We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dated but comfortable”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel to be older and somewhat dated, with balconies containing exterior entrances to the rooms. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. It is located right on highway 101 in an industrial area of town with few restaurants available nearby. We ended up eating at the casino down the street and had to walk through thick cigarette smoke to get to the restaurant. Breakfast was provided with our room and it was good. Next trip we will likely find another hotel in another location with more restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyomingkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    204
    136
    75
    36
See reviews for
153
202
31
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

There isn't much of a choice in Coos Bay for motels. We went by what the booking company had marked as a 3 and a half out 5 Motel. The place is so-so on cleanliness. The chair in the room was so soiled we had to use our beach chairs to sit on in the room. The was no additional table, just a small desk. Bathroom was a little unusual. Motel needs a deep clean and a remodel as well. Not a motel we will be staying in again. We will be going to Mill Casino, just North of Coos Bay, for our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75zedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coosbaygm, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the problem you experienced during your stay with us. I have passed on your feedback to the necessary department to assure that the problem is fixed so it does not affect any of our future guests. We hope to have you and your family back the next time you are in the Coos Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coos Bay hotels

White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Actual rating = 2.5

The Red Lion chain can usually be trusted to provide decent accommodations, unfortunately this Coos Bay location puts a bit of tarnish on the Red Lion's reputation. To be fair, much of the blame can be placed on the town of Coos Bay which is one of the Oregon coast's most disappointing places. We would suggest that if you have the time to drive farther in either direction, keep going.

Our two queen room was huge and had two vanities for our three toothbrushes. We didn't notice any problem with cleanliness. The room had free wifi, a mini fridge and a soon to be museum piece tv. The pool is quite small for the size of the property. Aside from the onsite restaurant, there are no other restaurants or stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The motel was good, about what we expected. We would stay there again. What set them apart for us was that they went out of the way for us. My wife got sick, had to go to the ER during the night. The night manager was there to help, and they extended our check-out the next day to 2PM, so we could sleep in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertH52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coosbaygm, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to hear that your wife is felling better and hope to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My company purchase my stay. It was ok! But toward the end. My room key didnt work. And the last night of my stay, there was blood stained sheets and pillow case on the bed. When I checked out I mentioned it to the assistant. She was more worried about her workers then how the room looked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Was recommended by Bay Area Hospital to stay here while my father was recovering in ICU. Great location...only minutes from the hospital & downtown Coos Bay. Though the exterior doesn't look all fancy like your typical Red Lion Hotels...the room was very spacious. They smelled very fresh & was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The location was very peaceful & serene. They have a breakfast buffet, which is included with your stay. Their breakfast consists of eggs, bacon, sausage, red skinned potatoes, oatmeal, yogurt, basically...your typical breakfast, but not quite as fancy as Denny's. They have a heated pool (75 degrees F) & Jacuzzi, which was also very clean. Everyone there is very friendly & professional. Customer Service was ALWAYS completed to our satisfaction with a smile. We will definitely stay here again when we revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coosbaygm, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
DamnKidz,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Red Lion strives on making sure there guest stay is enjoyable and memorable so we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please give are best to your father for a speedy recovery We hope to have you back in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Before I arrived, I saw the negative reviews that some of my TripAdvisor counterparts wrote and was a bit nervous. My company booked this for me instead of the Casino hotel so I wasn't sure what I was in for. For starters, yes... this looks like a renovated Red Roof Inn with a new office/dining/meeting building. The outside, albeit classless, transforms into a beautiful inside with a great bath area, new beds, new carpet, and upgraded amenities and furniture. The only downside is that when they renovated the inside, they kept the big old TV's instead of going LCD... thus limiting the amount of room between the bed and the huge cabinet that holds that dinosaur antique from the 90's. Other negatives include a breakfast that is free for some, 4.95 for others... and not really worth either one. Upon my departure, the front desk clerk was adequate but lacked any personality or customer service skills compared to his co-worker that checked me in. Overall, if you can't or don't want to stay at the Mill Casino Hotel, this is your next best option and a good one at that.

Room Tip: Try to request one in the back. Mine was close to the road and kinda noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coosbaygm, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
DerekB2012,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the necessary department and use it as a training tool. We hope to have you back the next time you are in the Coos Bay area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
1.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
21.5 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
22.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Property: Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Address: 1313 N Bayshore Dr, Coos Bay, OR 97420-3197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly on Highway 101, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay Oregon is the Bay Area's premier full-service hotel. Just six blocks north of Coos Bay City Center and 10 minutes from the airport via our complimentary hotel transportation, you'll find that ocean beaches, fishing charters, whale watching and shopping are all just minutes away.Our 144 spacious non-smoking guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect and more, including complimentary wi-fi, Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop bedding,digital satellite TV and complimentary HBO. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub or work away your stress in our fitness room. We can also help you find where to charter a fishing boat, play golf, go bowling or find the best beaches to walk on, and of course, your pets are welcome. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 6 and younger eat free with each adult. Our Brickstones Restaurant features Steaks, Chicken, and Seafood unique to the Pacific Northwest. With over 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay is also able to accommodate your next conference or special occasion for up to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Coos Bay
Coos Bay Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing