breakfast that you were charged. . We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, so we can make sure your next stay is enjoyable and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Red Lion Hotel is an OK stay if you find yourself needing a hotel in Coos Bay. It is set back off of the main street, so it is very quiet, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet was good. The only negative thing for us was that during our stay the weather was warm and the air conditioning/fan unit was not adequate to keep the room from being really stuffy during the night. This usually would not be a problem though since it is mostly cool on the Oregon Coast. Other than that, our stay was good and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilypearl1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
1.3 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
22.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
4.4 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Address: 1313 N Bayshore Dr, Coos Bay, OR 97420-3197
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range: $105 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly on Highway 101, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay Oregon is the Bay Area's premier full-service hotel. Just six blocks north of Coos Bay City Center and 10 minutes from the airport via our complimentary hotel transportation, you'll find that ocean beaches, fishing charters, whale watching and shopping are all just minutes away.Our 144 spacious non-smoking guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect and more, including complimentary wi-fi, Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop bedding,digital satellite TV and complimentary HBO. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub or work away your stress in our fitness room. We can also help you find where to charter a fishing boat, play golf, go bowling or find the best beaches to walk on, and of course, your pets are welcome. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 6 and younger eat free with each adult. Our Brickstones Restaurant features Steaks, Chicken, and Seafood unique to the Pacific Northwest. With over 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay is also able to accommodate your next conference or special occasion for up to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Coos Bay
Coos Bay Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing